Desired qualification for IPS Exam

IPS exam is conducted by Union Public Service Commission. Criteria concerning age, nationality, education, physical measurements have to be met to fulfil the eligibility requirements.

Eligibility Requirements

Candidates should be a citizen of India. Candidates should have completed five years of service as Assistant Commandants in Central paramilitary Forces or Officers of the Rank of captain or Major or equivalent in the Armed Forces or deputy Superintendent of Police in states under State Police Service with an unblemished service record.

The maximum age limit for applying for the exam is 35 years. There is a relaxation of 1 year for OBC candidates and 2years for the SC/ST candidates. Candidates should be a degree holder from a recognised university. Candidates are allowed two attempts to pass the examination. SC/ST candidates are allowed a total of three attempts.

The physical requirements have to be met in order to appear for the IPS exam. These requirements are separate for the male and female candidates. The minimum height required for male candidates is 165 cm while it is 150 cm for female candidates. For SC/ST and OBC candidates, the minimum height required is 160 cm for males and 145 cm for females. Chest should measure a minimum of 84 cm with an expansion of 5 cm for male candidates and 79 cm with an expansion of 5 cm in the case of female candidates. Eye sight requirements are also specified. Near vision for good eye should be J1 and that of worse eye, J2. Distant vision for worse eye should be 6/12 or 6/9 and that of the good eye should be 6/6 or 6/9. Rope climbing, horse riding, running 10 kms in 60 minutes, PT obstacles etc are some of the physical endurance skills required for IPS officers.

Selection Procedure

Candidates have to ensure that the eligibility requirements are met before applying. Application forms have to be downloaded from the website http://www.upsconline.nic.in/.

Candidates have to qualify for the written examination followed by the Personality/Interview test. The written examination consists of two objective type papers and two descriptive type papers.

The merit list will be published based on the aggregate score obtained by the candidate. The UPSC will forward the list of recommended candidates to the Ministry of Home Affairs for appointment to the posts. Successful candidates will have to undergo training and a probationary period of two years.

The desired qualification for the IPS examination requires the candidate to fulfil the basic eligibility criteria and pass the written examination and test specified by the UPSC.

6 Responses to “Desired qualification for IPS Exam”

1. 6
    Mohamed ismail.m:

I want to become a ips officer its my child hood ambition to

2. 5
    Mathivanan.A.R.:

Hi am doing my B.TECH-IT 3rd year. when i will be able to attend I.P.S exams? my dob is 14.09.1993.. can u reply with full details??

3. 4
    Krishna ray:

IPS, KA SELECTION KA KYA PROCESS HAI???

4. 3
    sriram charan:

dear sir i want ips full details

5. 2
    Catherine:

I am a engineering graduate and I am doing my post graduation which I will be completing by may 2013. I wanna know whether I am eligible for appearing for the group1(IPS) exam. Please let me know.
    Best Regards,
    Kate.

6. 1
    Vikas:

All information about anything are fake and making you “Not Applicable” for that post. So check the site for correct information.