14th July 2010, 08:17 PM
Patil Yogesh

Minimum score for admission in IITs

How much minimum agregate (agregate of his four years engineering course he has completed) percentage does a mechanical engineering candidate required of his admission in IITs if has scored good percentile as IITs required for admission? or Is it different for different IITs, how much it is. Please give details of different IIT institute.

15th July 2010, 12:53 AM

Default Re: Minimum score for admission in IITs

Well, I can guess you are talking about Admission of M.Tech in IIT's

Well if so then for getting IIT's on should have to go through GATE first.

Candidates those who have are first class first passed in there B.Tech or M.sc or we can say those you have at least 60% aggregate can appear for GATE for persuing M.Tech from IIT's, IISC, NIT's etc.

Againg General Candidate have to scored at least 640+ marks in GATE along with at least 95% percentile in GATE.

If any candidate have above qualification then he/she can expect Direct Admission into IIT's.

If someone has 500+ scores along with 95% percentile then he/she can expect admission through Interview.

However, there is much relaxation for OBC/SC/ST/PH candidates.
15th July 2010, 01:12 AM
nitishinmit

for getting admission in iit through gate you have to study very very hard and your score should be very high,if your percentile is above 95 then only you can get admission in any of the iits.......
15th July 2010, 03:09 AM

Originally Posted by Patil Yogesh View Post
How much minimum agregate (agregate of his four years engineering course he has completed) percentage does a mechanical engineering candidate required of his admission in IITs if has scored good percentile as IITs required for admission? or Is it different for different IITs, how much it is. Please give details of different IIT institute.
The details of eligibility for admission to IITs through GATE are available on the respestive IITs' websites.
For direct admission you need to score at least 650 marks and also an aggregate of 7.0 GPA with at least 8.0 in the last two semesters. If your score is below 650 you can be called for written test and/or interview for the admission.
Thank You.
15th July 2010, 08:57 AM
nillu

I think you are talking about M.Tech so for it you should better appear for Gate exams. As far as admission to IITs is concerned you have qualified gate exam with high merit as well as your academic records must be impressive, so as to score over other candidates. There is as such no any minimum score for it.

Best of Luck!!!!!!!!!!!
15th July 2010, 09:34 AM
SJ.18

If you are talking about M.tech from IIT then there are two mode..

~M.Tech.-Full time
-60% marks in aggregate for general category with GATE
-300 score for general category, or (b) 200 score for SC/ST category and 250 score for PH

~ M.Tech.- Full time Direct admission
-B.Tech./M.Sc. or equivalent with very high GATE score
-CGPA of 8.5 or 75% marks in aggregate for general categor
-CGPA of 7.5 or 70% marks in aggregate for SC/ST category.

You have clear their written exam and some entrance exam like GATE and score very high to get admission inIIT.

So, do hard work for this exam.
Good luck
15th July 2010, 10:01 AM
sparkle

To get into the IITs after B.Tech ,you have to qualify for the GATE exam.

The GATE exam is conducted for admission to M.Tech course in different trends in prestigious IITs and NITs in our country.

B.Tech candidates should have at least 60% marks in B.Tech through out for applying GATE.

You have to score at least 90% in GATE to get admitted to IITs or NITs.

All the best!
15th July 2010, 10:05 AM
vaishali14feb

Dear you have to go for GATE exam.And to get IIT you should have 96percentile accordiong to the last year.GATE has an eligibility crieteria of 60%in B.Tech.Last year students were getting DCE for 94percentile.Apply for GATE.
ALL THE BEST
15th July 2010, 12:53 PM
Shagun Makin

For admission in M.tech first of all you have to give gate exam.
And if you got minimum of 98% and above in that gate exam then only you will get admission in M.tech.

Hope you will get 98% and above.

best of luck!!
15th July 2010, 12:59 PM
karthu

hai
The minimum mark required to get into IIT is 55% marks or a CPI of 5.5 ( on a 10.0 scale) in the qualifying exam.
15th July 2010, 01:08 PM

as you complete your b.tech /engg you need to appear for gate exam that is conducted for admission in your pg that i thinkk m.tech you want to pursue
those who qualify gate they are called for the counselling round and seats are allotted

if someone scores 95%in gate then he /she can expect a direct admission
15th July 2010, 03:51 PM

in Btech how much CGPA is required for IITs?
15th July 2010, 03:55 PM

To get admission in M.tech in IIT, then for this you have to appear the GATE entrance exams. Afterclear the GATE exams with good marks and percentage, then you will get
a chance to get admission in IIT's.

If you have scored above 650 marks, then you will get opportunity to get admission in
IIT's. So, if you have scored 60% marks in your b.tech, then you are eligible for appear
in GATE exams.

