Actuarialist - How to become an Actuarialist?

An Actuarialist is an expert in business who deals with the financial consequences of uncertainty and risk. They offer expert judgment about security systems available in finance with a focus on their difficulty, their mechanisms as well as their mathematics. In our country, a fellow associate of The Institute of Actuaries of India is called as an Actuarialist. Students who have finished their course in actuarial science can find jobs with many leading companies across India. One of the biggest sectors where students can find employment is the insurance sector. But because of the increasing requirement of firms to handle their finance, several non insurance sectors like health insurance, consulting companies, reinsurance, and employee benefits in addition to asset-management as well as insurance broking houses also hire actuaries. The initial salary of candidates in this field will be around Rs. 8 lakhs a year. Professionals of this field may earn as much as   40 lakhs rupees a year.

Qualifying Exam

Individual universities and colleges carry out their own exams. Some of the exams for the actuarial science course are: IGNOU Actuarial Science entrance exam, Aligarh Muslim University Actuarial Science entrance exam, AMITY School of Insurance and Actuarial Science entrance exam, Annamalai University Actuarial science entrance exam, University of Delhi entrance exam, Birla Institute of Management Technology entrance exam, CMD School of Insurance and Actuarial Sciences entrance exam and Institute for Integrated Learning in Management entrance exam.

Who is eligible to apply?

Candidates who aspire to become an Actuarialist must be permanent residents of India. They should be not less than 18 years at the time of applying. Candidates who wish to join the course in actuarial science must be graduates in the related subject. They must have studied statistics and mathematics as their subjects of study.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Candidates who wish to become an actuary must be well prepared in the subject of financial management. They get ready for the exam by reading magazines or other books on the subject. It is also possible for them to get more detail information from others who have attended this exam prior. The most important quality a candidates need in order to become an Actuarialist is creative thinking and a mathematical mind. At the time of the interview, the candidates must reply in an honest and direct manner. It will also help if the candidates take a minute to answer each question. This will provide them some time to reflect before they answer.

• No related posts

21 Responses to “Actuarialist - How to become an Actuarialist?”

1. 21
    vaitheesh:

i have completed B.Com(Actuarial Management) and once i finish my PG in M.Sc (Actuarial Science) will i get more job opportunities in india???????

Thank You,

2. 20
    urwashi singh:

i am in 12th grade what should i do after 12th…??

3. 19
    ROHIT PANDEY:

Whate I should do after doing BA in INSURANCE in the name of actuarial science from DELHI UNIVESITY.

4. 18
    maharshi:

i recently gave exam of 10th std.should i take science or commerce for acturial science,if both are eligible which will be better

5. 17
    Anu:

Course is of how many years after graduation like B.Sc in Mathematics?

6. 16
    Mohil:

I have completed my 10th & want to pursue actuarial science, could you please guide me how to go about it what entrance exams are to be given after 12th. Please guide me the whole process.

Thanx
    Mohil Kaur

7. 15
    Monika:

hello ,
    i want to know the detailed course material required for acturial science. how much time does it take to become an actuary? how much is the training period.

8. 14
    shalu:

hello…
    i have done my B.E. n now want to do actuarial course from india..so do i need to enroll in some colleges or i can just study on my own n can appear for my exam…kindly guide for the procedure involved hereafter….thank you..

9. 13
    Tushar:

I have passed 12th now with Non-Medical now suggest me i wanna join Acturial Science What can i do now for it…..??

10. 12
    Financial Advisor:

Res. Sir, I am 42yrs. young ,wishes to do Acturial Science course. I am a financial advisor. Can I join the course now?

Thank youy.

11. 11
    lalit:

I have just completed my 10th and want to go with Actuaries,. Can u please guide me how to proceeds? and what are the main subject which I will follow. and any book or any specific author’s book which u can sugggest for that..n can i do after 12th or what to first complete my graduation n then i ll be eligible for that exam. can u just tell me about all the process plz sir

Lalit

12. 10
    Ashiq ilyas:

I am doing BSC. AFM at IUST(j&k).I want to do M-tech applied maths,what is ur suggestion.

13. 9
    Deepak Kumar:

I m Mba in finance..i want to go with Acturial Science..pls suggest me that should i go with this course via correspondence……

14. 8
    Adi Shantanu:

sir i am pursuin M.Sc.(Hons.)in Mathematics from BITS, Pilani and have just completed my first year. I want to get a job as an actuarialist as soon as my graduation ends in 2014. is it possible for me to take a correspondence course and prepare for it???if yes from where???

15. 7
    akash:

I have just completed my 10th and want to go with Acturial Science.,. Can u please guide me how to proceeds? and what are the main subject which I will follow. and any book or any specific author’s book which u can sugggest for that..

Akash

16. 6
    amarendher:

I am b.tech ece 2011 passout

can i apply for acturial

please guide me

17. 5
    swapnil agrawal:

dear sir my daughter is in Xth std. she is interested in doing actuarial science .kindly guide how to proceed further. thanks

18. 4
    arun singh rawat:

hi ,
    i have done my bcom and now i am thinking to go for a job , can i do actuarial science side by side doing self study.

19. 3
    appanacharlu:

I have done my M.Sc(mathematics), can i apply for actuarial eligibility test.

Thanks and Regards
    appana charlu

20. 2
    Ajay Jain:

Is it worthwhile to start preparations to be an actuaries in my present age which is 50 years? can i start my career as an actuary in this age?

21. 1
    Ajay Jain:

Is it worthwhile to start preparations to be an actuaries in my present age which is 50 years?