Punjab Civil Service Examination (PCS) Examination 2012

Punjab Public Service Commission in Chandigarh conduct a competitive examination for the recruitment of candidates to various services/posts. This combined competitive exam is known as Punjab Civil Service Examination (PCS). The various posts for which this examination conducts include Treasury Officers, Forest Officers and District Probation Officers etc.

Structure of the examination

The examination structure includes a written test and viva-voce. Written test comprises compulsory and optional subjects. English, Punjabi and General Knowledge are the subjects in compulsory category. Optional subjects include

• Botany
  • Law
  • Agriculture
  • Geo Economics
  • Defense & Strategic Studies
  • Chemistry l
  • Sociology
  • History
  • Mathematics
  • Statistics
  • Commerce
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Geography
  • Zoology
  • Philosophy
  • Psychology
  • English Literature
  • Sanskrit
  • Urdu Language & Literature
  • Hindi Literature
  • Computer Science
  • Electronics Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Punjabi Literature
  • Public Administration
  • Medical Science
  • Veterinary Sciences& Animal Husbandry
  • Management
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering

Syllabus for the PCS Examination

Chemistry

Inorganic Chemistry

• Oxidation states and oxidation number
  • Acids and bases
  • Atomic structure
  • Chemical periodicity
  • Chemical bonding
  • Extraction of metals
  • Nuclear Chemistry
  • Coordination compounds
  • Pollution and its control

Organic Chemistry

• Bonding and shapes of organic molecules
  • Stereochemistry of carbon compounds
  • Organometallic compounds
  • Chemistry of aromatic compounds
  • Chemistry of biomolecules
  • Chemistry of aliphatic compounds

Physical Chemistry

• Thermodynamics.
  • Phase rule and its applications
  • Gaseous state
  • .Electrochemistry
  • Solutions
  • Colligative Properties

Agriculture

• Importance of crop plants,
  • Diagnosis of nutrient deficiencies
  • Important fruit and vegetable crops of India,
  • Serious pests and diseases affecting major crops
  • Principles of economics as applied to agriculture
  • Agriculture, its importance in national economy
  • Soil as medium of plant growth
  • Essential plant nutrients
  • Principles of soil fertility
  • Principles of plant physiology
  • Cell and cell organelles
  • Genetic basis of plant breeding

Botany

• Tissue Systems
  • Plant Diversity and Systematics
  • Plant Physiology
  • Plant and Environment
  • Biodiversity, Plant Genetic Resources
  • Cell Biology
  • Genetics, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
  • Methods of Reproduction and Seed Biology
  • Plant Pathology
  • Origin of Life and Evolution

Geography

• Geography of India
  • Geographical Thought
  • Techniques of Geographical Analysis
  • Physical Geography
  • Human Geography
  • Geography of the World

Philosophy

• Logic
  • Ethics
  • Problems of Philosophy

Commerce

• Business Organization
  • Management
  • Accounting and Auditing
  • Company Law

Physics

• Electron Mechanics and Waves
  • Heat and Thermodynamics
  • Electricity and Magnetism
  • Atomic and Nuclear Physics
  • Geometrical and Physical Optics

History

• British expansion
  • Early Medieval India
  • Prehistoric cultures in India
  • Indian independence

Law

• International Law
  • Torts
  • Criminal Law
  • Law of Contract
  • Jurisprudence
  • Constitutional Law of India

Economics

• Indian Economics
  • General Economics

Statistics

• Statistical Methods
  • Statistical Inference
  • Probability
  • Sampling Theory and Design of Experiments

Mathematics

• Mechanics
  • Algebra.
  • Vector Spaces and Matrices
  • Geometry and Vectors
  • Elements of Computer Programming
  • Calculus
  • Ordinary Differential Equations

Sociology

• Basic Concepts
  • Types of Society
  • Social Change
  • Marriage, Family and Kinship
  • Economy and Society

