General Awareness

- 1. SEBI Chairman is
 - a) C B Bhave;
 - b) Damodaran;
 - c) O P bhatt;
 - d) Uday Kotak
- 2. The Vice President of International Olympic Committee is
 - a) Jiang Xiaoyu;
 - b) Gurilla Lindberg
 - c) Sun Weide;
 - d) Arun Natarajan
- 3. Chief Election Commissioner of India is
 - a) N Gopalaswamy;
 - b) T N Seshan;
 - c) J N Lyngdoh:
 - d) Narin Chawla
- 4. Which of the following institutions find a place in FORBES 2000 scroll?
 - a) Canara Bank;
 - b) Bank of India
 - c) ICICI Bank;
 - d) Vijaya Bank
- 5. Which of the following companies find a place in FORBES 2000 scroll?
 - a) ONGC;
 - b) SAIL;
 - c) TCS;
 - d) All of these
- 6. The acronym NATO stands for
 - a) North Atlantic Treaty Organisation;
 - b) North American Trade Organisation
 - c) New Agreement of Trade Organisation
 - d) Novel Agreement of Trade Organisation
- 7. The acronym MCX stands for
 - a) Multi Currency Exchange of India;
 - b) Multi commodity Exchange of India
 - c) Movable Commodity Exchange of India
 - d) Major Cash Exchange of India
- 8. The acronym NSEL stands for
 - a) National Stock Exchange Ltd
 - b) National Securities Exchange of India Itd
 - c) National spot Exchange Ltd
 - d) National Services Exchange Ltd
- 9. The acronym SDRs refer to
 - a) Special Drawing Rights of IMF
 - b) Social Deposit Receipt
 - c) Savings Deposit Receipt
 - d) Special Deposit Receipt
- 10. Tata Motors acquired which of the two companies?
 - a) Jaguar and Land Rover
 - b) Jaguar and Reva
 - c) Jaguar and Maruthi

- d) Jaguar and Suzuki
- 11. Chief Justice of India is
 - a) R C Lahoti
 - b) A R Anand
 - c) Sabharwal
 - d) K G Balakrishnan
- 12. The speaker of the Lok Sabha is
 - a) Dr Manmohan Singh
 - b) Somnath Chatterji
 - c) Sonia Gandhi
 - d) Sheila Dixit
- 13. India became a sovereign democratic republic on
 - a) 15th August 1947
 - b) 26th January 1950
 - c) 2nd October 1947
 - d) 1 May 1948
- 14. The Prime Minister of Pakisthan is
 - a) Yousuf Raza Gillani
 - b) Benazir Bhutto
 - c) Zardari Bhutto
 - d) Bilawal Bhutto Zardari
- 15. The basic income tax exemption limit for 2008-2009 (Previous Year) is
- a) Rs 1,10,000
 - b) Rs 1,50,000
 - c) Rs 1,55,000
 - d) Rs 2,50,000
- 16. The President of India is
 - a) Pratibha Devisingh Patil
 - b) Dr A P J Abdul Kalam
 - c) Dr Manmohan Singh
 - d) Mr Somnath chatterji
- 17. Who is the Ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha?
 - a) The President of India
 - b) The Chief Justice of India
 - c) The Vice President of India
 - d) The Prime Minister of India
- 18. Sub-Prime Crisis even penetrated strong countries like
 - a) Mexico
 - b) Argentina
 - c) Sudan
 - d) Hongkong

19. The Chairman of Knowledge Commission of India is

- a) Sam Pitorda
- b) Vinod Dhall
- c) Radhakrishna
- d) Srikrishna

20.Which State Government in India has sent the proposal to end 62 year old Pigeon Postal Services

- a) UP;
- b) MP;
- c) Orissa;
- d) Kerala

21. Who is the Chairman of Economic Advisory Cuncil to the PM?

- a) Bimal Jalan;
- b) Y V Reddy;
- c) Dr C Rangarajan;
- d) M S Swaminathan
- 22. WTO was started in the year
 - a) 1947;
 - b) 1985;
 - c) 1995;
 - d) 2005
- 23. SENSEX refers to
 - a) Sensitivity Index

b) Index compiled on the basis of stock prices of top 30 companies listed in the Bombay

Stock Exchange

- c) Index of all stocks listed on the NSE
- d) Index of Inflation of our country which is highly sensitive
- 24. UN Secretary General is

a) Ban-ki Moon;

- b) Sam Pitardo;
- c) Kofi Annan;
- d) Hammarskjold
- 25. Taare Zameen Par-depicts difficulties faced by children affected by
 - <u>a) Dislexia;</u>
 - b) Amnesia;
 - c) Dementia;
 - d) Paralysis

FREE SOLVED QUESTONS & SUGGESTION ON http://indiaknow.blogspot.com

Answers

Q No	Ans	Q No	Ans	Q No	Ans
1	а	11	d	21	С
2	b	12	b	22	с
3	а	13	b	23	b
4	с	14	а	24	а
5	d	15	b	25	а
6	а	16	а		
7	b	17	С		
8	d	18	d		
9	а	19	а		
10	а	20	С		