If you clear the GATE entrance exams, with good percentage, then definately you will get admission in IIT's. But for this you have to work hard, only then you will get sucess in GATE exams................
15th July 2010, 05:35 PM
9A2M00

gate score from this year is taken out of 100.
from any department,minimum score is 25/100.
you have to score that.
15th July 2010, 05:55 PM
9A2M00

try to do the normal gate syllabus.
i am giving you the syllabus,get through properly
Electrical Machines: Single phase transformer - equivalent circuit, phasor diagram, tests, regulation and efficiency; three phase transformers - connections, parallel operation; autotransformer; energy conversion principles; DC machines - types, windings, generator characteristics, armature reaction and commutation, starting and speed control of motors; three phase induction motors - principles, types, performance characteristics, starting and speed control; single phase induction motors; synchronous machines - performance, regulation and parallel operation of generators, motor starting, characteristics and applications; servo and stepper motors.
Power Systems: Basic power generation concepts; transmission line models and performance; cable performance, insulation; corona and radio interference; distribution systems; per-unit quantities; bus impedance and admittance matrices; load flow; voltage control; power factor correction; economic operation; symmetrical components; fault analysis; principles of overcurrent, differential and distance protection; solid state relays and digital protection; circuit breakers; system stability concepts, swing curves and equal area criterion
15th July 2010, 05:58 PM
rohitkumarramesh

As you have completed you engg. there is the only GATE exam through which

you can get any IIT or NIT through this examination . Since the admission in IIT

the minimum percent required is 98% or above. So if you have above this

percentile then you will go for counselling surely you will get a IIT or NIT.
16th July 2010, 12:38 AM
kshitijawadhiya

you must score around 700 marks for a secure seat in iit
there is a relaxtion for obc/sc/st candidates
also we can say that getting atleast 96 percentile can secure you a seat of your choice
14th August 2010, 05:51 PM
drdo99

ngineering is a vast exploration it dosent only requires a good aggerate but also requires a strong interest for it.
it takes a single cut off in each of 3 subjects:
phy
chem
maths
15th August 2010, 02:42 PM
parhitoshika

download it from the official websites of the iit
contact number is also given on the official websites.
every year rank varies.
you can get from sources as told.
15th August 2010, 08:01 PM
ravi k

IITs are the most reputed institutes of technical studies of India.

u have to score very good for admission into these institutes.

u will get admission according to your AIR not your score.

15th August 2010, 09:33 PM
bholag

every year cut off marks varies for IIT.
You have to score good Rank in the exam.
It is one of the reputed exam in India.
Paper for IITJEE is objective type questions.it has three papers MATHS,PHYSICS AND CHEMISTRY.
Don't go for wrong answer ,their is negative marking for each wrong answers.
28th August 2010, 12:30 PM

best of luck guyssssssssssss
31st August 2010, 11:38 AM
princearyan

dear friends,

if you are talking the b.tech course form the iit,

then for that you have to give the iit jee exams.

and after qualifying the exams,

you can get the admission in the iit jee.

and if you are taking about the m.tech then for that you have to give the gate exams,
10th September 2010, 01:10 AM

what is the minimum gate score percentage to take admission in nit.
16th September 2010, 12:55 AM
Sushant Roy

You must have atleast more than 96% in GATE examination and no marks criterian is fixed in GATE exam.
If you see the rank then you must have attained the rank of under 1000.
24th September 2010, 12:38 AM

Minimum score for admission in IIT, Mumbai in EE
14th November 2010, 03:51 PM

if you want to do b.tech in any of the i.i.t.s after xii how much % is required in j.e.e.? please answer soon
14th November 2010, 03:55 PM

how much % is required to do b.tech in any of the i.i.t.s?
15th November 2010, 12:08 AM
priyanka_swengg

for B.tech in IIT's you must come under 2000 rank of IIT results.and if you doesn't have any reservation you must come under 500 for confirm admission.
ALL THE BEST.
15th November 2010, 07:24 AM
nillu

For doing Btech through IITJEE you need to have scored 60% in your 12. below which you will not be able to appear in the exam.
But for other engineering exams oit is not the requirement
15th November 2010, 11:37 AM
tirthak04

you need to score 640+ marks in your GATE and 95% or above for the IIT's ..that is if you are a general candidate. well truth be told the EXACT cut-off varies.. but it is always between 94/95/96% and above.
15th November 2010, 11:39 AM
tirthak04

well friend for the undergraduate programs you need to score 60% overall in your boards with no minimum cut off for PCM block.
But then of course you will have to clear the dreaded JEE too !
for the post-grad. programs, you need 640+ marks in your GATE paper with a 95% above percentage for M.Tech in the IIT's
15th November 2010, 10:51 PM
Rudraprasad

it depends in every year.but you normally need minimum 90 percentile.
15th November 2010, 10:53 PM
Rudraprasad

