7th August 2010, 09:05 AM
raghuraj

Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

hellow sir,
my name is raghu .i finished my school.my aim is to become a ias .so i should complete any degree.so which degree i choose professional degree like enginnering or any other degree.if i choose any other degree means that will be useful for preparing ias from now itself .

30th March 2011, 05:57 PM
rajilakshman

Smile Re: Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

B.A. history wil be a good choice and will be helpful for ur ias preparation
31st March 2011, 09:21 PM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

Originally Posted by raghuraj View Post
hellow sir,
my name is raghu .i finished my school.my aim is to become a ias .so i should complete any degree.so which degree i choose professional degree like enginnering or any other degree.if i choose any other degree means that will be useful for preparing ias from now itself .
Raghu ,

its very happy to read that your aim is to become IAS officer..

i appreciate you..

coming to your question..

Don't worry much about the degree..

for writing UPSC exam

there is no need of specific degree except for IES

coming to civil services you can have any degree of your choice

Its an intelligent move that you want to prepare from right now...

I think its not that necessary from now on..

Even though if you want to select something which is related to your ambition

then degree in history or economics or Mathematics,or geography

will fetch you in your preparation..

apart from this degree concentrate on

General Knowledge

Current Affairs

History

and so on..

be updated with every available matter..

best of luck..

~aditya~
31st March 2011, 10:54 PM
surendergora

Default Re: Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

You can choose any field of your interest and but build strong general awareness while in graduation.
3rd April 2011, 01:28 AM
ashok880

To become a IAS Officer,beter to take Math,Economic,Commerce (MEC) stream for 12th standard,and after take B.com stream in graduation degree.so that this subject will help you lot in IAS exam syllabus.

So start preparation from now onwards,then only you can reach your goal.

ALL THE BEST....

visit official website for more information:

http://www.upsc.gov.in
6th April 2011, 03:08 PM
pops07

Yes you can choose any course for your graduation.

As you already know IAS only requires graduation degree in any stream.

To give IES you need Engineering degree.

So its upon your interest to choose the subjects.

But whatever you choose, keep updated yourself in matters like general knowledge, current affairs etc.

Read newspapers daily and watch news....
7th April 2011, 11:28 AM
kapila Chaudhary

IAS exams are conducted by UPSC.You must have Graduation degree from a recognized university to apply for this exam.
You can choose any stream of your interest,there is not any restriction related to field you are choosing for your Graduation.

For more details,you can refer to the website:
www.upsc.gov.in

Kapila
11th April 2011, 11:08 AM
Deb51

hellow sir,
You have complited 12 standard now you shuld take a graduation degree from an arecognized University with any strem , to succese your aim to beacome an IAS officer.
You can olso take B-tech degree engineering or can take MBBS degree to apply for entrance exam of IAS, which is conducted by UPSC.
14th April 2011, 02:17 PM

HI,i "ve completed my ' 2'and my aim is to go for IAS.whether b.com degree in one year is valid for appearing IAS examination?
14th April 2011, 11:50 PM
Samad M

To become an IAS officer you need not to have any particular degree.You should have any of the UG degree.
If you have passed your +2 with arts or commerce than you can do llb through which you get plenty of knowledge regarding laws,government acts etc
If you have passed your +2 with science than you can go for B.SC,B.E etc.
Better way is to go for B.SC you can gain more general knowledge in this course.
15th April 2011, 08:27 PM
strange_rahul

All subjects have equal importance...
If you wish to become IAS officer then you need to be well prepare for this..
you need to be knowledge about Current Affairs ...
And I suggest to you in which you have interest choose that field....because if you choose your interested field then you will do better....so it is based on you what field you choose.
4th June 2011, 01:03 PM

i want to do bsc wid computerscience ,is it good or i should do B.A for doing ias
10th July 2011, 01:19 PM

just tel me AFTER 12TH which branch of engineering wil be sutable and helpful for become a "IAS OFFICER"............
4th September 2011, 03:34 AM
sanju38121

If you surely want to go for IAS then suitable stream is arts with history, economics,pol. Sci.

16th September 2011, 11:21 PM
amit kumar rithala

u can choose any degree according to ur choice
because FOR IAS exam u have not any specified degree
17th September 2011, 06:39 PM
Bishwajit Giri

Yes,definitely you can appear in IAS(Indian Administrative Services) exam after completing any Bachelor degree after 12th. There is no subject specification to become an IAS.

