6th January 2011, 01:47 PM

Eligibility criteria for becoming a teacher in colleges/schools?

Respected Sir/Madam,
I have done my Masters in English in 1990 with 53.6% and followed it with a PhD in English Literature in 1998 from C.C.S. University, Meerut(formerly known as Meerut University). I would like to know if I am eligible to apply in any college with this percentage. Also do I need to clear NET exam since my percentage is not 55%. Please guide. I have 1.5 years of experience of teaching in DPS and around 3 years at National Public School, Jagadhari, Haryana. Apart from that I have engaged myself in different assignments based on time availability.But I have experience of college teaching .

6th January 2011, 05:27 PM
subho19

Default Re: Eligibility criteria for becoming a teacher in colleges/schools?

it is a great idea,you can apply for SSC exem or Primary teachers exem...
otherwise complete a m.tech or phd degree and join with a college or university...
6th January 2011, 07:40 PM
tan7

first keep in mind that for teaching v require a B.ed degree as wel
6th January 2011, 10:28 PM
dreksha chaudhary

Cool Re: Eligibility criteria for becoming a teacher in colleges/schools?

hello dear,

According to my view you you go for graduation and do B.Ed in your interesting subject which you want to be a teacher

Further if you are interested in study you can also do M.Ed.

Good luck.....................
12th February 2011, 09:46 AM
sparkle

I think you are eligible to join govt schools or institutions. As you have done Master's course you can be a lecturer in Govt or private colleges.

It would be better if you had done B.ed course also, which is necessary in some of the Govt institutions.

With so many years of experience in teaching field, i am sure that you can get a post of professor in any college.

Best of luck!
13th February 2011, 04:09 PM
akki89

Respected Sir/Madam,
I have done my Masters in English in 1990 with 53.6% and followed it with a PhD in English Literature in 1998 from C.C.S. University, Meerut(formerly known as Meerut University). I would like to know if I am eligible to apply in any college with this percentage. Also do I need to clear NET exam since my percentage is not 55%. Please guide. I have 1.5 years of experience of teaching in DPS and around 3 years at National Public School, Jagadhari, Haryana. Apart from that I have engaged myself in different assignments based on time availability.But I have experience of college teaching .

You can apply in any university for the post of Asst. Professor

and as you also have the teaching experience you will get the

priority over the other candidates applying for the same post.

Also there is no need to appear for NET examination as it is generally

given by the students to apply for Ph.D. degree which you already

have.

You can also apply for Kendriya Vidyalaya PGT(English) post as you fulfill

the criteria and your work experience of school teaching for 6 years will

surely go in your favor for getting the job.

Thank you...
9th March 2011, 10:42 PM

I have complete 12th in 2003, i have D. ed. from M.P. i belong to m.p., but i want to become a teacher in haryana. please suggest me. how can i become a govt. teacher in haryana.

Thanks & Regards,
Umesh
5th April 2011, 10:33 PM

Eligibility criteria for becoming a Computer Teacher in a College ?
12th April 2011, 04:33 PM

can we appear for net exams after doind Mcom private or from IGNOU?
2nd May 2011, 04:51 PM

i have done textile engineering and has 8 years of experience in garment industry. can I become work experience teacher i KENDRIYA VIDYALAYA
13th May 2011, 06:45 PM

what is the scope of diploma in software engineering
28th May 2011, 09:33 PM

M pursuing b.sc(H) computer science from University of Delhi..3rd year..What should i do to get a teacher job in University of delhi???? please guide..
thanxx
23rd June 2011, 01:11 AM

I have done B.Tech in Electrical and electronics engineering and now I am pursuing M.Tech in Engineering physics (final year) and i want to do a teaching job in a college or school... What should I do for that??
29th July 2011, 12:09 AM

i have been teaching in a school for around 11 years but now the school wants B.ed degree. is it still important. my experience won't matter. i have not done b.ed. pease suggest accordingly.
31st July 2011, 09:21 PM
brijeshgzp123

have.

Good luck
31st July 2011, 11:57 PM

I have completed B.Com (H). If i completed M.Ed in education with 55% am i eligible for the qualify for net ?what is the max age to sit net?
5th August 2011, 06:42 PM

i have done ba from bikaner university and i want to become a teacher of govt school in delhi would u tel me what can i do?
5th August 2011, 08:05 PM
ssredhu

What are the steps to a teaching career?

If you've ever wondered if a teaching career was for you, read on to learn some tips on how to find out.

1. Research different teaching careers: Talk to teachers, volunteer in a classroom, and evaluate your strengths and experiences. To learn more about different teaching careers, choose a career guide or teaching specialty on the right.