Civil Engineering

• Geotechnical Engineering
  • Strength of Materials
  • Engineering Mechanics
  • Structural Analysis

Medical Science

• Medicine
  • Human Anatomy
  • Human physiology and Biochemistry
  • Surgery
  • Preventive and Social Medicine
  • Pathology and Microbiology

Eligibility Criteria for PCS Examination

Candidates with a Bachelor’s degree in any discipline from a renowned University are eligible for appearing in PCS. Final year degree students are also eligible to appear for preliminary exam. They have to produce a proof of degree certificate while appearing in the final exam. Candidates who possess matriculation exam certificate with Punjabi as a compulsory subject is eligible for this examination. A minimum of 21 years and a maximum of 35 years of age group is the age limit for this examination.

How to apply for PCS?

Candidates can apply for this test on the OMR Sheet available in the information counter of Punjab PSC. This is available only on the working days. Information Brochure is also given along with the OMR Sheet. The cost of both OMR Sheet and Information Prospectus is Rs. 500/-.

How to fill the form of PCS?

Candidates must fill the OMR Sheet carefully without any overwriting. Use bold letters only for filling in the OMR Sheet. Read the information brochure carefully and follow the instructions given in the brochure.

Important Dates of PCS

Last date to apply for the examination is the mid of January, 2012

The PCS examination commences on the mid of June month, 2012

List of PCS Exam Centers

The PCS Examination is held only in Chandigarh which is the Capital City of Punjab.

Contact Address for PCS Examination

• Baradari Garden, P.B. No. 39, Patiala, Punjab, India, Pin Code – 147001
  • Telegram Address - Punsercom
  • Phone - 0175 - 5014847(O), 0175 - 5014849(O)
  • Fax - 0175 - 5014831
  • E-mail - [email protected]
  • Website - http://ppsc.gov.in/

Reference Books for PCS Examination

• Sociology by Herton and Hunt
  • Cultural Change in India by Yogender Singh
  • Introduction to Social Andropology by Majumdar
  • NCERT Books for Science Subjects
  • Hindu Social Organizations by P.H.Prabhu

Coaching Centers for PCS Examination

• Jurist Academy in Chandigarh
  • Interfacets IAS/PSC in Madhya Pradesh
  • Tomar’s IAS/PSC Classes in Madhya Pradesh.

Study Plan

As this is a combined competitive examination, a thorough preparation is needed. Candidates can go for coaching as many coaching centers are there for this examination. Previous years question papers helps a lot for exam preparation. Coaching centers also provide study materials for this examination.

How and Where To Get the Results?

Results can be downloaded from the website: http://ppsc.gov.in/

Cutoff for PCS Examination

The cutoff marks may vary in every year and this fully depends on the over all performance of the students and on the level of questions asked in the examination.

Score Validity

The score is valid until the vacancies are filled up or up to the next examination carried out.

116 Responses to “Punjab Civil Service Examination (PCS) Examination 2012”

1. 116

when will paper held in 2013……………..?

2. 115
    jaswinder sidhu:

plz, tell me best books of optional subject (history,political science) in punjabi or hindi for pcs exam.

3. 114
    bharti:

i am 33 years and 4 mnths old.maximmum age for pcs exams and dsp exams. for apperaing in priliminary exmas.
    and just joined punjab govt job is there any relaxation now,

4. 113
    ram:

plz tel me wen ias pcs exam will conducted in 2012 year?

5. 112
    ashsih:

`pls tell me rthe good book from which i can pass the pre examination 8968746633

6. 111
    rajbir gill:

plz tell me about the books of objective paper

7. 110
    simran:

please let me know the syllabus for pcs as im a student of electronics and communication engg.please send me the full details of subjects i can opt nd syllabus.please reply as soon as possible

thanks.

8. 109
    timple gupta:

pls tell me about last date of exam and the institute whose best for pcs exam in amritsar pls tell……….

9. 108
    Nirmaljit Singh:

I am 36 year. I am Graduate. I fall in OBC category. Is I eligible for PCS 2012 or not?