If you are so interested for IAS,after being Engineers, Doctors, or Ph.d you can sit IAS exam conducted by UPSC.

Application forms will come out in the month of January.

Eligibility Criteria :-

1.Educational Qualification:To appear in IAS exam you should have a Graduation degree in any stream from a recognize University. If you are in final year you can also eligible to apply for the examination.

2.Age:The age must be between 21 to 30 years at the time of appearing of this examination. The age relaxation is also applicable for the candidates belong to reservation category.

The General Studies paper and one Optional paper both the papers are the compulsory paper.

optional paper should be from your bachelor degree's any paper.

according to the list of optional paper are as:
for some questions or subjects follow the link:http://www.iupsc.com/label/ias/
3rd December 2011, 06:58 PM

i want to be an ias officer at present i am presuung bsc with physics .whta should i have to do at this time can i join any institue .
30th January 2012, 02:48 PM

i completed my 12th class and i want to become an ias officier,further what i have to do
1st April 2012, 03:41 PM

sir I completed my 12th and I am very much confused wether to take engineering or arts degree.but I am interested in arts group.will u please help me out.
29th April 2012, 12:35 AM
mithu ashi

For IAS preparation any particular field is not required.
Basic eligibility required is graduation with any subject.
Only passing mark is required.

Required Qualification to appear for Civil Services Exam

-You should have passed Graduation degree in any specialization from recognized Institute.
-You are for civil service exam while in graduation final year.
-UPSC Civil service exam has no restriction on graduation percentage.
-Your Age should be within the limit of 21 to 23 years.
-You must be a citizen of India.

Civil Service Examination has three stages

1st Stage: Preliminary Exam

2nd Stage: Main Examination

3rd(Final Stage): Interview

Prelims:
Current events of national and international importance
History of India and Indian National Movement
Indian and World Geography
Indian Polity and Governance
Economic and Social Development
General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change
General Science.
Comprehension
Interpersonal skills including communication skills;
Logical reasoning and analytical ability
Decision making and problem solving
General mental ability
Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc.) (Class X level)
Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. -Class X level)
English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).

Mains:
Paper-I One of the Indian Languages to be selected by the candidate from the 22 languages included in the VIIIth Schedule to the Constitution (Qualifying Paper):300 Marks
Paper-II English 300 Marks
Paper-III Essay[in the medium you choose] 200 Marks
Papers IV & V General studies(300 Marks for each paper) 600 Marks
Papers VI, VII, VIII & IX Any two subjects (each having 2 papers) to be selected from the prescribed optional subjects (300 marks for each paper) 1200 Marks
Total Marks for Written Examination 2000 Marks
23rd May 2012, 06:39 PM

i finished my12 and am from science stream..... my aim is to prepare for civil services... kindly plzz tell me is it better to proceed for B.A(POL.SCI) or B.A(PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION) as my teacher told me that political science will easily help you to prepare for civils.... so plzz tell me which degree will be useful for preparing IAS
23rd June 2012, 02:12 AM

sir my name is shivam & i have completed my 12th in non medical & i want to opt for bcom togetherwith ias coaching so would there be any problem regarding opting for bcom ?
14th August 2012, 01:09 AM

Sir its adarsh here now I am doing 12th from maths and scienceand my ambition is to become ias so plz recommend. Me about my graduation what I choose further so that I can give my more time to study the syllabus of civil services.
4th November 2012, 08:27 AM

Sir I am doing 12th from maths and science.My ambition is to become Collector plz recommend me.
6th November 2012, 04:02 PM
amber1995

hi raghu
my aim is also to become an ias
and i m in commerce field and have heard that economics and histroy subjects are good for IAS as they are related to the field also
6th November 2012, 06:19 PM
sherleytwain

You can choose any degree. That does not matter. The Union Public Service Commission says that candidate should have a graduation degree to appear for Civil Service Examination. So you are free to choose any degree.

Let me tell you that no degree is gonna help you prepare better for the Civil Service Examination. You can choose any degree. Your degree should be the backup plan, in case you fail to make the cut for IAS.

