28th October 2011, 08:56 PM

Can I do BCA and MCA after passing 12th from arts stream?

i am student from arts sream i have these following subject history,economics,english,pol science,physical education i want to do bca , mca so can i do this course from arts stream

3rd March 2012, 01:49 AM

Default Re: Can I do BCA and MCA after passing 12th from arts stream?

i am student from arts sream i have these following subject history,economics,english,pol science,physical education i want to do bca , mca so can i do this course from arts stream

To pursue Bachelors in Computers Application [BCA] from any recognized University, candidate must have passed the +2 level of exam from a recognized board with a minimum of 50% marks along with Physics, Chemistry, Maths and English.

So, students who have completed the +2 level with Arts stream are not eligible for the Bachelors in Computers Application [BCA]. And in same case, Masters in Computers Application [MCA] is the continuity of the BCA, hence candidate from Arts background are unable to apply for the exam.

However, there are some university which offers distance program in BCA who do not hold compulsion of any particular subject such as Sikkim Manipal University, but its not approved by the AICTE.
10th May 2012, 01:33 PM

Originally Posted by unregistered View Post
you made the biggest mistake in ur life dear
u should have opted for information technology.....
Never mind learn from ur mistakes......its a lesson for others
2nd June 2012, 10:48 AM

So wht can i do from art stream
2nd June 2012, 11:42 AM

46% in Art stream in 12th. Can I admission in regular colledge
2nd June 2012, 11:44 AM
Shaenma

BCA eligibility criteria:-

The candidate should be passed with 50% marks in 10+2 with Mathematics as one of the subjects (As per Kurukshetra University Norms). The admissions will be done purely on merit basis. The applications will be sorted and on the basis of %-age of marks the admissions will be done.

Its vital to have mathematics as one of your subjects in the +2 level. Since you dont have that you are not eligible unfortunately to sit for the BCA exam. Tough luck
2nd June 2012, 12:15 PM
kkkirti

Hi, after completing 12th from arts you are not eligible for bachelor in computer application BCA.
But dont worry there are also another option for you.
You can take admission in BBA bachelor of business administration and after that can go for mba.
You can make your career in Hr, Hotel mgmt, sales and mktg.
Best of luck.
6th June 2012, 01:44 PM

Default Re: Can I do BCA and MCA after passing 12th from I.T (vocational) stream?

How Many Marks need FOR B.C.A OR M.C.A...?in 12th plz. tell me
16th June 2012, 03:16 PM

SC/ST FOR 45% AGGREATE AND OTHERS 50% AGGREATE
16th June 2012, 10:08 PM
amit_shelu

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sorry dear passing 12th from arts stream does not allow u to opt for BCA.

Minimum criteria for BCA for any institute -
12th with physics, chemistry, maths with minimum 50% marks.
17th June 2012, 12:17 AM
RISHU_RITESH

ya why not, you can do bca after 12th from arts stream because there is no restriction in them that the condidate must have science stream .
you can do bca from a regular program or a distance learning program.your mark must be 60% or above.
so dont mention it.
when u cmplt ur bca then u can complete mca easily.
7th July 2012, 08:42 PM

can i do bca after 12 passed in maths subject
14th August 2012, 03:47 PM
Onkar Kaur

My dear friend,

Because Maths is compulsary subject that the candidate must read while pursuing 10+2 and you have not taken that, that's why you are not eligible for BCA.

One must have the subject of MAths at 10+2 level if he/she wants to pursue BCA.

Similarly, if one want to get admission in MCA then graduation in BCA is must.

Sorry dear.
14th August 2012, 09:48 PM
joyshreenath

I am afraid dear, but you are not eligible for BCA or MCA courses in a regular course. In any regular course that is taken by any regular mode university, your higher secondary course must have Mathematics as one of the important subject combination. Also your stream must be science to able to apply in a college.
But do not worry. If you really want to do BCA and you are really concerned about it, then you go for distance mode of education. Check IGNOU University website www.ignou.ac.in or you can call at one of the IGNOU study centers on the number-(033) 2281 0964. IGNOU BCA eligibility is just 12 standard degree and no bar is there for science or other stream. So you can try this.
15th August 2012, 04:18 PM
guri kaur

hi...!!!!

--> I am sorry to say my dear friend that you are not eligible for BCA and MCA.

-->Because mathematics is compulsory subject that the candidate must read while pursuing +2 and you have not taken that,that's why you are not eligible for BCA.

-->So,maths should be there in +2 if you want to go for BCA and further for MCA.

-->So in the same way graduation in BCA is neccessary if you want to go for MCA as post graduation.

so,sorry dear you are not eligible.

