B.Sc in Astrophysics, Astrophysics B.Sc

Astrophysics is a branch of astronomy. It is the study of the physical and chemical properties of celestial bodies. Astrophysics is a hybrid of astronomy and physics. It is concerned with the physical working of celestial bodies and the phenomenon that take place in the universe.

B.Sc in Astrophysics is a graduation course. The general eligibility requirements are that the candidate must be a pass in higher secondary school certificate exam from any recognized board. The candidate must have physics and mathematics in his higher secondary studies. The eligibility percentage depends on the institute applying for, the minimum being 50%.

Course outlook:

B.Sc in Astrophysics is a 3 year full time course. The course is divided into three part of one year each. In first year, the candidate is taught thermodynamics, electromagnetism, Newtonian dynamics, waves, optics and modern physics. In second year, more emphasis is given on further explanation of the fundamental topics like detailed discussion on atomic, nuclear and quantum physics, solid state physics, relativity etc. In year 3, the candidates learn further use of quantum physics, fluid mechanics etc. Project works are also dispatched in this year.

Job Prospects:

There are great job opportunities in Astrophysics. One can go into the research line as this field is not much explored. One may join space research centers like ISRO, NASA etc. The candidate can also go into the teaching profession or may opt for further studies by pursuing a master’s in astrophysics or cosmology.

Best Places to Pursue:

Osmania University
Punjab University
Andhra University
Madras University

100 Responses to “B.Sc in Astrophysics, Astrophysics B.Sc”

1. 100
    Udit Kalita:

Is there any entrance examination for b.sc in astrophyiscs?is there any institutes in assam or kolkata to study astrophisics?what are courses after b.sc?

2. 99
    zarang aruk:

what are the best collage for B.Sc Astrophysics in India and what are the eligibility and entrance exams?

3. 98
    anupta jana:

i have completed my 12th with 67% in HSc.I have joined in B.sc physics so am i eligible to do astrophysics.please guide be sir.thank you.

4. 97
    Satyam:

I am in class eleventh . I have taken biology . now I want to change the stream I want to take maths can I take maths in class twelfth .

5. 96
    Raghav:

Hi ! I have taken biology in class eleventh due to peer pressure but now I think it was my worst decision of my life . And now it it is not possible to change the stream . now I want to do bsc in astrophysics . I am studying maths side by side although I am not giving its paper .would it help me .

6. 95
    Shreyas R:

please give information regarding list of colleges offering astrophysics in bengaluru and admission procedure

7. 94
    Anubhab Joardar:

What are the job options available to us after we finish Astrophysics courses?

8. 93
    ajeethraj:

i have completed my 12th with 92% in HSc.I have joined in B.sc physics so am i eligible to do astrophysics.please guide be sir.thank you

9. 92
    subhankar biswas:

sir,i’m very much interested in astrophysics.so, can i study astrophysics in b.sc. i have secured 72% in class-12.
    please mention the best institutes to study the specified subject. thank you.

10. 91
    Dhruba acharyya:

What are the colleges in india offering bsc in astrophysics?

11. 90
    Dhruba acharyya:

Is there any entrance exam for bsc in astrophysics?

12. 89
    Dhruba acharyya:

Is there any entrance exam for bsc astrophysics?

13. 88
    dhruba acharyya:

how can i get admission in bsc in astronomy or astrophysics in india ?

14. 87
    dhruba acharyya:

how can i get admission in bsc in astronomy or astrophysics in india

15. 86
    Abhistha Chatterjee:

what are the colleges in west bengal offering bsc course in astrophysics?

16. 85
    NEHA PATEL:

I HAVE DO THIS CORSE

17. 84
    EINJALA SITHARA:

Is there any entrance test for Bsc astrophysics?
    How can I get the previous/model questions?
    which are the best institutions offering Bsc Astophysics in India?

18. 83
    Balaji:

can i know the colleges offering astro physics B.Sc courses in India / Madras University
    pls mail at the earliest. This for my son for 2013 admission
    If possible for Singapore as well.

19. 82
    Subham Sengupta:

after 12 standard what are criteria for getting admission in abroad institutions for Astrophysics ?

20. 81
    rishu:

after 12 standard what are criteria for getting admission in cosmology?

21. 80
    Sumit Paul:

What are the names of entrance examinations required to study astrophysics?

22. 79
    vonesh:

i want to disign the engine of space shuttle . so what course i can do

23. 78
    sathish:

I want to astro physics in distance education. I have only finished tenth. I have done my BBA in distance education. I have inspired by TV programs in discovery. They tell about big band theory and black hole new stars creation, galaxies like Andromeda, milky way galaxies, etc. Also they describe super nova, hyper super nova, nebula, etc.

24. 77
    sathish:

I want to astro physics. I have only finished tenth. I have done my BBA in distance education. I have inspried by TV programs in discovery. They tell about big band theory and black hole new stars creation, galxyes like andromedia, milky way galxyes, etc. Also they discribe super nova, hyper super nova, nebula, etc.

25. 76
    menon anish:

dear sir/madam. i m thrilled to learn, cosmology subject, but the official name is astrophysics, i guess, correct me if i m wrong. pls tell me the distance course for pursuing cosmology subject, i m h.s.c, science. or any full time course in mumbai. pls help and support. with best wishes

26. 75
    komalpreet kaur:

I want to know is punjab universiy offers astro physics cources?

27. 74
    Natarajan:

can i know the colleges offering astro physics B.Sc courses in Madras university / Andhra University?
    pls mail at the earliest. This for my son

28. 73
    Koushal Bauri:

Can anyone give me a list of astrophysics offered colleges in india ?

