Career after Bachelor of Computer Science

Subsequent to the completion of the B.Sc Computer Science course, students can get good jobs with professional software companies or go for higher education. It is possible for students to get jobs not only in India but also abroad. Because of the demand for professionals in computer science, jobs will be available for students in both private and public sector firms. This article will explain about the career opportunities that are available for students after their graduation in Computer Science.

Career in Private sector after Bachelor of Computer Science

There are several private sector firms in our country that take in students of computer science. Due to the demand for computer professionals and the advances in modern technology, graduates will be able to get very good job profiles with both hardware as well as software firms. A few of the areas where jobs are made available for graduates of computer science comprise of:

• Banks
  • Consultancies
  • Computers and Related Electronic Equipment Manufacturers
  • Desktop Publishing
  • Financial Institutions
  • Insurance Providers
  • Schools and Colleges
  • Software Development Companies
  • Security and Surveillance Companies
  • System Maintenance
  • Technical Support
  • Traffic Light Management
  • Healthcare
  • Telecom
  • Retail
  • Logistics, etc

The job profiles of these people include the assembling as well as install and repairing in addition to the maintaining of computer equipment. Some of the top private sector IT firms of our country includes Tata Consultancy Services (TCS), WIPRO, Infosys, Satyam Computer Services, HCL Technologies, Tech Mahindra and Patni Computer Systems. Other firms of equal repute include i-flex Solutions, MphasiS and L&T Infotech.

Government Career after Bachelor of Computer Science

It is possible for computer graduates to get good job with the public sector too. There are numerous areas in which Computer science graduates can find jobs. They include fields like:

• Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL)
  • Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (JTO)
  • Damodar Valley Corporation (DVC)
  • Defense Services
  • Educational Institutions
  • Indian Oil Corporation Ltd (IOCL)
  • Indian Railways
  • National informatics center
  • National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC)
  • Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC)

Career Abroad after Bachelor of Computer Science

Graduates of computer science can get lucrative jobs in high tech companies abroad. There are many firms that take in professionals into various job profiles. Students can get jobs as computer analyst, ERP Administrator, IT Designer, Web Developer etc. They can also get jobs as teachers with institutes of education.

Long term Career roadmap for Bachelor of Computer Science Graduates

Candidates can join top firms as trainees. With experience and hard work, students of computer science will be able to rise to top positions. Some of the available job profiles for students of computer science include Software Engineer, Project Manager (IT) and Programmer Analyst etc. In time, they will be able to get promoted to designations such as Project Administrator, Sr. Software Engineer and Senior Software Developer etc.

8 Responses to “Career after Bachelor of Computer Science”

1. 8
    krutika anand:

which are the fields of computer science that are going to be in demand in next two-three years?

2. 7
    Vishal Sahu:

I am a btech (cs) pass out this year .so i want job in indian railway through CIRS .
    Please give me detail about examination and next coming examination date .

3. 6
    koteswararao:

sir i am completed bsc. in 2003 .after complet i am work a former .now i am interust a small job . what types of jobs avilable sir

4. 5
    devendra:

sir i am completed bsc. in cs branch.now is there any jobs for me

5. 4
    vivek kourav:

sir me na12th pass karli hai me computer se mca karna cahta hu aor ntpc me mca ka kya scop hai kir paya batay

6. 3
    swati kantiya:

12th class result have any preference in software jobs?

7. 2
    manoj kumar jangid:

A computer engineer can apply for the bank examination like P.O

8. 1
    ramana:

sir i am completed b.tech in IT branch.now is there any jobs for me except software field please suggest me. urgent sir………….