10. 107
    MANDEEP:

plz tell me when will pcs exam conducted? also tell the syllabus of computer science.

11. 106
    SIMRANPREET KAUR:

I have completed MCA recently.what is the complete syllabus for prepartion of pcs exam including computer science as an optional subject.

12. 105
    vicky:

can i do pcs exam in punjabi and is that possible pcs books in punjabi from book shop and which book shop in chandigarh.
    thankx ….

13. 104
    Shikha Bhardwaj:

From where i can get the prevoius solved pcs question papers as i am preparing on my own i dont have any idea though i have ias question papers and hcs too bt i want to know the format for pcs ans some tips for prelims to crack them..thank you.

14. 103
    gurjeet:

when next pcs entrance test will be held?

15. 102
    agrim education, patiala:

For best coaching of civil services
    a new batch is going to start from 10th of sept.
    Subject offered :- sociology ,G. S, public administration, english, essay, punjabi compulsary.

Contact person kuljinder singh(manager) 8437759922,

AGRIM EDUCATION GROUP
    CITY CENTRE ,PATIALA

16. 101
    puneet kaur:

what is the age limit for pcs exam

17. 100
    Rajat:

Sir ! is the eiilm university from sikkim state is eligible for the p c s exam or not ? sir plz rply

18. 99
    natasha:

sir may i know the date to submit the form of pcs exam for the year 2012 also the date of test.. Will be thankful to you..

19. 98
    Meenu:

Sir is pattern of paper is change?

20. 97
    tanvi:

hi i want ti knw about the ladt date to submit form and othet necessary details…
    thnx b4hand!

21. 96
    mrs.narinder kaur:

hi my self narinder i want to know the last date of submit the form

22. 95
    harpreet kaur:

could i got sample papers of sosology and public admn and some more tips for exam please

23. 94
    shefali yadav:

sir kindly give info of exam dates for pcs 2012-2013. nd cud i get sample paper of phyics nd geography ?

24. 93
    Surjeet singh:

when the (PCS) exam will held in 2012-2013. Plz guide me with full information. i’ll be highly thankful to you.

25. 92
    Sandeep:

PCS exam 2012 kab hai pls tell me.

26. 91
    navneet:

Please tell whether the Computer Science subject will be included in prelimnary exam.
    And what is the syllabus for it.

27. 90
    satinder kaur:

i have done my m.s.c.(i.t) may i able to give ihis exam or when it is held… pls guide me about this

28. 89
    lakhwinder jit:

When the ppcs exam 2012-13 will be held

29. 88
    lakhwinder jit:

when will the exam2012-13 will be held

30. 87
    harmeet:

i have done b.tech in computer science. plz tell how i can apply for the pcs test and whats the date for test.

31. 86
    sunil:

pcs exam kab hai tell me

32. 85
    sukhjinder singh dhillon:

i have done the btech in mech engg plz tell me that can i fill the form for pcs exam.and also tell from where i will get the form

33. 84
    jagjiwan lal:

what are new date for pcs exm in 2012-13

thanx

34. 83
    ruchi:

please send me physics sample papers

35. 82
    KAPIL:

when the exams will be held in 2012

36. 81
    sandeep kaur:

pls tell me where to fill the forms of pcs
    recomend me the books as i choosed commerce
    last dates to filling the forms

37. 80
    rajvir kaur:

hi…
    m rajvir , completed BPT.. NOW I want to give the PCS exam. kindly tell me from where I got OMR sheet…?

38. 79
    mandeep kaur:

Hi!

can anyone please tell me that what percentage of seats are for people outside punjab in pcs punjab?

39. 78
    bhullar:

i have done BCA. plz tell me which optional subjects should i choose??? and how many optional subjects a candidate has to choose for PCS exam.
    I shall be thankful to you for your advice….

