Master of Architecture : M.Arch Course Details

Master of Architecture is a Postgraduate Degree offered in the discipline of Architecture. It is also commonly known as M.Arch. The duration of M.Arch courses is 2 years. The program usually separated into 4 semesters. The Course allows students to take up specialization in the chosen area of architecture.

The Council of Architecture (COA) is the regulating body. This is concerned with regulating the learning and practice of career throughout India. The council also keeps the register of architects. Council of Architecture governs the institutions and colleges, which convey architectural teaching in India leading to recognized eligibilities. The Indian Government and Council of Architecture have framed the Regulations. Any individual eager of carrying on the profession of ‘Architect’ should have registered himself with Council of Architecture.

For being eligible for the registration, one should possess the requisite eligibility as per the Architects Act. The registration with COA enables an individual to do the profession of architecture, provided he has a Certificate of Registration with modern renewals.

Advantages or Benefits of Master of Architecture Degree

• The program provides higher and thorough learn of Architecture subject which are tangible.
  • The program allows one to recognize the unique qualities of their effort and how to use these to forge new directions for their own design practice

Eligibility Criteria for M.Arch

Candidates who want to progress in their architecture talents and improve their awareness of present techniques and theory are the ones who are completely suitable for obtaining this Degree. One can also pursue M.Arch if they desire to undertake their own architecture design project.

The qualification needed for the M.Arch program is a pass in Bachelor of Architecture (B. Arch.) with any specialization. Those who are appearing for the last year B.Arch program is also qualified to apply. The aspirants need to obtain at least 50% in the entrance test. Some colleges are conducting an aptitude exam and an interview for the admission of M.Arch.

Admission Procedure for M.Arch

Applicants looking for admission to the M.Arch program should show intellectual attainment, inspiration, regulation, duty, imagination, perception and an open mind. Projects and experiences of the candidates are also evaluated to check the applicant’s ability.

Those who are getting into the architecture course will generally take 3 ½ years to finish the M.Arch degree course. Those candidates who have taken architectural design at qualified architecture schools may be given some credit and/or higher standing for their previous educational effort. The admissions committee determines their point of entry into the design sequence. If the committee approved, then it admitted with advanced entry to finish the course in 2 ½ years of learning. There are three steps in the admission process like

Step 1 - Filling out the Enquiry Form

The candidates must fill the enquiry form.  As soon as the application forms are available, aspirants will be intimated so.

Step 2 - Filling out the Application Form

The qualified students can download the application form from the official website of the college. They can also obtain the form from the college office or from designated centers where these forms will be available for sale. The filled application forms have to be submitted directly or by post before the final date.

Step 3 - Call for entrance exam, Interviews and Admission

Based on the application, the qualified students will have to appear in an entrance exam. The candidates who get shortlisted in the exam will further have to attend the interview. The aspirant must bring original certificates, a set of attested copies and colored copy of portfolio, which encompasses of the academic and professional work.

M.Arch Entrance exams in India

• All India Competitive Examination (AICE) for Admissions to Master’s Degree Programmes
  • All India Entrance Tests
  • Anna University M.Arch Entrance Exam
  • Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology (CEPT) Entrance Exam
  • GATE
  • Goverment of Karnataka - PGCET Entrance Exam
  • Jawaharlal Nehru University JNU Entrance Exam
  • SRM University, Chennai - Engineering Entrance Examinations
  • Tamil Nadu Common Entrance Test ( TANCET )
  • TNSF Consortium Common Entrance Test
  • University Lucknow Entrance Examination for Admission to Post-Graduate Courses
  • VNIT Nagpur M Arch Entrance Exam

How to fill in M.Arch Entrance Application form

The application forms are available in both online and offline. From the official website of concerned entrance exam, the online application forms will be available. The necessary information should be filled in and get the printout of the completely filled application. This form should attach with the necessary document, DD etc and should be posted to the concerned address. Only correct official information should be provided. Before sending remember to cross check the application form.

