Health Care And Hospital Management

INTRODUCTION

Health care managers and administrators oversee and direct the running of hospitals, nursing homes and health care facilities. They are in charge of facilities, services, programs, staff, budget, and relations with other organizations. For all these years it was medical practitioner who handled this extra responsibility along with paramedical staff almost without any formal training. Today the management of hospitals and health services has assumed a professional status.

NATURE OF WORK

Chief executive officers of hospitals also called hospital administrations are responsible for facilities, management of staff, equipments, and auxiliary services. They are responsible for recruitment of staff, supervision of the day to day work, maintenance and upkeep, replacement of equipment, handling budget and making schedule for fee payments. They are involved in space allocation, preparations of roasters for duty, maintenance and repair of building and equipments, providing work facilities to employees, turnover of laundry etc.
In matters pertaining to expansion, restructuring, policy planning they work with the board of governors. They execute the decisions of the board often undertaking the entire responsibilities of large projects.
Inservice training schedules, community programmes and inhouse meetings are other important activities of hospital managers.

WORK ENVIRONMENT

The job is office based though it requires constant visit to various hospitals, departments and community centres. There are several ways in which managers may administer and monitor the ongoing functioning of the service provided. There is a frequent amount of communications with the staff hence the office of the admistrator is kept busy at all times. Emergency service may demand the mangers assistance at unearthly hours also.

PERSONAL CHARACTERISTICS

Ability to deal with people from diverse backgrounds is an essential quality of hospital administrators. They should hence be sympathetic, tactful and patient listeners. Problem solving is required at all times hence the ability to be a team leader with a positive approach is essential. Hospital administrator must understand organizational development, financial budgeting, material management, medical equipments purchasing and maintenance, building regulations and above all must have good public relation skills. Interest in service, healthcare and welfare are at the core of this profession.

33 Responses to “Health Care And Hospital Management”

1. 33
    vijayanu:

I have done MBA (HCS) from SMU and now I want to do Ph.D in Health/Hospital Adm./Public health etc. from the Indian Govt. recognized Institutes.

Can you please give suggestions on this.

2. 32
    Sudhir:

I have done MBA (HCS) from SMU and now I want to do Ph.D in Health/Hospital Adm./Public health etc. from the Indian Govt. recognized Institutes. Please Guide.

3. 31
    kaynatkhan:

which is good.mba in hospitalmanagement or administration

4. 30
    gazala:

sir, i want to know the difference between health care management and hospital management

5. 29
    krishnamohan:

I am a B A aged 54 years with a percentage of more than 60. I am interested in doing an MBA in Hospital administration either through distance mode or from any institute located in Hyderabad. can u advise me the options.

Krishnamohan

6. 28
    Jawed Akhtar:

Sir,i want to know that difference between health care management and hospital management

7. 27
    Khushnoor:

M stdying in b.sc part-2…i also wnt to do hospital management course..so how can i take admission?and plz tell me about hospital management course,so plzzz give information about it…

8. 26
    Merin:

How do I prepare for the Entrance Exam for M.A. Hospital Management in TISS?

9. 25
    shivani:

how can i get scholarship for p.h.d. in hospital mnagement? write now i m puruing my mba(H.A.). i want to do p.h.d. from my own field.and how many colleges provide p.h.d. program….

10. 24
    sachin:

how to prepare for MHA enterance exam

11. 23
    sweety:

syllabus for preparation of hospital management entrance exams of different institutes please answer soon

12. 22
    roshani shah:

can i do mba after bds? if yes what all i need to do?

13. 21
    deepak kumar sahoo:

hallo,i m deepak. nw i m physiotherapy student. i want to know about the syllabus,exam schedule for hospital management entrance? how much seat in AIIMS for hospital management? which exams are conducted for hosapital management? previous year questions. counselling chart of previous entrance result. kindly send these to my email id.

14. 20
    kamal singla:

hello,can you please tell me syllabus for hospital administration entrance?

15. 19
    Sonali majumdar:

Top 50 institutes for mba in health care

16. 18
    shruthi:

hello… i am pursuing my bsc final year.. after this i want to do mba in hospital and healthcare management.. i just wanna know about this course and the job perspectives..

17. 17
    Umesh aparnathi:

Hi ,
    i want to know about the entrance exam for mba in hospital management in 2011 of all top institutes in india .
    also know about list of institution.
    plz , reply as much as fastly possible.

18. 16
    Preeti singh:

I am a bsc chem student and done post graduate diploma in hospital administration. now i want to do masters in hospital administration. for that i want to now the list of colleges, fee structure, exam date, admission procedure and is it available parttime, does parttime is valuable.

19. 15
    venu Gopal:

I want to know the hospital management entrance exam date for 2011 (avg) plz help me thanks..

20. 14
    Sohan Singh Kiroula:

Hi I am working as A Clinical Perfusionist in a reputated hospital.
    I am working in the hospital field since 2001 in differnt posts like traine perfusionist then Jr Perfusionist then Sr. and now as Chief Clinical Perfusionist.
    I did my MBA in Health Care Services.
    Can I proceed my carrier in Management.
    And how it is different from MHA

21. 13
    atul kumar singh:

my question is , who is entrance exam date of hospital management in 2011.

22. 12
    shamarthi Dutta:

sir,i am a bsc nursing student. can i do msc in hospital managemeny. if yes then plz tell me the procedure of taking admission

23. 11
    pinky:

I want to know the fees structure and admission procedure,for mba in hospital management in madhurai kamraj university and its time of entrance etc…

24. 10
    Akah jain:

Sir ,what is the syallabus for doing a mba in hospital management.
    And which exam i will be face for it.
    Package about this course.
    Is it syallabus related to pharamacy

25. 9
    priya sharma:

i hve done b.sc with medical background and then do pgdbm ,now i want to do mba in hospital administration.please tell me al colleges provoding this course ,its fees structure and its last date for submission of application form.

26. 8
    ubaid:

sir i am a final year student of medical field. sir i need to suggestion about hospital management as my further study.

27. 7
    govind:

what is the scope of health care management in mba
    i want to be a list of institutes in bangalore
    and visakhapatnam

28. 6
    pallavi:

what is the scope of hospital management and health care management which one is better and why? job prospects,best institute with preference to delhi.when is the entrance sysllabus for that.and fee structure?

29. 5
    pratap reddy:

entrance exam date for medical hospital managrment in apollo hyd

30. 4
    durgesh singh:

what is the syllabus for mba in hospital mangement from osmania univercity college like appolo

31. 3
    lakshman:

List of hospital and health management institutes in hyderabad and fee structure and Entrance Exam Dates Application Forms Eligibility Criteria Syllabus Admission Test

32. 2
    dr.prasad:

i hav completed my BHMS DEGREE and want to know the various other faculties available for us to study further.plz tell me about the exam and selection procedure for MBA AND MHA.
    THX

33. 1
    pooja roy:

what is the syallabus for the hospital management examination ??
    what is the difference between hospiatl management and healthcare management ???