3rd January 2017, 11:52 AM
Unregistered

What should I do to become an IPS Officer? What is the eligibility criteria required and which exam do I have to write?

Respected Sir, I am studying in class 10th and after completing it I have a dream to become an IPS Officer. I want to know what should I study to become an IPS Officer and after that what should I do to become an IPS Officer? What is the eligibility criteria required and which exam do I have to write? Please answer as soon as possible.

7th January 2017, 07:30 PM
Career Expert
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What should I do to become an IPS Officer? What is the eligibility criteria required and which exam do I have to write?

To become an IPS officer, you have to appear in Indian Civil Services examination which is conducted by UPSC. Eligibility criteria required to appear in UPSC IPS examination is mentioned below :-

=> You should be a citizen of India.

=> You should have passed Bachelor's degree or an equivalent examination from a Government recognised university.

=> You should be at least 21 years old and not more than 32 years of age. Upper age relaxation is applicable to reserved category candidates as per government rules.
8th January 2017, 11:25 AM
Abhijeet_2016
Senior Member+

Default Re: What should I do to become an IPS Officer? What is the eligibility criteria required and which exam do I have to write?

As you are a 10th student i will suggest you firstly to complete your intermediate studies with more than 60 % marks either in commerce field or in science as per your suitability. If you want to be in civil service line then you must complete your graduation in Arts field i.e Bachelor of Arts. This bachelor degree will help you in easy gain of the civil service as course is somewhat similar.

Selection of IPS officer is done by:
>> CSAT(civil service aptitude test)
>> Civil Service Main exam
>> Interview

Eligibility
> Candidate must have a degree from recognized university.