Civil Services General Studies Prelims exam Papers

The General Studies paper of Civil Services examination is of 150 marks. the paper consists of questions from subjects like History of India,  Indian Polity & Economy, Indian and World Geography, General and day-to-day Science, Current Affairs of National and International Importance, and Mental Ability and Basics of Statistics etc.

Paper Description

There is a trend following which the students can prepare for this paper. Some questions are very common. They are expected every year. These include budgeting, planning, current politically important issues, developmental plans, reforms, panchayati raj, culture, resources, nationalistic growth, commissions, committees, etc.

Current affairs are to be taken care of. Candidates must keep themselves up to date with what is happening around them all over the globe. Current affairs form the basis of majority of the questions.

The syllabus is vast and can confuse the candidate. The key way to prepare is to solve as many previous papers as possible. Candidates should also inculcate themselves the habit of reading newspapers and, magazines. Pick up as many facts as possible. The general knowledge has always to be updated. There is no cut-off for the paper. Solving previous years’ papers can be come out to be really helpful.

Paper Pattern

The General Studies Prelims Paper is 150 marks and there are 150 questions in the paper. These questions are all of one mark each and are to be answered in 2 hours time. There is a negative marking for each incorrect answer. Hence, a candidates must be careful while marking any answer out of four options which are provided with every question.

Download Civil services General Studies Prelims Papers

24 Responses to “Civil Services General Studies Prelims exam Papers”

1. 24
    meenakshi walia:

Plz send me PCs prelim question papers of previous years. Ragards Meenakshi walia

2. 23
    bhawna bhardwaj:

i m bhawna bhardwaj. i am M.C.A . can i give the prelims exam form the subjec cmputer application..wILL YOU PLEASE PROVIDE INFORMATION REGARDING ”HOW TO PREPARE FOR ”IAS” exam..if i give the exam from computer application then please provide the syllabus of this subject
    Also please tell me the site/source where I can find the exact dates and notifications for civil service exams (prelims, mains)

3. 22
    Bristi:

I AM A B.SC NURSE ..wILL YOU PLEASE PROVIDE INFORMATION REGARDING ”HOW TO PREPARE FOR ”IAS” exam..

4. 21
    Bhabagrahi:

How can i found orissa civil service preliminary exam study material in net ?

5. 20
    Sweta:

Hello Sir/Ma’am,

I personally feel very happy that this site is able to give and share information to the aspiring students. I am an IAS aspirant and wanted to download previous year question papers for practice.
    I found them here but please tell me where can I find the answers.
    Also please tell me the site/source where I can find the exact dates and notifications for civil service exams (prelims, mains)

Thanks & Regards,
    Sweta

6. 19
    Rachana Bhartiya:

Green house gass kaun -kaun hai ?

7. 18
    S.RAMKRISHNA:

Please tell me where I can get general studies prelims question papers fromthe year 1965-19999. Can I get these papers in internet

8. 17
    Brijesh Arya:

I am appearing in UPSC exam at first time. So kindly help me so that I can clear it in my first attempt . I do not know that which books will help me. My exam will be on 6-11-2011.

Brijesh Chandra

9. 16
    sanjay:

I want some practice paper GS mains. plese provide at earliest.

10. 15
    syed zubair:

i am doing b.tech in EC and this is my first year. my aim is to qualify IAS.so please tell me what should i do during the 4 years of my be.tech for ias prerarations.plz plz

11. 14
    siva:

sir,i want full information about civils.

12. 13
    Anil:

how to take steps for applying and preparation etc.pls inform me all the details…………..

13. 12
    sangitha:

I want to appear the ias-2011 exam prilims. I saw that the last date as two. 28th-feb-2011 & 21st-march-2011. which one is correct?
    And how to take steps for applying and preparation etc.pls inform me all the details…………..

14. 11
    nithiyaprabha:

sir i want previous papers of history and general studies . and give the outlines about aptitude test

15. 10
    Abhishek srivastava:

How many minimum marks are required to qualify for mains exam?

16. 9
    ruby:

sir,I want solved paper of KAS prelims question paper of general study 2010

17. 8
    sandeep:

sir i want solved previous papers of veterinary and animal husbandry preliminary conducted by KAS

18. 7
    mohanapriya:

what are the important headings for general studies

19. 6
    rubeena:

sir, i want previous year ias prelims question papers

20. 5
    angad jha:

sir, i want ias 2009 madel paper pre and mains. and give all syllabus for this examination . thankyou……..

21. 4
    jagatheesan:

please send me the previous year ias prelims and mains question papers.

22. 3
    archana:

kya ap hme ias ki tyari kaise suru ki jaye aur khan se ? basics clear krne k liye kya kiya jaye kripa kr btayen.

23. 2
    john agnel:

what are the important headings for general studies

24. 1
    manju:

still i didnt get my acknowledgement letter what is the problem?how 2 get that letter