2. Talk to teachers: Read some of our teacher interviews to get a feel for what age group and environment you'd prefer:

Early Childhood Education Student Interview
Early Childhood Education Principal Interview
Elementary Education Student Interview
Elementary Teacher Interview
Special Education Teacher Interview
High School History Teacher Interview
Private School Science Teacher Interview
K-12 Music Teacher Interview

3. Research your state's teacher certification requirements: Requirements to become a teacher vary by state. Most states have several levels of credentials for teachers and varying certifications based on the age group and subject you plan to teach. Find online and campus-based certification programs in our extensive school directory.

4. Earn your bachelor's degree: A broad liberal arts undergraduate education will help prepare you to become a teacher. All states require at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, and some states require a master's degree. Learn about teaching degrees by selecting a teaching specialty in the box to the right.

5. Complete an accredited teacher education program: More and more, states are requiring certified teachers to hold master's degrees before they can become a teacher...or shortly thereafter. Across the country there are hundreds of master's degrees in teacher education, and no two are the same. Find the one-to-two year post-baccalaureate program that's right for you in our extensive school database.

6. Pass teacher examinations: You'll need to pass either a state test or the widely used Praxis exam to become a certified teacher.
5th August 2011, 08:13 PM
samir14

I have completed B.Com (H). If i completed M.Ed in education with 55% am i eligible for the qualify for net ?what is the max age to sit net?
You are eligible to qualify for NET if you can score 55% (50% for The Scheduled Caste ( SC ) / Scheduled Tribe ( ST ) / Physically Handicapped ( PH ) / Visually Handicapped ( VH ) category) or more in M.Ed.

The maximum age limit for this exam is 28 years with a relaxation of 5 years for SC / ST / OBC / PH / VH categories and to women applicants
5th August 2011, 10:01 PM
Lyk23

hi Sir,

* Absolutely sir ! you are eligible .

* You can apply in any university for the post of Asst. Professor.

* You can also apply for Standard schools post as you wish.

* you can join government schools or institutions. As you have done Master's course you can be a lecturer in Govt or private colleges.

* you have good experience in teaching , i am sure that you can get a post of professor in any college.

* i hope you got the idea.

good luck!
6th August 2011, 01:48 AM
suchiii

For teaching in a school ,college you have to done B.ed ,its for government school,college.If you want to become lecturer you have to done any professional courses like Btech,Mtech ,MCA .
14th October 2011, 12:08 AM

I have completed MA(history) with 54%,MA(POLITICAL.SCIENCE)with 59%, MA(education)with 59%,B.ED with 64%.I have 11 years
teaching experiences.Now I want to became BED college lecturer.MY age is 40. Can I became a lecturer in BED college?
14th October 2011, 01:06 AM
imcool.force

HI dear,

have.

You can also apply for Kendriya Vidyalaya PGT(English) post as you fulfill

the criteria and your work experience of school teaching for 6 years will

surely go in your favor for getting the job.

26th February 2012, 08:37 AM

How tn do phd if mcom 53percent ,
20th March 2012, 11:38 AM

I AM A GRADUATE BA PASS IN 2003 FIRST CLASS AND IS PURSUING NPTT FROM APOLYTECHNIC OF ONE YEAR . I WANT TO BECOME A PRIMARY SCHOOL TEACHER .MY AGE IS THIRTY TWO YEARS.KINDLY ADVISE
30th May 2012, 11:48 AM

I've completed my UG degree in Mathematics(regular) with 65% marks, M.A., English Literature(distance) with 60% marks and M.Phil in English(distance) with 64% marks. Now i'm working as an ASsst.Prof in an Engineering college. Am I eligible to work in an Engg. College? What is the eligibility criteria to work as an Asst.Prof in an Engg. clg?
31st May 2012, 08:24 PM

I HAVE PASSED B.COM. FROM UNIVERSITY OF MUMBAI IN 1996 WITH 47%, M.COM. FROM UNIVERSITY OF PUNE IN 1999 WITH 56%, M.PHIL. FROM ALAGAPPA UNIVERSITY IN 2007 WITH 58%, APART FROM THAT I HAVE A TEACHING EXPERIENCE OF 15 YEARS FOR TEACHING COLLEGE STUDENTS. AM I ELIGIBLE FOR APPROVAL FROM UNIVERSITY OF MUMBAI TO TEACH IN ANY OF THEIR AFFILIATED COLLEGES AS A FULL TIME LECTURER ?
4th July 2012, 04:05 PM

I have completed my MSc.Microbiology with first class from mumbai univeristy, have an experience of 4 years teaching in a private college for BSc. students.My parents tell me to fo BEd and join any junior college or high school .Kindly suggest me .I have written NET twice but couldnt clear.
11th July 2012, 05:28 PM

Respected Sir/ Madam
i have done my Graduation in IT and Post graduate in MCA so whether i am eligible for teaching in college or i need to give NET exam for became a college professor.and also whether i will be a temporary or permanent professor.

