Diploma in Library Science, Library Science Diploma

Library is an integral part of human life. It imparts knowledge and help to enhance the personal skill of the one availing the service. So, a library is maintained by all educational institutes and public bodies. But to organize and provide quick service with numerous books is really a tough job. It is where one needs the expert help of a diploma holder in library science. Diploma holders in library science are trained to handle all type of books and other objects stored in library.

A candidate is considered eligible for diploma in library science if he or she has secondary school leaving certificate or passed higher secondary. A admission test is held for the admission of the student in the course by some institutes but it is generally merit based dependent on the marks obtained in 12th standard.

Course Outlook

Diploma in Library Science is a 2 year course split into half yearly assessment examination. Few institutes also provide correspondence course in the subject. The course aims in training the students for library organization, library administration, library classification theory and practice, library cataloguing, theory and practice, physical bibliography and selection of books. There are further opportunities for advanced diploma and master’s degree.

Job prospect

There are lucrative job prospects for the candidates having diploma in Library science. They are appointed in Schools, colleges, Universities, Clubs, Public libraries.  There are also opportunities in information centers, archives and cultural organizations. A good librarian can also help in teaching library sciences and related topics. Generally the remuneration depends on the qualification, the skill and the organization but a librarian is always well paid.

Best Places to Pursue

• Kurukshetra University
• Punjabi University
• KOTA Open University
• Dharma Samaj College Department of Library And Information,
• Dr B R Ambedkar University, Aligarh
• B.P.S Mahila Polytechnic, Haryana, (Haryana)
• Kalamkari Vocation Oriented Women’s Polyt., Jammu, (Jammu & Kashmir)
• S.K.D.A.V. Polytechnic For Women, Rourkela, (Orissa)
• Seth Jaiprakash Mukandlal Women’s Polytechnic, Ghaziabad , (Uttar Pradesh)
• Shri Anar Devi Khandelwal Mahila Polytechnic, Mathura, (Uttar Pradesh)
• Sri R.R.T. Mahila Polytechnic, Kanpur, (Uttar Pradesh)
• Women’s Polytechnic, New Delhi, (Delhi)

30 Responses to “Diploma in Library Science, Library Science Diploma”

1. 30
    deepu chauhan:

deepi kaha ho aap yr kesi ho nd tensan na lo ap aapka admission ho jaayega deepu me hu na

2. 29
    deepu chauhan:

dseeu aap kaha ho aaj kal

3. 28
    deepu chauan:

ys deepu mil jayega aapko addmission tensan na lo aap me hu na

4. 27
    deepika rawat:

hi ..
    sir mera qes ye h ki ab sare forms fill ho chuke to kya ab mujhe library coues m addmission ml jayega kya

5. 26
    Sudhir Kumar Verma:

ignou provides the Bechelor degree course in library and information science of one years duration after a bechelor degree qualification. Will it be valid for the post of a libraian?
    Please tell me in short quick.
    Thanks in advance.

6. 25
    Sudhir Kumar Verma:

What is the course dusation of a bechelor degree in library and imformation science?
    Thanks in advance for your quick response.

7. 24
    Sudhir Kumar Verma:

Can a bechelor degree holder in library and imformation science take the post of a librarian?
    Thanks in advance

8. 23
    GURLAL SINGH:

Respected Sir/Madam,

Iwant do the course in library science.after graduation. please guide me.

9. 22
    himanshu:

last date lib.dploma

10. 21
    himanshu:

last date in this exam.

11. 20
    arun kumar:

sir i am doing the diploma in library science from govt. polyteghnic lucknow so i want a job in this sector

12. 19
    Shaila Rao:

How can I get a Diploma in Library Science, what education requirement needed. where and which university is conducting the course , and can i work in a library or any other place with this certificate. pl let me know.

13. 18
    louise:

it is possible to find library science diploma school in toronto?

14. 17
    cherono:

iam a student who is interested in doing library and information science.so iam kindly requesting your institution to send me your past papers.

15. 16
    smt. Rashmi jain:

last date of sunmit form

16. 15
    sonia:

i got suplyment in b.com final ,so may i know can i take admission in library science course? because after one month i clear my final year.please guide me…

17. 14
    sujata kundangar:

I am already passed in Diploma in Commerial Priactice and I have interested to take admission for Diploma in Library Science

18. 13
    shivam:

from where i can do diploma in library and information science

19. 12
    prakash:

i am start library science diploma course . south delhi say part time course kha say kar sakti hi.form kab say melingay.

20. 11
    prakash:

i am start a library science course .form start a date.

21. 10
    anil yadav:

what is the processor of admission in library science course or diploma. please tell me

22. 9
    vijay p majethiya:

I wanted to know the complete information about this course & what is the minimum qualification required for this course. ( current qualification ITI Draughts Man Mechnical )

now i am in baroda gujarat if any institute avl in here

23. 8
    kiran:

I wanted to know the complete information about this course & what is the minimum qualification required for this course.

24. 7
    kanchan pal:

I have done diploma in library & information science of 2 years now i am completing my b.com .but i want to do job but i have no job in my city(bijnor).the college required b.lib,m.lib so what can i do?

25. 6
    poornima:

i m 1st Nov. 1982 born . i passed my 10th in 1999 securing 47% marks and 12th in 2001 securing 51.4% marks both from c.b.s.e board. i did my graduation from d.u in 2005 securing 42.9% through correspondence. is there any chance for me in govt. school jobs in Delhi. if not then what should i do for this?

26. 5
    Mahrukh:

When will be the admissn open in dr.b.r.ambedkar university.plz tel me fee,eligibility ,hostel facility also.

27. 4
    md.aatif raza:

i am the student of class 12 art stream and i want to do a course in bachlors library science,what qualification is requid and is there any entrance test for this.

28. 3
    neetal gupta:

can i do any job in library and information science after dong diploma in chandigarh

29. 2
    dilip patil:

IN WHICH MONTH THE ADMISSION FORMS AVAILABLE. WHAT IT IS CRITERIA FOR SELECTION.

30. 1
    romana:

hii,how can i get the couse code in library studies-diploma?
    secondly,how can i get to revise the past papers of previous done exams?
    Thanks .God Bless