List of Postgraduate Courses in Mining Engineering

Mining Engineering is a subdivision of Engineering. It is concerned with the science as well as technology of extracting and processing metals from ore’s. The procedure of mining also consists of processing of raw materials for extra value. Numerous Colleges in our country offer students with postgraduate courses in Mining Engineering. The required qualification criterion to join this course is a graduate degree in the related subject. Some of the postgraduate courses in Mining are given below.

List of Postgraduate Courses

• Master of Science in Mineral Process Engineering
  • Master of Science in Mineral Processing and Mineral Exploration
  • Master of Technology in Mineral Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Opencast Mining
  • Master of Technology in Long wall Mine Mechanization
  • Master of Technology in Mining Geophysics
  • Master of Technology in Mining Machinery Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Petroleum Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Mineral Exploration
  • Master of Technology in Engineering Geology
  • Master of Technology in Petroleum Exploration

Career Prospects

There are many job opportunities for students who have finished this course. Employment can be found in high profile government as well in the private sector firms. Many companies like The Indian Bureau of Mines, Lignite Corporation and the Coal India Ltd in addition to the IPCL and the Geological Survey of India take in students of Mining Engineering. Within these firms, they can find jobs as Petroleum Engineer, Mine Planner/Ventilation engineer, Operations Engineer and Production Manager. It is also possible for aspirants to work as Mining Investment Analyst as well as Mine Managers.

Another option for the students is to work along with geologists. They can work together to discover and assess new ore deposits. Institutes of Research also take in Mining professionals as to research new and efficient methods in mining. Those who like teaching can find posts as Lecturers in Colleges that offer this as a subject. The remuneration of the candidates will be based on their experience and skill. The initial salary will be approximately Rs. 20000-Rs. 25000 a month.

6 Responses to “List of Postgraduate Courses in Mining Engineering”

1. 6
    Satyabhai:

I completed b.tech in electronics and want to join m.tech in mining.please give me advise for it and jobs opportunity after m.tech.

2. 5
    Simbarashe Mupandanyama:

Can I enroll for a Long Distance Master of Science in Mineral Processing and Mineral Exploration. With which university can I do this with. How much does it cost and when can I start.

3. 4
    Abhinav:

I have done B.E Computer science in Bangalore. I have Granite Factories and Granite Mines. Now I am interested in doing distance course in Mining.Please suggest me what I need to do. Please tell me can I do PG in Mining.

4. 3
    naresh:

hai sir,i have cmplt my bbm. i wnt 2do mining diploma pls can u gve details

5. 2
    ANDE I MANASEH:

good morning sir,
    my name is Ande MANASSEH I.
    I want to further my education in mining engineering. How can i go about it? and i want to know when the form will be available.

6. 1
    Dr. Virendra Singh:

Kindly let me know as to when shall I be able to recieve it in my mail?