List of Colleges in Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University


There are only some language universities in India and one such university is Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University, which was launched as ‘Telugu University’ in the year 1985 on the 2nd of December with two campuses and main campus at Hyderabad. The university has got its present name in the year 1998 and it was recognized by University Grants Commission to get financial grants from the year 1990.

At present, the university has campuses at five different places in Andhra Pradesh. There are three centers, eight schools with eighteen departments in the five campuses of the university. The eight schools include Sri Siddhendra Yogi Kala Pitham, School of Folk and Tribal Lore, School of History, Culture and Archaeology, School of Literature, School of Comparative Studies, School of Social and other Sciences, School of Fine Arts and School of Language Development. Some of the departments in the eight schools included in the university are linguistics department, music department, dance department, folk arts department, painting and sculpture department, theatre arts department, culture and tourism department, communication and journalism department, etc…The three centers include Centre for Distance Education, International Telugu Centre and Centre for Preparation of Encyclopedia. List of colleges affiliated to the university is given below:

Government and Private Colleges operating under the university:

Sree Bhakta Ramadasu Govt. Music & Dance College

Sree Thyagaraja Govt. Music & Dance College

Sree Sharada Govt. Music College

Govt. Music & Dance College

Govt. Music & Dance College

Sree Ghantasala Venkateswara Rao Govt. Music & Dance College

Vijayashankara Govt. Music & Dance College

Sree Maharaja Govt. Music & Dance College

Sree Vidyaranya Govt. Music & Dance College

Govt. Music & Dance College

Sree Jnana Sarswati Govt. Music & Dance College

Sree Siddendra Yogi Kuchipudi Kala Petham

Sree Venkateswara Music & Dance College

Andhra Mahila Sabha, Fine Arts College

The main objective of Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University is to serve the Telugu people, both in the state of Andhra Pradesh and other states of India. To help out the university to achieve this objective, State Government has brought Telugu Bhasha Samiti, International Telugu Institute, Lalitha Kala Academics, Nrithya, Nataka, Sangeetha and Sahitya Academies into Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University. To sum up, the university was established to work as a central organization for the Telugu people to conduct research in philosophy, religion, performing arts, fine arts, culture, history, literature and language.



Do you have any question? Please ask:

Questions will be answered on our Forum section