Courses Offered in IIT Chennai

The Indian Institute of Technology, IIT Chennai is one of the prominent technical institutes in our country formally established in 1959. It cabled the technical education with the quality aspects and with the foundation of pure research. The institute offers many graduate, postgraduate and research programs. Some of the courses are given below:

Courses offered in IIT, Chennai

Under Graduate Programs

Bachelor of Technology in IIT, Chennai

• B.Tech in Aerospace Engineering
  • B.Tech in Biotechnology
  • B.Tech in Chemical Engineering
  • B.Tech in Civil Engineering
  • B.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering
  • B.Tech in Electrical Engineering
  • B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering
  • B.Tech in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • B.Tech in Ocean Engineering
  • B.Tech Physics

B.Sc( Tech.)

• Aerospace Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering

Post Graduate Programs

• M.Tec courses offered by IIT Chennai
  • M.Tech in Aerospace Engineering
  • M.Tech in Applied Mechanics
  • M.Tech in Biotechnology
  • M.Tech in Chemical Engineering
  • M.Tech in Civil Engineering
  • M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering
  • M.Tech in Electrical Engineering
  • M.Tech in Mechanical Engineering
  • M.Tech in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • M.Tech in Ocean Engineering
  • M.Tech in Mathematics
  • M.Tech in Physics
  • M.Tech in Humanities and social science
  • Master of Science courses offered by IIT, Chennai
  • M.S in Aerospace Engineering
  • M.S in Applied Mechanics
  • M.S in Biotechnology
  • M.S in Chemical Engineering
  • M.S in Civil Engineering
  • M.S in Computer Science and Engineering
  • M.S in Electrical Engineering
  • M.S in Engineering Design
  • M.S in Mechanical Engineering
  • M.S in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • M.S in Ocean Engineering

Master of Science courses in IIT Chennai

• M.Sc in Mathematics
  • M.Sc in Physics
  • M.Sc in Chemistry

Dual Degree Programs in IIT Chennai

• (B.Tech+M.Tech) Aerospace Engineering
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Biotechnology
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Chemical Engineering
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Civil Engineering
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Computer Science and Engineering
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Electrical Engineering
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Engineering Design
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Mechanical Engineering
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • (B.Tech+M.Tech) Ocean Engineering
  • (MA Integrated) Humanities and social science

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Programs at IIT Chennai

• Aerospace Engineering
  • Applied Mechanics
  • Biotechnology
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Ocean Engineering
  • Management Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Humanities and social science

Other Courses at IIT Chennai

• MBA
  • PGDMEM
  • DIIT

Structure of the courses offered in IIT, Chennai

The courses are designed on semester basis and each semester consist of atleast 70 classroom days. The institute communicates in the common medium of English

The undergraduate programs are offered on a regular basis and the classes are mix of of workshops, seminars, conference and projects. The classroom instruction enables the students to get a deep knowledge in the respective areas and the workshops and projects will help in the practical applications.

The post graduate programs are mainly focused on the interests of the students. The students will get a valuable exposure in their specialized field. They have to undertake number of projects and this will enable the studens to develop an interest in the interested area. Experts and Eminent faculty members are there to guide the students in each area.

The Doctoral programs are designed on the research work and self study method. The students are supported by the institution with good facilities and expert guidance.

Evaluation process of various courses in IIT, Chennai

Continues evaluation is the motto of IIT Chennai. Semester exams and the project evaluation and presentation are the main evaluation techniques. Each course has credits and like all the B. Tech programs it contains 180 credits plus the project credit. The research papers are evaluated on the thesis presentation and the faculty members from India and abroad are involved in the evaluation process. The students are also evaluated by the faculty on the basis of assignments, seminars, classroom works etc.

Advantages of doing the courses in IIT, Chennai

IIT, Chennai stands for the quality education and for providing value to the society and there by nation. The institute makes the technical education feasible to the right talents of the country. It provides an environment suitable to grow and develop and also acts as a platform for technical research. The students will get boundless knowledge in various technical disciplines and also get an opportunity to go for the practical implications. The IITians are the most preferable choice for most of the employers. The IIT pass out are offered high pay-package and perks across both in India and abroad.

IIT, Chennai Course Admissions

Admission into IIT is the hardest process a student has to undergo. They conduct entrance test for the various courses in the National Level. For getting into any IIT the students should take the common test.

For admission into the B.Tech course, students need to take the IIT-JEE. The GATE exam is conducted for the technical post graduate courses. The aspirants looking to do a management course from IIT Chennai should take the The Joint Management Entrance Test (JMET). For the admission process in Msc/PhD/Dual Degree/BSc they have to appear for the Joint Admission Test for MSc (JAM).  The Humanities and Social Sciences Entrance Examination (HSEE) is conducted for the five year programs in Master of Arts. The qualified students in this exam will be informed for the final round of admission process including the personal interview. Students need to work hard to get into IIT, Chennai as the competition is very high.