40. 77
    harish:

Hi !!!
    I just want to know that is punjabi as an compulsory subject till 10th standard a necessary condition for appearing in Punjab civil services examination…..??? because a student who had completed his schooling without having Punjabi included in their subjects, so what are the qualification conditions for such students.
    I shall be very much thankfull for your right guidance…..

41. 76
    shampy:

sir m done bba (bachelor of business administration ) nd i want to give the pcs examination plz tell wat the important requirment for passing pcs

42. 75
    Jeenu Khosla:

Tell me about last date of pcs 2012 form to submit and which place from where I take pcs examination form.

43. 74
    ramanpreet:

m in B.Sc nursing last year student , i want to know that which subjects i would like to choose for PCS exam

44. 73
    dr. gunwant kaur brar:

what is the age limit for PCS &IAS EXAM ?

45. 72
    Sonu:

Hi !!!
    I just want to know that is punjabi as an compulsory subject till 10th standard a necessary condition for appearing in Punjab civil services examination…..??? because a student who had completed his schooling from kendriya vidyalaya ( CBSE syllabus) donot have Punjabi included in their subjects, so what are the qualification conditions for such students.
    I shall be very much thankfull for your right guidance…..

46. 71
    amarpreet:

after june exam when will d pcs exam held in 2012?

47. 70
    tania:

hiii..
    i wants to know the phiscal requirements for the pcs xam. n the detailed procedure of doing pcs .. n about the various rankings..
    thanking you.

48. 69
    daljit kaur:

sir i am a social studies mistress.my joining is 10,10.1998.my d o birth is 01.02.1975.am i eligible fo P CS O IAS

49. 68
    Gurjeet Gill:

Hi,,,,,,,,,
    I wants to know only the Date of Exam For PCS Post. and all steps to Complete this have done. I am M.A. political Science, B-ed , PGDCA, MSC(IT), MCA Incomplete. Now Doing Job in Punjab Police For last 5 years under information technology and telecommunication Department as a district CIPA In-charge.

50. 67
    ritesh:

i miss tha pcs 2012……… plz tell me when i get my second chance? and i have done bca and doing mca… which subjects can i chosse plz help me… i shall be highly thankful to you

51. 66
    jasdeep singh:

which position i will got after passing pcs exam?

52. 65
    Pardeep Kumar:

Sir/Mam,
    When the PCS Exam 2012 will be conducted??

53. 64
    deep:

sir/madam tell me physical requirment for pcs exam

54. 63
    Tejinder Singh:

Sir/Mam,
    When the PCS exam 2012 will be conducted??

55. 62
    Parm saini:

Sir please tell me new dates pcs exam 2012 and qualification

56. 61
    Kuldeep Singh:

Respected Sir/Madam
    Please help me in following :-
    (i) I am serving in Defence Forces, can i apply for PCS exam under Defence quota.
    (ii) I have missed the PCS exam 2012, can I apply for PCS exam 2012 in this year and how many times the exam will be conducted in a year.
    (iii) I have done my Matriculation and Senior Secondary from Punjab and my graduation (Private)from Dehradun. Is I am eligible for applying for PCS Exam.
    I will be thankful to you….

57. 60
    suraj:

Dear sir, i have missed the pcs exam 2012, now plz tell me when i fill the form for pcs plz tell me when it will be available. and i have 69% marks in 10th nd 46% in 12th 54% in graduation and 71% in postgraduation. plz also tell me i am eligible for pcs? thank u.

58. 59
    satvir:

sir i did MBA.SO WHICH SUBJECT I SHOULD OPT FOR PCS.

59. 58
    rupinder kaur:

sir i miss the chance when will i get next chance in 2012

60. 57
    dia:

never come to know about when exam is going to held..

61. 56
    gagandeep kaur:

sir,how much height is required for pcs 2012?? and as am doing b.tech in cse …is am elgible for dis???

62. 55
    Jasvir Kaur:

Sir,mam
    when PCS exam will be held in 2012 ?

