18th March 2011, 12:24 PM
Nagaraj.N.D

Eligibility for NET/SET exam after B.Com and M.Com(CS)?

i am nagaraj,i have an qualification in B.com,M.com(cs),so i have an intersted in NET/SET examination.is i elgible to attending that examination.pleas e give me detailed information about that examination.

18th March 2011, 01:13 PM

Default Re: Eligibility for NET/SET exam after B.Com and M.Com(CS)?

The minimum educational qualification required for NET/SET is a masters degree with a minimum of 55% for candidates belonging to general category and 50% for candidates belonging to SC/ST.
If you appear and qualify the SET, you will be eligible to be appointed as lecturer in a particular state whereas, if you qualify NET, you will be eligible to get appointed as lecturer in universities/colleges anywhere in India.
For further information, you must refer to the official website of UGC.
18th March 2011, 01:40 PM
rks@estate

Hiiiiiii,

YES, you are eligibile for NET / SET exam after B.Com. and M.Com. (CS).

Eligibility for NET / SET exam: -

1. Pass M.Sc. OR equivalent Degree Examination in any subjects from a recognized institute / university.

2. Age Limit For JRF = Minimum 19 Years and maximum 28 years.

3. Age Limit For LS = Minimum 19 years and maximum 28 years.

4. Nationality = India

Good Luck & All the Best
18th March 2011, 01:56 PM
kapila Chaudhary

Yes you are eligible for NET exam conducted by UGC.........

Qualification Criteria for NET exam
You must have completed Post Graduation in the desired subject.You must have secured Master’s Degree with a minimum of 55% from any reputed college under UGC recognition. The candidates appearing for last semester exam can even attend NET exam.

Age Eligiblity Creteria -

For Junior Research fellowship – You must be between 19 –28 years of age.
For Lectureship – There is no upper age limit. You should be at least 19 years of age.
22nd March 2011, 06:13 PM

I HAVE DONE B.COM FROM D.U. WITH 51% MARKS SO I WANT TO ASK AM I ELIGIBLE FOR M.COM ? FROM WHERE CAN I DO M.COM ?
28th March 2011, 03:20 PM
vijaypatel54

The minimum educational qualification required for NET/SET is a masters degree with a minimum of 55% for candidates belonging to general category and 50% for candidates belonging to SC/ST.
If you appear and qualify the SET, you will be eligible to be appointed as lecturer in a particular state whereas, if you qualify NET, you will be eligible to get appointed as lecturer in universities/colleges anywhere in India.
31st March 2011, 10:27 PM

I have scored 52.75% in Mcom (Accountacy) from Mumbai University.Am i eligible for appearing NET/SET exam.If not then give me guidance for attempting Net/Set exam.
5th April 2011, 06:04 PM

Is the cadidate eligible for NET & SET for Msc(cs) passed 2002.
6th April 2011, 11:55 PM

i have done b.com & mba in finance..in which stream i should appear for net exam...
7th April 2011, 08:22 AM
devendergora

Smile Re: Eligibility for NET/SET exam after B.Com and M.Com(CS)?

Eligibility for NET / SET exam

1. Pass M.Sc. OR equivalent Degree Examination in any subjects from a recognized institute / university.

14th April 2011, 10:58 AM

I Have completed Mba finance and my age is 30 so am i qualified for the LS post please reply to my question?.....I want to write net and set exam.....
16th April 2011, 01:02 AM
PRINCE_AKG

Originally Posted by Nagaraj.N.D View Post
i am nagaraj,i have an qualification in B.com,M.com(cs),so i have an intersted in NET/SET examination.is i elgible to attending that examination.pleas e give me detailed information about that examination.
if you satisfy this conditions then you are eligible
eligibility

Candidates who have secured at least 55% marks in Master’s Degree OR

equivalent examination from universities recognised by UGC

For Lectureship –You should be at least 19 years of age
there is no upper age limit

for complete information visit the link............

with best regards
16th April 2011, 01:03 AM
PRINCE_AKG

I HAVE DONE B.COM FROM D.U. WITH 51% MARKS SO I WANT TO ASK AM I ELIGIBLE FOR M.COM ? FROM WHERE CAN I DO M.COM ?
if you satisfy this conditions then you are eligible
eligibility

Candidates who have secured at least 55% marks in Master’s Degree OR

equivalent examination from universities recognised by UGC

For Lectureship –You should be at least 19 years of age
there is no upper age limit

for complete information visit the link............

best luck
8th May 2011, 01:20 AM

NET ELIGIBILITY TEST - 55% FOR GENERAL, 50% FOR SC/ST, WHAT ABOUT OBC ?
11th May 2011, 12:02 AM

hi This is ismail
i haVE APPEARED MY MCOM PART I IN 2010-2011 AM I ELIGIBLE FOR NET OR SET
15th May 2011, 11:37 AM

hi i got 50.56 % in M.com am i eligible for set exam or not . please suggest me.
28th May 2011, 09:52 PM
jxsab

Hey friend,

Yeah it is possible for you to appear for the exam as you have done your Master's degree.