M.Arch Entrance Exam Pattern

The entrance test for the M.Arch lasts for 2 hours. There will be three sections in the question paper. Part-I and Part-II are compulsory and is similar for every aspirants. Applicants can select Part - III based on their specialization. The Part-I is Engineering Mathematics which includes 30 objective kinds of questions. The applicant should answer all these questions.

Part – II will be includes, Basic Engineering & Sciences and will have 45 objective type questions. The aspirant should attend minimum 30 from this set. For all right answer, one mark is given. For every incorrect answer, ¼ mark is subtracted. The Part -III is the specialization part with 14 sections in various areas like Architecture, Civil, and Chemical engineering etc. The aspirants need to attend 40 questions from the given 45 answers. To a maximum of 40, every right answer will get 1 mark and for each incorrect answer ¼ marks will be subtracted.

Coaching Centers for M.Arch Entrance Exam

• Career Launcher
  • I.M.S
  • Pathfinder
  • T.I.M.E

Reference Books for M.Arch Entrance Exam

• Advanced Engineering Mathematics(Third Edition) by Merle C. Potter, J. L. Goldberg, Edward Aboufadel
  • Principles Of Architectural Detailing By  Peter Schmid
  • Principles of Architecture by G. Muthu Shoba Mohan
  • Principles Of Design In Architecture By  K W Smithies
  • Principles Of Modern Architecture By  Christian Norberg Schulz

Top M.Arch Colleges in India

• IIT-Kharagpur
  • IIT-Roorkee
  • Jamia Millia Islamia University in Delhi
  • Kamla Raheja Vidyanidhi Institute for Architecture and Environmental Studies (KRVIA), Mumbai
  • RV College of Engineering in Bangalore

Other Reputed Colleges/ Universities offering M.Arch program

• Aayojan School of Architecture
  • Amity University
  • Bharati Vidyapeeth College of Architecture
  • Bharati Vidyapeeth University
  • College of Engineering and Technology - (CET)
  • Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram University of Science and Technology
  • Integral University
  • Jadavpur University
  • Lovely Professional University
  • Mcgan’s Ooty School of Architecture
  • Sarvajanik College of Engineering & Technology
  • Shivaji University
  • Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University

M.Arch course curriculum

I Semester

• Advanced structural systems
  • Energy efficient building design
  • Newer Building materials , construction and technologies
  • Principles of urban design
  • Studio I – Emerging Areas (Airports)

II Semester

• Dissertation
  • Earthquake and cyclone resistant building design
  • Entrepreneurship development and project planning
  • Studio II – Emerging Areas (Hospitals)

III Semester

• Advanced interior design
  • Business communication
  • Seminar on Contemporary Architecture
  • Studio IV – Emerging Areas (Industrialized housing)

IV Semester

• Thesis on M.Arch Specializations

M.Arch Projects

• An Exploration of Biological Architecture
  • Fibre Composite Adaptive Systems
  • Found funding and constructed projects for low income families
  • Parametric Design to Create Human Sensitive Spaces
  • Redevelopment plans for an area affected by Hurricanes Katrina or other natural disasters

M.Arch Course Specialization

• Architectural Conservation
  • Architecture and Construction Project Management
  • Building Automation
  • Building Engineering & Management
  • Computer Aided Architectural Design
  • Digital Architecture
  • Environmental Architecture
  • Environmental Planning
  • Housing
  • Industrial Design
  • Interior Architecture
  • International Architecture
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Regional Planning
  • Rural Architecture
  • Sustainable Architecture
  • Sustainable Humane Habitat
  • Town and Country Planning
  • Transportation Planning and Design
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  • Urban Design
  • Valuation and Arbitration

M.Arch Course Evaluation

As per the scheme permitted by Council of Architecture (COA), the university or autonomous exam body of institution should conduct a test at the end of every semester. The program includes project, design, session task, research etc. This is evaluated by a jury of internal and external examiners. It includes weightage of 50:50 for internal and external exam every year.

