Sophia Merit Scholarship

Sophia Merit Scholarship is an award given by Sophia Board to Students who are financially backward with meritorious academic profile. Sophia Merit Scholarship receives applications from students of the above-specified criteria. The aspirants have to download the application form from the website. The Board analyzes the applications and they inform their decision to the selected aspirants. These awards are normally distributed in the month of February in their office itself.

Sophia Merit Scholarship Eligibility

Candidates who apply for Sophia Merit Scholarship should have passed in XII. The aspirant should be interested to undergo full time Bachelor degree in Engineering or Medicine from a recognized college or university in India. The aspirant who wishes to get the Sophia Merit Scholarship should have secured an admission in the present academic year. Only students who got admission on merit will be considered for Scholarship. Only first year students entering an engineering or Medical College are eligible to apply. Students have to prove their financial weakness by submitting relevant documents.

Objective of Sophia Merit Scholarship

This Scholarship provides financial assistance to eight new deserving students each year. This Scholarship covers areas on tuition, boarding, lodging and other education-related costs. The Scholarship is provided to all deserving candidates regardless of race, religion, caste, sex, language and location within India. Therefore, there is no special reservation for any caste group in this Scholarship. As Sophia provides a pathway for financially backward students, they should participate in Sophia’s mission when they become successful in life. They provide about Rs.1,00,000 for engineering and Rs. 1,10,000 for medicine. This amount covers the expenses of tuition, boarding and lodging for the entire degree program.

Application Form and Fee

The applications along with the application instructions can be downloaded from the website of Sophia. The student has to go through the instructions before filling the application form. While posting application, students have to submit proof of admission in the Engineering/Medical College for the academic year along with attested copy of XII mark sheet .They have to provide income certificate of guardian  for reference. No special fees is deducted along with application. The Board reviews all the applications from which the final decision is made. Most deserving candidates are given more preference.

Contacts Address

T. Sivasubramanian Sophia Advisory Committee Member “DuraSoft”,11 / 6, First Floor, Fourth Street, Padmanabha Nagar, Adyar, Chennai – 600 020.

Mailing Address

Sophia Merit Scholarships Inc, 5437 Tree Side Drive, Carmichael Ca 95608

Phone: 916-485-4238, 916-359-5104, 408-997-2702

Further queries regarding the Sophia Merit Scholarship can be answered through E-mail: [email protected]

12 Responses to “Sophia Merit Scholarship”

1. 12
    Deepak kumar:

I got 91% in intermediate and i want to join engineerin can i get this scholarship

2. 11
    Bhasha:

Sir, i’m Basha from Hospet. Karnataka. I’m passed in 12th Commerce at 85% on 2012. Now i’m b.com 2nd year.. N my 1st sem result is also good (79%). 2nd sem result will amounced soon.. Am also apply for the Mhrd scholship. But that amount will not satisfy for my expenses.. Please suggest me. Can i apply for this scholar & how.?

3. 10
    sai lova srujini:

hello sir!iam srujini i have just completed inter 1st year with 479marks with 96% and i got 9.3 GPA in my 10th class. I want to say that iam a poor student and I need some financial support.I lost my father 10 years ago and my mother works as a anganwadi teacher.so,do u help me for my studies.

4. 9
    phani:

iam phani kumar studing aeronautical engg 2nd year in hyd. my family annual income is less than 1lakh ,can i eligigible to appy for ur scholarship.

5. 8
    Athulya T:

I just joined for b tech at cet trivandrum.i have to stay in a hostel. i really need scholarship due to financial problems in my family.i am belongs to OBC.Can i get this scholarship?

6. 7
    divya:

just now i finished my 12th exam i’m going to join engineering shall i complete the sophia merit scholarship apllication for 2011-2012 or u will update the apllication for 2012-2013?????

7. 6
    Sreejith.B.S:

I’ve attended Kerala Engineering Entrance exam & have 267 marks. PCM marks of +2 is 88%. I belong to General category. I’ld like to know whether there is chance for admission (Mechanical/Chemical/Electrical & Electronics) under Govt. Quota…? I ‘ld prefer Mohandas or Heera Engineering College… I’ld also like to know about various scholarships for General Category… Waiting for ur Reply…
    ThnQ

8. 5
    md abdul wahid:

how to apply this schloarship and when plz inform me

9. 4
    Ageer AshokKumar:

sir I have applied for my both daughters of above said scholarships for 2011-2012 and both have admitted i n to BE 1st year at OU HYDERABAD AP .,AND MY WARDS names are Ageer Preethi and Ageer Priyanka kindly confirm the latest status please.

10. 3
    ch.divya:

im a topper in marine engineering in a central university in chennai . but my economic background is very week so im looking for a scholarship to assist my parents so how do i approach you people regarding this

11. 2
    RAJESH:

Hellow! My son Mr. Gopal R. unadkat studing in 5th semester of M.B.B.S at ADANI INSTITUTES OF MEDICAL SCIENCES medical collage at BHUJ (gujarat) it’s fees strutchar is Rs. 3,48,000 per year now i need scholarship from “SOPHIA MERRIT’ can i apply?

12. 1
    yeswanth:

how, to apply this scholarship. what requires should be from this application.