A total of 10 Lakh candidates apply for IAS every year while only 300 are selected. Therefore it is important that you choose a degree that can help you with job in future if you failed to make the cut for IAS. If you can pursue Engineering, then please do so considering the scope in Engineering. In Engineering I would recommend the following streams. However you are welcome to choose any.

Computer Science Engineering

Mechanical

Civil

Electronics and Communication

Aerospace

To prepare for the IAS you will have to work on your English which will be important. Then there will be General studies paper that will be part of preliminary and final exam. You will have to study NCERT books for Class 12th to prepare for general studies.

For General knowledge, you must read a lot of newspapers and watch news on television to keep track on latest developments from around the world.

There will be four papers in Main exams for which you will have to select two optional subjects. You can choose any two subjects, but the recommendation is to pick that are related to your course.

IAS Eligibility

1. Only Indian nationals can apply.

2. A graduation degree in any discipline.

3. Age limit is 21 to 30 years.

4. Age limit is relaxed by 3 years for OBC.

5. Age limit for SC/ST is relaxed by 5 years.

Exam Pattern

1. Preliminary Exam

2. Main Exam

3. Interview
6th November 2012, 07:29 PM
YADAV URVASHI

hellow sir,
You should do bachler degree rather than engineering
7th November 2012, 07:45 PM
onlyforyou

Hello Friend,

Its nice to see that you have decided to become an IAS Officer.

So , In my opinion , i think that you already know that you can fulfill your dream if you successfully crack the Civil Services Examination.

the Civil Services Examination is conducted every year by the Union Public Services Commission.

First of all you have to acquire the eligibility to appear in the Civil Services Examination.

For this you have to fulfill the Qualifications Required for Civil Services Examination which is set by the Union Public Services Commission.

The Qualifications Required are :

* You must have completed your graduation in any discipline from any recognized college/university.

* Age Limit : 21-30 years.

* Relaxation of 3 years for OBC Candidates and of 5 years for SC/ST Candidates is granted as per Govt. Rules.

* Nationality : Indian.

So , you have the freedom to complete your graduation from any discipline but always keep one thing in mind that this examination is considered as one of the toughest examinations in India.

The Examination is conducted in three phases :

a) Civil Services Aptitude Test or Preliminary Test

b) MAINS Examination

c) Interview Test

The Scheme Of The Examination is :

Hope the above mentioned will provide you the information you were searching for.
24th December 2012, 02:16 PM

myself prem shukla

i am in merchant navy and i m in engine department after 36 months of sailing i will be junior or 4th engineer so after that can i apply for IAS exam.
if yes then how?
and if no then what is the procedure?
please help me with this.
28th January 2013, 06:00 PM
mayankt

If you want to become an IAS officer for that you have to apply for civil services exam only after completing graduation or in final year
Civil Services Exam Will be held in Three Round .
1. Preliminary Exam
2. Main Examination
3. Interview Test
1. Preliminary Exam - This is an objective type questions based test which if the candidate passes, qualifies tothe second phase.
2. Main Exam - This is a subjective type questions based test which if the candidate passes, passes to the third phase after clear this you can go for interview round
ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA
#Qualification
Candidate must have graduation Degree in any stream,No specific marks are required,Final year students are also eligible
#.Age Limits
For gen-21-30 years
For obc- 21-33 years
For sc/st- 21-35 years
#.Attempts
General- 4
Obc- 7
Sc/st- no limit

Best book for Civil services Exam:-
#.CSAT: Interpersonal, Communication, Problem Solving and Decision Making Skills (Paper 2)
by
Shalini Verma
Publisher: Pearson

#.UPSC Portal CSAT Comprehensive Manual: IAS Preliminary Examination 2013 (Paper - 2)
by
Sachchida Nand Jha
Publisher: UPSC Portal

#.UPSC Portal CSAT General Studies Manual: IAS Preliminary Examination 2013 (Paper - 1)
by
Jha, Jha
Publisher: UPSC Portal

#.
Notification for the next exam will come out on 2nd February 2013
Prelims exams will be held on 19th May 2013
Mains will held on
08-11-2013

for Previous Years Question Papers you can refer www.upsc.gov.in
You can fill the online application form fromthe official website www.upsconline.nic.in

Good Luck...
3rd April 2013, 10:42 PM

Hello sir, I am SWATHI from Andhra . I completed my 2. I joined in aerospace engineering but the college I joined is fake so I lost my 1 year I want to take public administration and sociology in mains so which degree is best for me now. I have listen so many people telling that B.A. degree is best then which degree would u suggest sir. my email id is [email protected]
4th April 2013, 12:01 AM
being aman

Eligibility criteria for IAS exams is :

A graduate degree in any stream from a recognized university with.

