List of Postgraduate Courses in Forestry

The science and art of maintaining forests, plantations, and other natural resources that are connected with it is known as Forestry. The main aim of forest department is to make and implement rules that allow forests to grow. Preservation of forests is another goal of the forestry department. Candidates who wish to pursue this course must have a pass in class 10+2 or its equivalent with Biology and Physics. They must have also studied Chemistry as a subject. There are many colleges in India which offer courses in forestry.

List of Post Graduate courses

• M.Sc in Botany and Forestry
  • M.Sc in Forestry Wildlife and Environmental Science
  • M.Sc in Forestry
  • MBA in Forestry and Environment Management
  • PG Diploma in Forestry Course

Career Prospects

Candidates who have finished their course successfully can find employment in the Ministry of Environment and Forests and the Forestry Department. In addition to this, they can also get top positions in timber and plywood companies. Those who choose to work as scientists can find jobs in Research labs. Those candidates, who are interested in teaching, can find work in the educational sector. Students of forestry can also opt for jobs either in research centers, offices etc depending on the field they specialize. Candidates can also get employed as Entomologists, Silviculturists, Zoo curators, Forest range officers etc. Other career options that are available for graduates of forestry are still photography and movie making. The salary of the candidates who are employed in government departments is fixed by the respective governments. The salary will range in between Rs 8,000 to Rs 15,000 each month. This depends upon the experience and skill of the candidate. The remuneration of the officers who work in international agencies or media houses are higher.  In addition to this, those who work as consultants or as wildlife and forestry experts also get good salary packages. With expertise and familiarity in the field, the candidates will be able to earn more.

6 Responses to “List of Postgraduate Courses in Forestry”

1. 6
    shilpa:

Am a first yr bsc biochem student…I wish to do forestry as my pg course…am I eligible for tat or suggest me any other course related to forest studies

2. 5
    Abhijit Hembram:

1>Name a govt forestry college in west bengal for bsc.

3. 4
    mayur gaikwad:

sir i am 24 old and i had recently passed in hsc exam and i have been part of forest ministry so guide me for furure education for participating me in forest ministry

4. 3
    marshia:

i am doing my final year bsc course inplant biology and bio technology. and attained 88% of marks upto my 5th semester ,and i want to do msc in forestry .please guide me to do further to get admission and related procedure in tamilnadu itself

5. 2
    deepak:

from where i can get the prospectus for get admission in foresty &horticulture

6. 1
    ANITHA.R:

sir,now i am doing 3 year Bsc Botany. here after i would like to study Msc forestry . so please tell about foresty subjects and colleges in tamilnadu.

thank you sir