1. The candidate must finish their Master's degree from a recognized university with 55% aggregate.For SC/ST/VH/PH candidates it is 505.
  2. The candidates must appear with the subjects of their post graduation only.

The dates for appearing for the exam are mentioned below:

Important Dates:

Date of UGC NET examination: 26th June 2011
Date of UGC NET Notification : 30.03.2011
i) Last date for Applying On-Line 25th April 2011

ii) Last date for receiving the documents at the test center: 2-5-2011

18th July 2011, 12:30 AM

hiiii i got 70% marks in M.com and Pursing PhD also i want to know that is it necessary to clear net also for lecturership ???????????
27th August 2011, 08:16 PM

i have completed my Bcom, i want to know wheather i'm eligible to give NET/SET exams?
30th August 2011, 08:10 PM
nambardar

30th August 2011, 10:18 PM

After M.COM(CS) , you are eligible for NET exam but your degree must be from UGC approved university.

For general and OBC candidate must be hold 55%above in masters degree.

Part time course are not eligible for NET exam.

For Junior research fellowship course your age must be in between 19 to 28 years.

For lectureship ,There is no upper age limit but the Minimum age is 19 years.

31st August 2011, 02:49 PM
cool.cristae

YES, you are eligibile for NET / SET exam after B.Com. and M.Com. (CS).

Eligibility for NET / SET exam: -

4. Nationality = India

30th October 2011, 07:13 PM

how to pass set exam after b.com
24th November 2011, 11:28 AM

i have done my m.com. with 54%, am i eligible to appear for set exam?
15th December 2011, 08:16 PM

I have done my MBA in Finance with 57% but i have 5 gress marks. plz tell me can i eligible or not.
24th December 2011, 09:34 AM

I have passed my BA with 60% in 2005 & MA with 54% in 2008 (OBC) so sir tell me, am I eligible for this NETSET exam & sir please tell me the last date of submission
11th January 2013, 07:31 AM
aryan5107241

NET Stands for National Eligibility Test.

It is a test which is conducted by the University Grants Commission twice every year in the months of June and December for those willing for the post of JRF and Lectureship.

The Eligibility Criteria Required for NET/SET are :

# Educational Qualifications : Post Graduation with a minimum of 55%.

# Age Limit :

a) For JRF : 21-28 Years.

b) For Lectureship : No Age Limit.

# Age Relaxation :

For OBC Category : 3 years

For SC/ST Category : 5 years.

# Nationality : Indian.

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.
20th January 2013, 06:37 AM
nikhinaya

Eligibility for NET / SET Exam:==
Educational Qualifications : Post Graduation with a minimum of 55%.
# Age Limit :
a) For JRF : 21-28 Years.
b) For Lectureship : No Age Limit.
# Age Relaxation :
For OBC Category : 3 years
For SC/ST Category : 5 years.
# Nationality : Indian.
This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.

ALL THE BEST
25th March 2013, 03:33 PM

i have got 70% in B.Com can i apply for SET Exam
25th March 2013, 05:04 PM
sherleytwain

I could have given specific answer if you had given more details especially the percentage in post graduation course. Ultimately that will decide whether you are eligible for National Eligibility Test or not.

National Eligibility Test is conducted by University Grants Commission and it is a national level entrance exam. State Eligibility Test is conducted by all the states in India. The eligibility criteria is same for both the exams.

Both exams are conducted for college lectureship and Junior Research Fellowship. Now its up to you whether you want to appear for NET or the SET entrance exam. The National Eligibility Test is conducted twice in a year while SET completely depends on the state. While states like Maharashtra conducts it twice, some states like Gujarat conducts it only once.

Eligibility for NET

1. The candidate should be Indian passport holder.

2. You can only apply after completing post graduation degree.

3. You should obtain at least 55 percent marks in post graduation.

4. SC/ST candidate will need 50 percent marks to appear for NET.

5. During final year of PG, the candidates are allowed to appear for this exam.

6. But please ensure you can submit the degree in 2 years.

7. Your NET subject would be Commerce.

8. The age limit is 28 years for JRF aspirants.

9. The relaxation given for JRF is 3 years (OBC) and 5 years (SC/ST).

10. There is no upper age limit for college lectureship.
25th March 2013, 05:06 PM
sherleytwain

I could have given specific answer if you had given more details especially the percentage in post graduation course. Ultimately that will decide whether you are eligible for National Eligibility Test or not.

