Common Admission Test (CAT) Books

To crack the almighty entrance test of CAT, the candidates require books that help them to build up the vital concepts that need to be efficiently build up. This aspect of study is very essential that help the candidate to get a high percentile in the CAT exam. Though there are plenty of books that are available in the market, but only few of them will serve the candidates personal purpose. Apart from the stress on the mathematics side, CAT also puts vital stress on verbal ability and data interpretation.

There are lads of books that help the candidates to prepare for CAT and also mentions complete success in the final run, but it lies with the candidates personal mind frame and the suitability o the language and approach of the book. Few books are reliable enough and help to prepare the CAT in an efficient manner.

Though text book help to clear up the vital subjective type questions, few MCQ books also help to build up speed and agility that is basically required in the CAT exam. Few of the books that are recommended for CAT are:

How to Prepare for Quantitative Aptitude for the CAT Common Admission Test, Author: Arun Sharma

How to Prepare for Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning for CAT, Author: Arun Sharma

How to Prepare for the Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension for the CAT, Author: Arun Sharma & Meenakshi Upadhyay

Permutation, Combination and Number Theory:

1. A Computational Introduction to Number Theory and Algebra ( Author: Victor Shoup Pages:533 Publication Date:2005 Publisher: Cambridge University Press Free License: Creative Commons License (Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derives 2.0) )

2. Foundations of Combinatory with Applications (Author(s): Edward A. Bender and S. Gill Williamson Publication Date: 2005 Publisher over Publications)

Probability:

1. Introduction to Probability, 2nd Rev edition ( Author(s):Charles M. Grinstead, J. Laurie Snell ISBN:0821807498 Paperback:520 pages Publication Date: Jul 1997 Publisher: American Mathematical Society Free License: GNU General Public License )

Algebra:

1. Applied Abstract Algebra (Author(s).Joyner, R. Kreminski, J. Turisco ISBN:0-8018-7822-5 Pages:344 Publication Date: June 2004 Publisher: The Johns Hopkins University Press )

2. Linear Algebra (Author: Jim Hefferon, Saint Michael’s College Publication Date: May 2006 )

3. Derivations of Applied Mathematics (Author: Thaddeus H. Black Publication Date:4 August 2006 Publisher: The Debian Project )

4. A First Course in Linear Algebra (Author: Robert A. Beezer, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Puget Sound Pages: 807 Publication Date: April 6, 2006)

5. Elements of Abstract and Linear Algebra (Author(s):E. H. Connell, Department of Mathematics, University of Miami Content: 146 pages Publication Date: March 2004)

6. Abstract Algebra: The Basic Graduate Year (Author(s): Robert B. Ash, Department of Mathematics, University of Illinois Publication Date: October 2000)

7. Elementary Linear Algebra

8. A=B (Author(s): Marko Petkovsek, Herbert Wilf and Doron Zeilberger Publication date: Jan 1996 ISBN: 1568810636 Hardcover: 212 pages Publisher: AK Peters, Ltd)

Thus indeed there large number of book available in the market, however the books from  the Arun Sharma author clan are very viable to clear different concepts that are required during the CAT exam. It is said that CAT is a exam of concepts, hence the stress should be on concepts rather than on hard study or intense labor.

17 Responses to “Common Admission Test (CAT) Books”

1. 17
    shahu:

which books use for mt-cet2013

2. 16
    pandurang gaikwad:

am B SC (math) graduate student you suggest the recommend top books cat preparation and my specialization to IT sector , i kindly request to you red my question .

3. 15
    akhilesh:

sir..which book sould i refer for cat i’m 3 rd year engineering student.

4. 14
    karthik:

sir .,, am preparing for cat from past 4 months,
    Am now b.tech 2-2 can i attempt cat when i rechd b.tech 4th year

5. 13
    Ravi:

which reference book and which institute should i chooes for cat prepration now I am in BBA 2nd year student…………..

6. 12
    NIVEDITA:

sir,I want to download some books of cat which are easy to understand according to you.which r these?

7. 11
    karthik:

i want links for download arun sharma cat material

8. 10
    LAKSHMAN KR. Sinha:

good mrng sir,i am stdnt of B.B.M in M.U. BODHGAYA.sir,pls you guide me what is the process of cracking cat.where is the best learning point.thanks

9. 9
    mohan shyam agrawal:

sir, will you recommend a book for the preparation of MBA.
    sir, i want to pass out MBA through CAT..
    so please recommend a best book and coaching institute for the preparation.

10. 8
    lucky:

i want most referenced books list to prepare for cat exam please send me the list of the books.

11. 7
    anand mohan:

where i found the practice paper of cusat 2011 for b.tech exam.

12. 6
    monica:

What are the best books that are required for the cat preparation

13. 5
    jyothi:

Are there any sites from where online preparation for CAT can be done..n pls suggest me some best indian author books 4 CAT preparation 4 all subjects..

14. 4
    prerna sengupta:

plz suggest me some good indian author books especialy 4 CAT and XAT.. and i want 2 no books 4 maths which are written by indian authors.

15. 3
    abhilasha:

sir/mam,
    what should be the strategy to prepare for those exams? please suggest.

16. 2
    avinash:

I want to appear in CAT 2010 Exam., so please help me to how could i make adjustment on my syllabus & in which way giving prefrence to various topics.

Please gude me.

Hoping for posetive action.

17. 1
    pritam:

what are the best books in number theory ,calculus and algebra for admission to cmi,chennai?