15th August 2012, 10:21 PM
rch91

As you have not done your 12th with maths as one of your subject so you are not eligible for BCA i.e. bachelor of computer application as it is must to have maths at 12th level as per eligibility criteria of BCA and further MCA too.
But there are some universities may be distance learning which does not follow this criteria so you can pursue your BCA from there.Otherwise there are many other courses too after 12th arts which you can pursue like BA,Bcom etc and after that go for IAS,IPS exams.Dont loose heart,many opportunities are there.
~Best wishes~
15th August 2012, 10:30 PM
vishwasourabh

Thumbs up Re: Can I do BCA and MCA after passing 12th from arts stream?

can i do bca after 12 passed in maths subject

MCA

Should be passed wth 50% in any recognized Bachelor's Degree of minimum 3 year's duration in any discipline with Mathematics at 10 + 2 level.
OR
Should be a passed with 50% marks in any recognized Bachelor's Degree of minimum 3 year's duration in any discipline with Mathematics as one of the subjects.

(for more details check www.hscs.org website for Admission through Online Central Counseling to be organized by the Haryana State Counseling Society, Panchkula)

AND

check forms for Admission in Management/NRI seats click APPLY FOR MANAGEMENT SEAT

BCA

should be passed with 50% marks in 10+2 with Mathematics as one of the subjects (As per Kurukshetra University Norms). The admissions will be done purely on merit basis. The applications will be sorted and on the basis of %-age of marks the admissions will be done.
28th December 2012, 08:19 PM
MAKES 25

Lightbulb Re: Can I do BCA and MCA after passing 12th from arts stream?

DEAR FRIEND,

AFTER 12TH ARTS YOU CAN JOIN B.C.A.BUT YOU HAVE MINIMUM ACHIEVE 50% IN 12TH EXAM.

B.C.A STANDS FOR BECHELOR OF COMPUTER APPLICATION,AND M.C.A STANDS FOR MASTER OF COMPUTER APPLICATION.

B.C.A AND M.C.A IS GENERALLY 3 YEARS.

with best wishes of Makes 25.
2nd June 2013, 09:03 AM
sunny_19

No it cannot be possible to do BCA after 12th in arts .To pursue Bachelors in Computers
Application [BCA] from any recognized
University, candidate must have
passed the +2 level of exam from a
recognized board with a minimum of
50% marks along with Physics,
Chemistry, Maths and English.
2nd June 2013, 03:11 PM

Those who have passed 10+2 with Maths as one of the subjects are only eligible to apply for BCA course.

And for MCA course you must have studied maths as a subjects in the Graduation with 50% marks. The percentage criteria may be little higher for some Universities.

So if you have studied maths in 10+2 then definitely you will be eligible for BCA course.

The admission into these courses will be based on the entrance examination conducted by the University. Those who get good rank will get top college after counselling.

Some of the top BCA colleges are:

-Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra

-Christ College

-Madras Christian College

-Stella Maris College

-Department of Computer Applications, SRM University

-Maharani Laxmi Ammanni College for Women

-MOP Vaishnav College for Women

-Mehr Chand Mahajan DAV College for Women

-Loyola College

-GLS Institute of Business Administration
2nd June 2013, 08:56 PM
Nishchal gupta

HAI,,,,,,,,,,,,
dear charted accountant programme is recognized and accredited by higher educational authorities,this course is excellent course ,if you complete this course in 3.5 years of time according to your talent than you will be more advantageous than other accounting qualifications.
if you will do this course you will be specialized in
auditing,
taxation,
and accounting,
you have good specializations in this course like
auditing,
cost accountancy,
accountancy,
taxation,
you have to cross three stages to complete this course
stage1:-CPT (common proficiency test)
stage2:-IPCC(integrated professional competence course)
stage3:-articleship and final course
mainly you have to cross the CPT exam,
this entry level exam is much more important to you ,
eligible for writing the entrance test CPT
you must pass 10+2 to eligible for this exam, you may also have any kind of degree from recognized university to eligible for this exam,
the date of the exam is on 17th june ,2012.and you have to send the application forms before 25-04-2012. the date of the exam for december not yet received.
you have to pay the application forms in
the branches at which you are going to pay is
Mumbai,
new Delhi, Chennai,
kolkata,
THE SYLLABUS FOR THE CPT.
fundamentals of accounting,:- this carries 60 marks
merchant laws :-this carries 40 marks , you have to attempt in two hours
general economics:-50 marks
quantitative aptitude:- 50 marks , you have to attempt this two in two hours.
you have to get 50% of marks to qualify for the nest round .
you have to complete your registration before 2 months or more than that.
eligibility for the IPCE
you have to pass CPT and 10+2 exam to get eligible,
you have to enroll for this examination at 9 months before examination,after registration for the IPCC you have to take 100hours ITT course with ICAI.
subjects fort he IPCC
GROUP-1
accounting,
law ethics and communication,
cost accounting and financial management,
taxation
part-1:income tax,
part-2:service tax and VAT,
GROUP -2
advanced accounting,
auditing and assurance,
information technology and strategic management
section:a:information technology,
section:b:strategic management
after passing the IPCE you are going to enter into the final course called ARTICLESHIP
to write the articleship you should pass at least group-1 of IPCE and should have completed ITT of 100 hours.
after the articleship you have to write the final course
syllabus for the final course
group-1
financial reporting,
strategic financial management,
advanced auditing and professional ethics,
corporate laws and secretarial practice
group-2
advanced management accounting,
information systems control,
direct taxes,
indirect taxes,
duration of this entire course is 4 years time and you will pay 3,00,000 lakhs for this entire course in the good colleges.
some of the jobs you are going to get afetr your CA COURSE LIKE
FINANCE MANAGERS,
FINANCIAL ANALYSIS,
FINANCIAL PLANNING,
FINANCIAL ADVISERS,
DIRECTORS,
FINANCIAL CONTROLLERS,
so , you have to prepare well for this exam,
3rd June 2013, 09:08 AM

BCA/MCA - Bachelor of Computer Application/Master of Computer Application

Generally candidate from Science stream having studied Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics in 12th standard with 50% marks, is eligible to apply for BCA course.

Hence candidate having completed 12th Arts is not eligible to apply for BCA but candidate having studied Mathematics in 12th Arts level can apply for BCA in some selected Institutions.

The admission is conducted on the basis of entrance exam.
3rd June 2013, 05:44 PM
amit8570861100

sorry dear you are not elligible to do bca because this course is for those students who have passed class 12 by following subjects(physics,chemistry,math,english).i am sorry to say you are not elligible
22nd August 2013, 02:20 PM

I am student from arts stream i have read following subject Informatics practice,Economics,pol science,English, Hindi and physical education in class 12th.I want to do BCA can I am eligible for this course.
26th November 2013, 09:32 PM

I have a problem that I am a student of arts and my subjects are political science, education, history so can I able to do bca and mca from IGNOU?
24th December 2013, 01:40 PM

can i do bca and mca after passing 12th from science stream with physics , chemistry , math and computer science ?
1st April 2014, 03:53 PM

THANK You
1st June 2014, 06:29 PM

can i do Bca and Mca after passing 12th from arts, my subject is computer science
23rd June 2014, 04:32 PM

can i do mca by taking commerce in 11 and 12 with math and information tecnology
19th September 2016, 08:07 AM

Can i do bca or mca if i opted these subs(comp.sci.,english,history&pol.sci.,hindi) in 2 arts stream.Am i eligible or not plz tell me
20th September 2016, 06:21 PM
Suraj Singh 7494

Yes you can go for the BCA after your 12th with arts subjects. After completing your 12th with arts subjects you can go for the BA also.
BCA (Bachelor of Computer Application) is a 3 years graduation course dealing with Computer applications. For this candidate must completed his 12th with at least 50% marks from a recognized board.
24th September 2016, 01:11 PM
Preeti @

General eligibility criteria for applying BCA course is that you must completed your higher degree(12th) or equivalent from recognized board with at least 50% marks and having Mathematics as a main subject while some institute drop minimum percentage requirement . So if you have studied Maths in 10+2 then you are eligible for BCA.
For MCA you must studied Maths as a subject in graduation with at least 50%.
24th May 2017, 03:29 PM

Sir, I am art student and I am following subject English, economic, Hindi,civic and sociology so can i do mca courses
You can suggest me please.
5th June 2017, 04:47 PM

I want to know about IAS, after what class can go for it and how much percentage need to join this n about fees also.
17th May 2021, 10:39 AM

I have done my 12 th in arts strem and my subject is economics, hindi, english, panting, political science so, can i di BCA after my 12 th.
22nd June 2021, 03:25 PM
Iffa0786

Yes,you can do BCA and MCA after passing 12th fr Arts stream.
BCA eligibility:-Candidates must have pass 12th with minimum 50%marks

BCA duration-3 years.
BCA full form- Bachelor's of Computer Application.

MCA eligibility- Candidates must have passed Graduate with any stream with minimum 50% to 55 %marks.
MCA duration-2 years.