15th September 2017, 12:46 PM
km0456

Can I apply for WBCS if doing graduation from distance University?

I am a student of distance education ( IGNOU) in Zoology (BSC-hon). Can I give the exam WBCS with Distance certificate?? Is this approved in WBCS exam?? Please, give me the right information.Besides, is Distance certificate neglected or non-facility than Regular certificate??Is it same value the two certificates (Distance & Regular) in WBCS? Kindly, I expect that you have given to me the right information. Thanking you.

15th September 2017, 07:25 PM
aashisranjan784
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I apply for WBCS if doing graduation from distance University?

Yes, candidates who have done bachelor's degree from Indira Gandhi National Open University are eligible for West Bengal Civil Services examination. The academic qualification required for this exam is bachelor's degree in any stream from a recognized university.

IGNOU is UGC and DEC approved university and its degree is at par with degree of any other university. The age limit for this exam is 21-32 years. You will not face any issue at any stage of this exam because of pursuing Bachelor's degree in distance mode.

15th September 2017, 07:33 PM
AWNISH RANJAN CHAUDHARY
Senior Member+++++

The full form of WBCS is West Bengal Civil Services exam:

1. You must have done bachelor's degree in distance or regular mode from a recognized university. IGNOU is recognized and its degree has validity everywhere. It has same value as other degree.

2. The age criteria for this exam is 21-32 years.

The different stages of this exam is Preliminary, Mains and interview.

15th September 2017, 07:44 PM
Dadi Maa
Senior Member+

WBCS refers to West Bengal Civil Services and same examination is held by West Bengal Public Service Commission for recruitment at executive and other comparative posts.