29 Responses to “Courses Offered in IIT Chennai”

1. 29
    Kalidass:

Sir,What Is The Qualification For Join To Msc Mathematics In Chennai IIT Plz Kindly Advice Me

2. 28
    dinesh reddy:

sir, i want to admit into the iit madras in integrated m.a. HSEE exam 2014 . so, please give me the details how to apply and what is the syllabus for this exam. please give me the previous papers.

3. 27
    ahmed:

I am doing final year in b.sc computer science . I have planned to join iit fo mca what are all the procedures. how much percentage should I maintain in my ug

4. 26
    deepika chowdary:

MA(HISTORY,ECONOMICS,GEOGRPHY,POLITICAL SCIENCE.)SIR,I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IS THERE ANY ONLINE FORM FILL UP IS GOING ON(BA+MA INTEGRATED COURSE )…IN WHICH WEBSITE , PI INFORM ME AT YOUR EARLIEST . SO THAT I CAN APPLY AT RIHT TIME. NOW IAM STUDING Sr Inter(H.E.G).INTERESTED TO GO CIVIL SERVICES…….T Q.

5. 25
    niviseenivas:

I am B.E ECE student.Can i choose electrical engineering in M.TECH at IIT

6. 24
    Shree Nidhi A:

How to do Msc Maths in IIT chennai? Is there any entrance exam to write? what are the procedures for writing?

7. 23
    kavitha:

Sir, Is there msc phd(chemistry) dual degree in iit at chennai?

8. 22
    nayana:

Sir, I would like to know ….Is there any online form fillup is going on for (M.A integrated course) humanities and social science..in which website…please inform me at your earliest so that i can apply at right time

9. 21
    radhika:

Is there any English literature courses available at madras or chennai IIT or at any IIT in india

10. 20
    guru:

indian students studying in american curriculam till 12th std are eligible to attend IIT exmas after enough preparation and coaching for exmas?

11. 19
    jacob.p.i:

i wants details FIVE YEAR programs HSEE conducted by IIT

12. 18
    ruqsar:

i want the notifications of the entrance exam ………..for msc physics iit madras……….
    what is the last date ,i dont see any notifications ………please help me so that i can apply at right time …………

13. 17
    nayana:

What is the Qualification and procedure to join M.Sc Maths in IIT, madras.?
    Kindly advice me..

14. 16
    aysha:

sir may i know the eligibility required for m.tech physics in iit chennai ? am doing my bsc physics 2nd year am i eligible to do m.tech after completing ug if so could you please tell me about the entrance exam? thanks in advance

15. 15
    om prava mishra:

sir i want to join some short term course related to research during summer belongs to electrical or ece dept,i m working as a lecturer in a self financed engg college,so in summer vacation we can improve in our career,why cant u provide such programme for 2 weeks or 3 weeks for ME/M.Tech holders?

16. 14
    Jone:

Sir i want to know the mark eligiblity to join M.Sc,maths.my UG percentage are required if required how much it should be.kindly help me sir.what are the syllabus for JAM exam sir.

17. 13
    James:

What is the Qualification and procedure to join M.Sc Maths in IIT, madras.?

Kindly advice me..

James S

18. 12
    sanjay:

what are the courses offered by iit madras in literature after 10+2…….. ?
    what is the fee structure….?

19. 11

what is the procedure to join msc maths in IIT chennai…. when the entrance exam form will issue….please list me the qualification…..

20. 10
    DINESH:

i am a B.E. student studying in ece deparment. i want to study M.TECH in biotechnology. is it possible to study? how will be scope? otherwise which branches i have to choose related to it?

21. 9
    Indianbrucelee:

What courses are offered in iit madras after passing gate in electrical

22. 8
    jancy priya.r:

do wehave scholarship ?

23. 7
    m.hemalatha:

how to apply for M.Sc space research?

24. 6
    Shivani Garg:

Respected Sir/ Madam
    I am a student of M Sc (Biotechnology) and wish to pursue M Tech Biotechnology from IIT Chennai.
    Kindly tell me if its possible to apply for Ph D simultaneously here in IIT Chennai?

Thanking you in anticipation
    Warm regards
    Shivani Garg

25. 5
    ADITHYA:

hi am dng b.tech final year civil engg.am having 60%marks.what to do to join in m.tech iit madras.if so, kindly inform details of qualifications,fees,marks etc

26. 4
    c.a.nandhini:

eligibility criteria for joining M.Sc physics

27. 3
    Humanities & Social Science:

M.A.(Humanities & Social Science)

28. 2
    m.selva sundaram:

how to apply for civil engineering in iit chennai

29. 1
    umesh ukpta:

sir/madam,
    i am doing B.E. in jabalpur (M.P.). i am going tyo finish it in june 2011
    i want to do M.tech. how can i get admission in this course?
    please guide me.