2nd January 2010, 06:15 PM
Utkars

IS it necessary to have Maths subject to become an Archaeologist?

Hi, I am a Commerce student. I want to become an Archaeologist. Is this possible? I have heard that it is compulsory to have Maths subject. Please guide me guys. Thanks

6th September 2016, 03:29 PM
goyal.com
Senior Member+

Smile Re: IS it necessary to have Maths subject to become an Archaeologist?

As you want to know is it necessary to have Maths subject to become an Archaeologist here, I am going to tell you the same:

If candidate want to apply in the Archaeology Courses then the graduate level course in Archaeology can be pursued by graduates who have studied History in their class 10+2. As per my knowledge, no it is not compulsory to have Maths subject.

Following is the Archaeology course:

Postgraduate Courses in Archaeology
M.A. (Ancient Indian History and Archaeology)
Diploma Courses in Archaeology
Post-Graduate Diploma in Archaeology
M.A. (Archaeology)

Following is the best institute available:

Delhi Institute of Heritage Research and Management, Delhi

University of Madras

Union Christian College, Ernakulam, Kerala

Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Orissa

Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, Delhi

Awadhesh Pratap Singh University, Rewa, Madhya Pradesh
6th September 2016, 08:32 PM
Sameerthapar123

Default Re: IS it necessary to have Maths subject to become an Archaeologist?

No Maths is not necessary to become an archaeologist, in fact the maths that you studied till now was also not needed for you to become an archaeologist.
The educational requirements to become an archaeologist is that you must have a Master's degree in any field or a doctoral.
Although it can be tough for you to divert from the commerce stream to pursue this career as mostly people who do become archaeologists do bachelors course in archaeology, anthropology etc.