Age more than 21 and less than 30

Relaxation in age in case of reserved category candidates.

Exams have three phase:

First you have to clear prelims which make you eligible for mains clearing mains will make

you eligible for interview

Knowledge of G.K is very important so start improving it from now onwards. Start working

on subjects which you will opt for this exam.

You can also join reputed coaching institutes at your place so that you can have a

proper guidance for preparing for the exam as this exam have a tough competition.
4th April 2013, 09:33 AM
sanj69

There is no such specific field or stream to be chosen after 12th to become an IAS officer.One has to complete graduation in any stream in which he/she is comfortable.

To become an IAS officer one has to crack Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

The eligible candidate applying for Civil Service exam is called for a preliminary exam also called as CSAT(Civil Service Aptitude Test) exam and the candidate selected out of it is called for the Main exam and the final selection is conducted through personal interview out of candidate seleted from Main Exam.

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
24th May 2013, 08:17 AM

I'm studying in 8th std I wish to became an IAS officer, how can I prepare well?
24th May 2013, 05:46 PM
a k 47

Smile Re: Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

I told you that you do any complete graduation in any stream in which he/she is comfortable.but you doing colledge in B.sc/B.com/B.A.

Because education life in very simple fees.but technical line is some different.and technical colledge fees is high levle.To become an IAS officer one has to crack Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

Attempts
General- 4
Obc- 7
Sc/st- no limit

ALL THE BEST
16th June 2013, 12:04 PM

my name is anisha and i have just finished my 12th standard and i want to become an IAS officer but i don't know which area for getting a degree will be suitable for me.
16th November 2013, 02:57 PM

my name is rishabh srivastava.i'm doing b.a.1st year from open university.can i prepare for IAS examination.plz tell me.
9th January 2014, 11:47 AM

Thumbs up Re: Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

Good to see your anxiety for your goal now coming to your question u should do ba frim a college as it wont burden u and u will get enough time for your preparations and also general awareness is thr key point for your success starting preparing for your goal dont study as a overburdened person study to live your dream all the best
29th May 2015, 09:47 AM

I have completed my intermediate 2nd year(Bi.P.C.)with 94%.I didnot get a seat in medicine.Should I go for long term or do any degree and get trained for civils?In Hyderabad which institute offers civils coaching for science groups so that I can simultaneously do my degree in a reputed college.
20th July 2015, 03:41 PM

Good option is to opt your degree related to CSAT syllabus like History,Geography etc..So that you can utilize your time & study for getting a degree to fulfill your dream. Wish you all the best
20th July 2015, 03:42 PM

Good option is to opt your degree related to CSAT syllabus like History,Geography etc..So that you can utilize your time & study for getting a degree to fulfill your dream. Wish you all the best
20th July 2015, 03:48 PM
Kumartvm1

Opt your degree related to Civil Service syllabus like History,Geography etc that will save your preparation time after Degree. Getting any degree and start preparation after degree is not a good idea if you are sure about aim before joining degree.. All the best
21st July 2015, 06:53 PM
john215

Re: Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

You should have passed Graduation degree in any specialization from recognized Institute.

You are for civil service exam while in graduation final year.

UPSC Civil service exam has no restriction on graduation percentage.

Your Age should be within the limit of 21 to 23 years.

You must be a citizen of India.

For more details you can see below attachment
File Type: pdf CSP_2015_eng.pdf(5.66 MB, 47 views)
21st July 2015, 06:55 PM
john215

Re: Which field to choose after 12th in order to become an IAS officer?

You should have passed Graduation degree in any specialization from recognized Institute.

You are for civil service exam while in graduation final year.

UPSC Civil service exam has no restriction on graduation percentage.

Your Age should be within the limit of 21 to 23 years.

You must be a citizen of India.

For more details you can see below attachment