22nd July 2012, 02:28 AM

I have passed my normal graduation from calcutta university and completed my M.A.in Hindi from Bhim Rao Ambedkar University Agra and doing M.Phil from Manav Bharati university , now can i try for becoming a professor in college after PHD in Hindi, but I do not have the Hindi Subject in Graduation
18th August 2012, 11:54 PM

hello sir i want to bcom a lecturer in english but is it necessary dt i shud belong to english deprtmnt coz i hv chosen maths bt i do hv english as a complimnt subject...? plz help me
19th August 2012, 11:27 AM
i am sure

Eligiblity criteria For Teacher-

first of all you have to completed your graduation in any stream with minimum 55% mark from recognized university.

When you will have completed your graduation then you can do B.ed after B.ed you can apply in any school for practice.
13th September 2012, 02:05 PM

I have completed my schooling from open school and also done B.A(English) from open university? Am I elilible to became a teacher?
29th September 2012, 03:58 PM

I have done my B.com. in 1994 with 62% from Bombay University, then in 1996 I have done D.ED. From last 14 years I am working as an undergraduate teacher in an Govt.aided school. As per
RTE am I consider to be a graduate or still I have to do B.A newly?
2nd October 2012, 11:23 PM
Arjun Kumar Thakur

sir you are eligibile for teaching both in school/colleges.
*** ELIGIBILITY FOR SCHOOL ***
F YOU HAVE COMLETED YOUR GRADUATION THEN YOUR ARE ELIGIBLE FOR TEACHING BUT NOW SOME SCHOOL ASKED FOR B.ED DEGREE BUT NO PROBLEM BY SEEING YOUR MASTER DEGREE THEY MAY APPOINT YOU.
*** ELIGIBILITY FOR COLLEGES ***
YES, YOU ARE ALSO ELIGIBLE FOR TEACHING IN COLLEGES YOU HAVE COMPLETED YOUR MASTER. MOST OF THE COLLEGES ASKED FOR THIS ONLY
17th October 2012, 09:21 PM

Respected , sir.
I am completed my B.Sc in Botany and M.Sc in Biochemistry and B.Ed with method science and math.
Should I eligible for higher secondary teacher for biology subject ? In maharashtra.
(Biochemistry is under life science dept. In my University, nmu )
18th January 2013, 02:32 PM

Hello sir/mam,

I have completed my post graduation diploma in management(Aicte approved) degree this year with 75% and also i have completed my mcom degree but my percentage is 53% in mcom...Currently im working with a multinational company in a marketing department,but in future i want to pursue my career as a professor...If i will get a start from degree college also im fine with it..Please guide me how should i go about should i apply for NET exam?
23rd July 2013, 02:00 AM

sir i m doing b.a hons (english) n if i do m.ain english n b.ed correspondence will i be eligible for bcming a lecturer in a degree colleg?
26th April 2014, 06:26 PM

I have completed my M.com in management with 60%. I want to get myself in teaching field.I want to know is I am eligible to teach in schools or colleges in management subject?Or I need to clear any eligibility exam to teach in Kolkata ?
16th January 2015, 12:16 PM

I have completed my 12th(commerce) from army school and now I am doing bcom proffesional from khalsa college amritsar, I m very good in economics and business studies so plZ suggest me what I will do after graduation ....sir, my aim is to become a government lecturer in school....so suggest me plzzzzz....
22nd May 2015, 05:43 PM

I have completed b.a with 44 % , m.a (distance) with 52%, bed with 59% am i eligible for teaching in bed college?
15th June 2015, 02:14 AM

I have done Mba from pune.. Working in Stock market.. From last 7 years.. My b Com % is 41. Now I am 33. Want to be a professor or Techer... What is the criteria..
15th June 2015, 02:33 PM
shivani sawarn

Hey There,

Yes, you are eligible for becoming a teacher in colleges/schools, according to your qualifications.

The eligibility criteria for becoming a teacher in colleges/schools are mentioned below:-

1. Completion of graduation in any stream with 55 percent marks from any recognised university.

2. Completion of post- graduation in any stream from any recognised university.

3. Completion of B.ed from any recognised university.

4. Require teaching certification.

5. knowledge of English language.

11th September 2015, 01:02 PM

what is the criteria for teaching in junior college i hav completed my bsc in microbiology with 70% and currently doing B.Ed and can you plzz tell me the payscale of teachers in schools and junior college.
30th November 2015, 01:56 AM

Hi, I have done Msc in first division then BEd also in first division and having five years of teaching experience .I want to teach in BEd college. For that I have to do MEd also?
17th December 2018, 11:32 PM

I have completed my graduation. I have also completed distance MBA from welingkar and have 6 years of work Experience in corporate.
I want to teach students of junior college.
What else qualification is needed?