National Eligibility Test is conducted by University Grants Commission and it is a national level entrance exam. State Eligibility Test is conducted by all the states in India. The eligibility criteria is same for both the exams.

Both exams are conducted for college lectureship and Junior Research Fellowship. Now its up to you whether you want to appear for NET or the SET entrance exam. The National Eligibility Test is conducted twice in a year while SET completely depends on the state. While states like Maharashtra conducts it twice, some states like Gujarat conducts it only once.

Eligibility for NET

1. The candidate should be Indian passport holder.

2. You can only apply after completing post graduation degree.

3. You should obtain at least 55 percent marks in post graduation.

4. SC/ST candidate will need 50 percent marks to appear for NET.

5. During final year of PG, the candidates are allowed to appear for this exam.

6. But please ensure you can submit the degree in 2 years.

7. Your NET subject would be Commerce.

8. The age limit is 28 years for JRF aspirants.

9. The relaxation given for JRF is 3 years (OBC) and 5 years (SC/ST).

10. There is no upper age limit for college lectureship.
26th March 2013, 08:08 AM
Shaenma

National Eligibility Test or NET as it is popularly known is conducted by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research and University Grants Commission twice a year for those students who wants to get the Junior Research Fellowship or apply for Lectureship in various universities. You can give this examination in June and December every year.

To sit for the NET exam you must possess any one of the following degree: BS-4 Yr program/BE/BTech/BPharma/MBBS/Integrated BS-MS/M.Sc or its equivalent. In addition to that it is important to secure minimum 55% of marks or above at post graduation level.

For the SC/ST and physically handicapped candidates the percentage to secure is 50% of marks. There is 5% relaxation for them. If you want to apply for lectureship then you need to complete master's degree before 19th September 1991 with not less than 50% of marks again.

For JRF there is an upper age limit of 28 years for the general category. SC/ST/OBC candidates will get a 5 years age relaxation. For Lectureship however there is no upper limit as such.

The main selection will be on the basis of the marks you score in the NET exam. There will be two papers to test your knowledge. One is objective type and the second one is the subjective type. For the second paper you have to choose from a list of subjects:
  1. Chemical Science
  2. Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Science
  3. Life Sciences
  4. Mathematical Science
  5. Physical Sciences

Please Note: The validity of the fellowship programme is one year which means that the student needs to register for the PhD degree within one year from the date of selection.

Cost Of Application Form:-

For General Candidates: Rs. 400/-
For OBC Candidates: Rs. 200/-
For SC/ST/PH Candidates: Rs. 100/-

NET Exam 2013 Date: 4th April 2013

Hope this helps :-> :->
26th March 2013, 12:01 PM
DKG7

Thumbs up Re: Eligibility for NET/SET exam after B.Com and M.Com(CS)?

NET stands for National Eligibility Test

NET Conducted by UGC......

NET Conducted for Two Post:

1..Junior Research Fellowship
2..Lectureship

If you have passed your graduation/master degree with 55% marks then you are eligible for it.........

Final yrs students also eligible for it.......

There is no any Age Criteria for applying Lectureship Post but for Junior Research Fellowship Post age not Exist 28 years this exam.....

For SC/ST :- +5 yrs...

For OBC :- +3 yrs..

Nationality of INDIAN.....

You can Get More Information from Here : Click Here

All the best......
26th March 2013, 02:16 PM
SK@S

i have got 70% in B.Com can i apply for SET Exam
You cannot aply for the SET exams after passing B.COM.
You cannot even apply for the UGC conducted NET exams.

Minimum eligibilty to apply for the UGC NET and the SET exams which are conducted by State universities are:
Post Graduation pass
Minimum 55% marks in Post Graduation for the General and OBC candidates
Minimum 50% marks for the SC/ST candidates

NET Exam is conducted for:
Lecturership
Junior Research Fellowship (JRF)

So first complete your post graduation and try to get minimum 55% marks and than apply for the SET/NET exams
26th March 2013, 05:01 PM

NET/SET stands for National Eligibility Test/State Eligibility Test conducted by UGC for selection of Lectureship and award to Junior Research Fellowship(JRF).

After B.Com. one is not eligible for either NET or SET exam.

The eligible candidate aspiring for NET, must be an Indian National having completed Post Graduation Degree in any stream with 55% marks(50% marks for SC/ST candidate) from a recognised University. There is no upper age limit for those applying for Lectureship but those applying for JRF should be within the age of 28 years.

For more information you may log on to http://www.ugc.ac.in
27th March 2013, 02:45 PM
onlyforyou

Dear Nagaraj,

The acronym for NET is National Eligibility Test.

The acronym for SET is State Eligibility Test.

If, you have 55% marks in your post-graduation, then you are eligible for NET/SET examination.