63. 54
    indu choudhary:

Imissed the filling form PCS Exam.2012 pl. advised to next availbility to fill the form i wii thakful to you
    from indu choudhary

64. 53
    kuldip:

i have missed the pcs exam 2012, now i want fill the form for pcs 2012 please tell me when will the form be made available for the next time year and month. thankfull to you.

65. 52
    baljeet:

I missed filling PCS Examination 2012 ,now i want to know when will the forms be made available for the next time. please tell me the month and year.I shall be thankful to you.

66. 51
    avishek:

ifs pattern is different its a different exam

67. 50
    Gurbinder singh:

I have missed the chance to fill the form for PCS 2012 examination, please advice the next availability to fill the same will be thankful to you.

68. 49
    amritpal kaur:

when the forms will be available for pcs?

69. 48
    saurabh:

i m b com from punjab university chd and my age is 32 married and settele in business now i strongly prepared to giv and try for this exam. i m eligible? and give me guidance

70. 47
    preet:

i have missed the chance to fill the forms in january. please tell me about the next chance when the forms will be available

71. 46
    rajwinder:

plz give me information abt pcs and how many years after pcs forms will be carry out.

72. 45
    DAVINDER:

HOW MANY TIME THIS EXAM
    CAN BE ATTEMPT?

73. 44
    NEHA:

if i have jst 59.9 percent marks in12th,then i m eligible for the test or not and total how many subjects are required for pcs

74. 43
    RAHUL:

HOW MANY TIMES TO ORGANISE EXAM IN A YEAR ND WHAT TIME

75. 42
    SEKHON:

What is the last date to apply for PCS EXAM.2012 ?AND ELIGIBILITY

76. 41
    Amarjeet:

I’m a commerce student. Should i try pcs in future?

77. 40
    poojanpreet:

i am at present living in england i want to give this test but i will not be able to come to punjab for short period of time .can i do it online.

78. 39
    raman:

up psc exam notification is open how can i fill it
    i live in punjab .they give some post offices name but these r not in punjab .so what should i do now tell me

79. 38
    amandeep kaur:

sir, I am graduate in Arts with 57% marks, M.A in pol sci with 53% and B.ED with 68%.i want to prepare my self for pcs or IAS but i dont knw am eligble for which post what qualification required and when entrance will held pls help

80. 37
    ravi:

What is the next schedule for PCS , exams, How i Can enter in the Exams?

81. 36
    kk:

Till now pcs-2009 result have not come n there is no notification for pcs-2012.Why r u misleading others ??

82. 35
    VARUN:

TELL ME ABOUT LAST DATE OF PCS 2012FORM TO SUBMIT AND PLACE FROM WHERE I CAN TAKE PCS EXAM. FORM

83. 34
    Prince:

Tell me about the last date of pcs 2012 form

84. 33
    JASVIR:

TELL ME ABOUT LAST DATE OF PCS 2012FORM TO SUBMIT AND PLACE FROM WHERE I CAN TAKE PCS EXAM. FORM.

85. 32
    jasvir dhaliwal:

Tell me about last date of pcs 2012 form to submit and which place from where I take pcs examination form.

86. 31

hello sir iwant to know when pcs form willcome ofjharkhand what is the last date

87. 30
    nishtha arora:

HELLO SIR,I WANT TO KNOW WHEN PCS FORM WILL COME OF U.P AND WHICH IS LAST DATE OF 2012…

88. 29
    vrijesh:

aap aspirants ko misguide kyu kar rahe ho. There is not any vacacy of ppsc 2012. Fir mid january last date kaise ho sakta hai

89. 28
    Durgaprasad Swarnakar:

which is the date of Form issued?

90. 27
    Anshuman:

Date of submit of form

91. 26
    KIRPAL:

HELLO SIR I WANT TO KNOW THAT WHEN WILL BE PCS EXAM HELD IN 2012.

92. 25
    shikha singh:

Tell me about date of pcs 2012 form to submit and which place from where I take pcs examination form.

