22nd April 2015, 02:07 PM
Unregistered

What should I study in 11th among Science and Humanities to make a career in Civil Services? Procedure to appear in IAS exam if pursue 11th Science?

Hello everyone,
I am a student of 10th and I have given the final exams recently. I want to know that which stream Science or Humanities would be better for me in 11th as I am interested in going for Civil Services? At the same time I would like to know that if I take up Science in 11th then what is the procedure I have to follow for appearing in IAS exam?

23rd April 2015, 07:36 AM
Saikiranreddy47475
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What should I study in 11th among Science and Humanities to make a career in Civil Services? Procedure to appear in IAS exam if pursue 11th Science?

If you are interested to go into Civil Services, then, it is best to choose Non-Medical Science stream in your 11th and 12th standard. To be eligible to appear in IAS examination, you must have to complete Graduation degree in any discipline from a recognised university after completion of your 12th standard. Eligibility criteria required to appear in IAS examination is mentioned below :-

1. You must be a citizen of India.

2. You must have obtained a Bachelor's degree or equivalent in any discipline from a recognised university.

3. You must be in between 21-30 years of age. Upper age relaxation is applicable to reserved category candidates as per government rules as mentioned below :-
--> OBC :- 3 Years
--> SC/ST :- 5 Years

4. You must be Physically and Mentally fit.
23rd April 2015, 09:23 AM
GoluBoss
Junior Member+

Default Re: What should I study in 11th among Science and Humanities to make a career in Civil Services? Procedure to appear in IAS exam if pursue 11th Science?

It will not matter much in Civil Service examination as your subjects in these examination are according as your subject in Bachelors degree.
So you can go on with any of the subjects either maths or humanities.