NET/SET examination is conducted twice every year by UGC(University Grants Commission) for Jrf(Junior Reasearch Fellowship) and Lectureship posts.

The eligibility criteria required for NET/SET examination are prescribed as below:-

* Completion of post-graduation in any track with 55% marks from any UGC recognized university.

* Age limit:- 20-28 yrs for JRF; and no age bar for Lectureship.

* Nationality:- Indian.

NET examination pattern:-

28th March 2013, 12:24 PM
infoysis

Being M.com Candidate your definitely applicable for NET ( National Eligibility Test ).. No Issue with your Qualification ..

Master degree course is the Minimum Academic Qualification to apply for NET Entrance Examination ..

But , the Issue is that you have not Mention you're percentage of marks .. To appear in NET Entrance Examination then you have to Score Minimum 50% Percentage of marks in your Master degree course and Relaxation will applicable for SC/ST candidates for 5% Percentage of marks .. So, If you're score more then 55% Percentage of marks then your applicable for NET Entrance Examination ..

NET stands for ( National Eligibility Test ) and this Examination conducted by University Grants Commission. It is one of the national level entrance exam.

The candidate who aspiring to Become Lecturer then the candidate should qualified in NET Entrance Examination ..

The NET Entrance Examination Conducts Examination for Lectureship and Junior Fellowship Program ..

Master degree course in any discipline with 55% Percentage of marks is Basic Qualification to appear in NET Entrance Examination ..

The candidate who belong from sc/st candidates for 50% Percentage of marks .. and Final year candidate of Master degree candidate may also eligible to apply for this Entrance Examination ..

Basically age criteria is differ from Lectureship and Junior Fellowship Program ..

Only the candidate who have less then 28 years are applicable for Junior Fellowship Program and No Limit for Lectureship Program ..

Upper Age Relaxation for Junior Fellowship Program:-

>> For SC/ST candidates for 5 years
>> For OBC candidates for 3 Years ..

So, If your score more then 55% Percentage of marks then your applicable for NET Entrance Examination ..

All The Best !!!
28th March 2013, 04:05 PM
shrish777

The abbreviation of NET/SET is National Eligibility Test/State Eligibility Test.

Exactly, you are preferable for NET/SET exam; if, you have finished your M.Com(CS) with 55% marks.

NET exam is the national level and SET exam is the state level entrance exam in India for post-graduate opponents who wish to qualify for admission in PhD research and/or university level teaching jobs in India.

The educational qualifications regarding with NET/SET exam is below mentioned:-

* Opponents must be finished master degree with 55% marks from any approved institution.

* Opponents must have an Indian citizenship.

* The age of opponents must be lie in between 21-27 years for Junior Research Fellowship.

* There is no age criteria for Lectureship.

* There is no percentage criteria for this exam.

28th March 2013, 07:48 PM
sanj69

NET/SET - National Eligibility Test/State Eligibility Test conducted by UGC twice every year one in June and other in December for selection of Lectureship and award to Junior Research Fellowship(JRF).

Eligibility of NET/SET exam:-

-The candidate must be an Indian National
-Should have completed Post Graduation Degree in any stream with 55% marks(50% marks for SC/ST candidate) from recognised University.
-There is no upper age limit for those applying for Lectureship but one should be within 28 years for JRF with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

For more information you may log on to http://www.ugc.ac.in
29th March 2013, 01:24 PM

If you have got 55% marks in M.Com then definitely you can apply for UGC NET.

For SC/ST there is 5% relaxation in marks means they only need 50% marks in M.Com for UGC NET.

There is no upper age limit for Lecturership in UGC NET but if you want JRF then you must be below 28 years of age.

UGC NET Exam Pattern:

-Paper I will have 60 multiple choice questions of two marks each.You have to attempt 50 questions.

-Paper II consists of 50 objective type compulsory questions based on the subject selected by the candidate. Each question will carry 2 marks.

-Paper III consists of 75 objective type compulsory questions from the subject selected by the candidate. Each question will carry 2 marks.

For more information visit http://www.ugcnetonline.in
23rd May 2013, 07:57 PM

hie i am studing in 11th ..
what should i do after 12th ?? exams to get into top 20 colleges in india
and what is elligibility criteria for it..
i have decieded to do b.com so can u guide me best colleges
and when is entrance exams are held ??
please please guide me!!
31st October 2014, 04:59 PM

I am studying M.com II yr. but i have to write the III semester now. my percentage is 67%. I am eligible to write this SLAT or NET exams
4th March 2021, 01:47 PM
Maahi14

The qualification criteria is -
Masters or equivalent degree with 55% aggregate.
And if you have completed it with Humanities or computer science and application or such fields so you can apply for NET SET examination conducted by UGC.