93. 24
    parminder:

94. 23
    aarti puri:

i am 21 yrs old . i want to give pcs paper kindly gide .. thnks..

95. 22
    What is the eligibIlity to apply for pcs exam:

what is the eligibility to apply for pcs exam

96. 21
    gurpreet singh:

97. 20
    BALKAR SINGH:

What is the eligibility to apply for PCS.

98. 19
    imran hussain:

i handicapped by left arm. want to appear in pcs exam. please guide me. i want Coaching for the exam , but i am not financialy sound. i cant pay coaching fee. please tell me the solution

99. 18
    anjali:

please tell me the detailed syllabus and books for the prepration of pcs exam….i am 20 years old.and in final year of b.tech..can i take this test??????

100. 17
    lakhvinder singh:

is there any center to buy form of pcs in jalandhar

101. 16
    satnam singh:

iam complete my B.tech(IT),can i participate in pcs .what is syllabus accord to my study

102. 15
    jasveer kumar:

sir where i got application form

103. 14
    preet:

plzz tell me the date of pcs exam.. i want to attemp it . .

104. 13

can you please tell me the date for ppcs exam n about the form for ppcs , when form vl b out??
    thanx..

105. 12
    Inderpal kaur:

i have completed mca i want to give pcs exam kindly guide me

106. 11
    chunni lal thakur:

please tell me….ki punjab civil service ke exam kab honge..filling date abhi hai kya…. i appearing a mcom in himachal predash university… ek or requst hai…meri mcom june 2012 mein puri ho rhi hai.. after mcom main sirf civil service ke liye tyari krna chahta hun… please koi acha coaching centre find krne main mri help ker do…. chandigarh main hi koi…. please /(main himachal predash ke solan distt se hun….

107. 10
    JS Behal:

I am Ex-serviceman, retired as Jr Warrant Officer from IAF and presently working in SBI. My retirement date is 31/1/2011 and my age is 41 years.
    I want to appear for punjab civil services.
    Please Guide.

108. 9
    ROHIT SHARMA:

NOW I AM 21 YEAR OLD AND I AM DOING MBA ,,,,, SO NOW I WANT TO GIVE EXAM OF PCS SO, PLZ GIVE ME THE INFORMATION REGARDING THE EXAM……
    THXXXXXX

109. 8
    Baljeet Kaur:

I am 37 yrs. belong to sc category. am I eligible for the exam

110. 7
    Ca jashan Singla:

i am Chartered Accountant in Practice . Now, i want to apply for pcs exam 2012 . kindly sugest me..

111. 6
    kanchan:

please tell me how we get information about punjab civil services 2012
    like application foam .

112. 5
    noreen:

the msc biochemistry student can apply on biology or chemistry seats for public srvice commision

113. 4
    manpreet singh:

i am B.com professional passed in 2011 and want to apply for the pcs can i do so in accountancy line only or commerce
    please send me detail about pcs and filling of application form

114. 3
    karan:

i want to ask really very urgently and immedietly that syallabus of of p.c.s preliminary and are the same syallabus of ias preliminary exam?and preliminary exams of p.c.s and preliminary exams of ias are having same questions.Both pcs and ias preliminary questions papers are same or not?PLEASE COMMUNICATE THIS ANSWER IMMEDIATELY. AWAITING MODERATION MAENS WHAT

115. 2
    karan:

i want to ask really very urgently and immedietly that syallabus of of p.c.s preliminary and are the same syallabus of ias preliminary exam?and preliminary exams of p.c.s and preliminary exams of ias are having same questions.Both pcs and ias preliminary questions papers are same or not?PLEASE COMMUNICATE THIS ANSWER IMMEDIATELY.

116. 1
    Gurbinder Ghotra:

Good day sir,

Can you please let me know how many post are available for the year 2012 PUNJAB CIVIL SERVICES or you can send me the link for the same.I will be very oblige to you.

Thanks and regards.