The external examiners will be different for every subject each year. The percentage of right answers that would guarantee a pass must not be less than 45% in any subject. It should not be less than 50 % in aggregate. The aspirants must have 75% attendance in Masters Programs. 50% marks required in all sessions for every subject having session marks, for being permitted to attend in a test.

Architecture Reference Books

• 101 Things I Learned in Architecture School by Matthew Frederick
  • A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by James Stevens Curl
  • A History of Architecture By Sir Banister Fletcher
  • A Visual Dictionary of Architecture by Frank Ching
  • ARM Architecture Reference Manual (2nd Edition) by David Seal
  • The Encyclopedia of Housing By Willem Van Vliet

What to do after M.Arch?

After completing M.Arch, the aspirants can either go for a job or even go for advanced studies and take up a Ph.D in the associated stream. They can prepare for the NET exam and join as lectures in colleges or go for JRF.

Job and Career options for M.Arch

The position of an Architect is continuously customizes with shifting scenario in the career and ecological issues. Therefore, the significance of an architect along with their career prospects are on a rise.

Employment Areas

• Architecture and Building Development Firms
  • Department of Post and Telegraph
  • Department of Railways
  • Housing and Urban Development Corporations
  • National Building Organization
  • National Institutes of Urban Affairs
  • Private Construction Organizations
  • Public Works Department (PWD)
  • Town and Country Planning Organization

Job Types

• Architectural Conservator
  • Architectural Engineer
  • Architectural Technician
  • Architectural Technologist
  • Architectural Theoretician
  • Architecture Critic
  • Architecture Photographer
  • Architecture Professor
  • Building Control Officer
  • Building Inspector

Remuneration after M.Arch Holders

The remuneration of architecture can go up to Rs.20, 000- 1, 00,000 and more. The salary based on the work experience and the work involved. The candidates will get good pay in the private sector than public sector. Based on the rules of the government this may vary. The Council of Architecture has laid down an average level of payment for services. The candidate can practice as his or her own company. This will fetch good earnings such as thousands to lakhs. Four to ten percentage of construction charges are obtainable for an architecture in the case of multi storied buildings and apartments. In independent houses and bungalows, they can get 15-20 per cent of the whole price of construction.

8 Responses to “Master of Architecture : M.Arch Course Details”

1. 8
    monica:

Is it possible to do m.arch after completion of B.E civil engineering? If it is what are the exams to be undertaken and the colleges offering m.arch for students who did civil enginering in TamilNadu

2. 7
    Jyothi:

hello sir/mam
    Iam doing my b.arch 4th yr in Hyderabad. Iam very much intrested in doing M.arch in US. can u please guide me regarding the entrance exam and the admission process.
    Thanking you…

3. 6
    gauri:

Hello sir/mam
    I m doing my 3rd yr in B.arch at B.K.P.S. COLLEGE OF ARCHITECTURE, PUNE. I have a thought to join M.arch in US after completing B.arch ,I want your guidance for how to go for M.arch, its entrance exams,colleges in US and also courses in M.arch,can you please help me out?
    thank you..

4. 5
    ananthalekshmee:

i want to do masters in sustainable architecture as a part time course after my work.which all colleges are offering m.arch as a part time course in south india.

5. 4
    bindu:

after civil B.tech can i do M.arch? if so what is the entrance test iam supposed to write ?

6. 3
    deepthi:

sir/ma’am,
    i am doing b.arch right now 2nd year, i have a thought to join M.arch after completing, but i dont hav any idea where to go on M.arch, so can you please request any suggestion for where to do M.arch? and now i am doing it in srm university chennai, it is more comfort if you choose me best college in tamil nadu or banglore ,can you help me sir/ma’am .
    thank you:)

7. 2
    abhishekr:

Hello sir/ma’m,,
    Im doing my 2nd yr in BE civil engg at Bangalore Instt of Tech.. Can i take up masters in Architecture after my graduation?
    Or shd i have been done B arch first?
    If i can do M arch after BEcivil, What are the entrance exams other than GATE to be written to get into Good colleges???

Thank you…

8. 1
    aparna:

after B.tech in civil ,M.arch is possible or not?