In 10+2 you need 60% and qualify IIT-JEE.and also you can apper 3 times only.
16th November 2010, 03:19 PM
104sri

dear
for getting admission in IIT through gate you have to study very very hard and your score should be very high,if your percentile is above 95 then only you can get admission in any of the IITs
11th February 2011, 12:56 PM

HOW MUCH MARKS ARE REQUIRED OUT OF 100 TO SURELY GET A SEAT IN IIT WITH CS BRANCH?
26th February 2011, 01:31 AM

how much mark is required out of 100 in GATE 2010 to surely get a seat in IIT for civil engg... branch?
27th February 2011, 01:48 AM
danish_khurana

Lightbulb Re: Minimum score for admission in IITs

you must secure at least 60% in 10+2 class to enter IIT.
and also you must secure very good marks in PCM.

GOOD LUCK...............
27th February 2011, 02:37 AM
wagle

You must have atleast more 60% in PCM in 12th examination .

the no.of attempts is 3 times in IIT.

all the best^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
27th February 2011, 05:26 PM
ankurloonia

As you have completed you engg. there is the only GATE exam through which
you can get any IIT or NIT through this examination . Since the admission in IIT the minimum percent required is 98% or above. So if you have above this
percentile then you will go for counselling surely you will get a IIT or NIT.
Dear you have to go for GATE exam.And to get IIT you should have 96percentile accordiong to the last year.GATE has an eligibility crieteria of 60%in B.Tech.Last year students were getting DCE for 94percentile.Apply for GATE.
13th March 2011, 11:36 AM

I will get 30 in Gate 2011 in Civil Engg. Can I get a NIT seat with this score. Please mail me an answer at [email protected].

By, Prosun Roy
14th March 2011, 09:12 PM
mukul0094

For admission to M.Tech course in IIT you should appear in the GATE exam.
If you get a good score in the GATE exam then i think that you can get a chance to take admission in IIT. I think that if your score in GATE exam is above 600 then you will get a chance to admission in IIT college for M.Tech course. You can apply for GET exam in the final year or after of B.tech.
14th March 2011, 09:14 PM
noddy11

Thumbs up Re: Minimum score for admission in IITs

Hello Friend,
admission in IITs depends on categories:

60% marks in aggregate for general category with GATE

300 score for general category

200 score for SC/ST category

and 250 score for PH
18th March 2011, 08:16 PM

hellow friend i have got 470 marks and percentile 95.34%..... can i get admission in iit through open catagory????? for civil stream.....
22nd March 2011, 12:19 AM

yaar plz reply soon...i scored 241 wid Sc category....can i get d admission in mtech in IIT or NIT???????
23rd March 2011, 03:33 PM
kkanika_14

Talking Re: Minimum score for admission in IITs

Candidates belonging to GE, OBC and DS categories must secure at least 60% marks and candidates belonging to SC, ST and PD categories must secure at least 55% marks in aggregate in the qualifying examination.

Best Of Luck................

~Kanika~
23rd March 2011, 11:37 PM
soumyasmruti

Location: Flat No:- 205, Omm Ville, Shree vihar, BHUBANESWAR, Orissa, India

For admission to IIT's through GATE you will require a minimum 98 percentile or 500 rank in any stream.
24th March 2011, 01:50 AM
amlendu

Well, I can guess you are talking about Admission of M.Tech in IIT's

Well if so then for getting IIT's on should have to go through GATE first.

Candidates those who have are first class first passed in there B.Tech or M.sc or we can say those you have at least 60% aggregate can appear for GATE for persuing M.Tech from IIT's, IISC, NIT's etc.

Againg General Candidate have to scored at least 640+ marks in GATE along with at least 95% percentile in GATE.

If any candidate have above qualification then he/she can expect Direct Admission into IIT's.

If someone has 500+ scores along with 95% percentile then he/she can expect admission through Interview.

However, there is much relaxation for OBC/SC/ST/PH candidates.

thank
25th March 2011, 11:43 PM
asishkumar

To get into IIT you need to score atleast 98 percentile in GATE exam.
there is no other way.
so study hard and try to be conceptually clear in each subject.
26th March 2011, 12:23 AM
rahulvats07

i am a student from bit-mesra (8th sem EEE branch).i had given
gate-2011 and scored
gate rank ----- 2403
gate score---- 488
descipline----- EE
can you please tell me what was previous year gate cuttoff of various nits
for mtech admissions in electrical dept.

please mail any information regarding above to:-

rahul kumar
mobile no :- 09507606644
email id :- [email protected]

thanking you all for your co-operation