29. 72
    Manjula:

I have done my bsc in physics. and i would like to know whether i am eligible for MSC Astrophysics. If i am eligible please mention the tests that i should take up.

30. 71
    Suman:

I am doing 10th what are the best collages and universites in tamilnadu to study astrophysics pls.tell me sir.

31. 70
    Jayanand sidar:

Dear sir, i am a b.sc. 1year student in bio. And i am intrested in electronic and make, think a new circuit and i hope join in NASA can i join in NASA..plese reply me sir/mem.

32. 69
    Poonayu Sharma:

hello….i m in IX std……can u plz tell me what is the min.% rrequired to get a course of astrophysics???????????????
    also tell me some good colleges in india or abroad that provide a course of astrophysics………

thank you……….

33. 68
    Ravi Ranjan:

Can IUCAA provide BSC in astrophysics. What is the admission procedure?

34. 67
    Ranjit patil:

I want to career in astrphysics in top indian colleges how apply for Bsc Astrophysics?

35. 66
    Dipen Shah:

I’m doing my 12th board. After this i want to do Bsc in astrophysics at Punjab/Andhra. So please tell me about the admission procedure for it.

36. 65
    Vaishak.s:

Which entrance exam should i write for doing bsc in astrophysics?

37. 64
    Lohith:

iam studiying 10th and i wanna do B.Sc in astrophysics after my 12th. could u please explain the procedure and wat entrance i have to pursue for.
    i will be kindfull to u if u reply to my doubt’s.
    THANK YOU……

38. 63
    Raghunandhan.gk:

if one has to pursue a degree in astrophysics then, is it necessary that he/she should pass C.E.T ?

39. 62
    Debashish:

My question is that after +2 can we do PHD Astrophysics in IIT? we have to give that IIT Entrance Exam to join it or not? On what basis will we be selected to join even if any university to do PHD astrophysics?

40. 61
    bowya.r:

what are courses can be done after completing Bsc physics in the same field?

41. 60
    raghava:

hello to every one
    i am raghava from india.
    i did my P.G in finance and mphil. which i did it without interest. i am average in maths.
    and i was very much obessed with astro sciences.
    so i want study again my +2/polytechnic to get seat in B.A/Bsc in astro physics.
    so kindly give me suggestions what i should i do right now
    to get into astro sciences.
    Thanks in advance

42. 59
    sohel rana shaikh:

How can I take admission in USA for astrophysics after passing B.sc physics (Hons) from Indian university and what is the eligibility for the same ?

43. 58
    Akash shaw:

How can i take admission in the Indian institute of astrophysics after passing 10+2 to study B.sc and M.sc in astrophysics.

44. 57
    Yatin:

is BSc astrophysics courses are provided by the punjab university? if that so pls tell me some way how to address them and pls tell me about the entrance exams of it

45. 56
    shadath:

How can i apply for Bsc in astrophysics in punjab/andhra university? -Thank you

46. 55
    Narendra kumawat:

I want to become an astrophysicst.i confuse choose a good college for M.Sc.in astrophysics, sir plz send me list of college for msc astrophysics, i have complit my B.Sc.(physics,maths,computer science. if so how can i apply in indian institude of astrophysics banglore.
    sir i request you please help me

Narendra kumawat from Mandsour(M.P.)

47. 54
    sirisha:

Is BSc astrophysics course offered at madras university,Chennai? If so how can I apply?

48. 53
    Tejaswini R. Bhalerao:

i want list of colleges in Mumbai which offer bsc in astrophysics course…..please let me know as soon as possible….

49. 52
    sathish:

when will entrance conducted for astrophysics?

50. 51
    amith:

colleges in bangalore offering astrophysics in bsc course

51. 50
    rabi shankar shil:

i am a student of NOTRE DAME COLLEGE,DHAKA,BANGLADESH. i want to study in astro physics in HARVARD UNIVERSITY,USA.will i get a scholarship?

52. 49
    maulik:

hi…. i want to become graduate in Bsc astrophysics,please give the list of colleges which offer this course.thank you.

53. 48
    Jishnu P Das:

how can i apply for bsc in astrophysics after completing xii?

54. 47
    debjyoti sinha:

I want to know the prospect of astrophysics.

55. 46
    megha:

best colleges offering B.Sc in astrophysics in karnataka.

56. 45
    KHUSHBU:

I want addmisson in b.s.c.in astrophysics i am medical student with additional math pass only one sem.not second I will get addmisson or not

57. 44
    saikat guha:

i want to know about the admission procedure in details of getting a sit in b.sc in astrophysics..

58. 43
    Antara Sarkar:

I just want to get admission in Delhi jnu.. and from when the from will be available.

59. 42
    ANSHUL VERMA:

Hi i m class 12th and i want to study astrophysics.plz tell me the best collages for B.sc.in astrophysics in ahemdabad.
    please reply me.

60. 41

does punjab university(chandigarh campus) allow Bsc in astrophysics?if yes then tell me how to get admission there?

61. 40
    salil joshi:

how to apply on line for bsc astrophysics?

62. 39
    Vivek Panchal:

Hi good evening,I am in class 8th and I want to study astrophysics .What is minimum percentage required study astrophysics and which is the best institute in Ahmadabad.Please,reply me.

63. 38
    manish kakoti:

hi i am manish kakoti.i am in 11th standard .i am greatly interested in astrophysics.can u tell me which are the best colleges for BSc in astrophysics?and also is there any entrance exam for it?when is it held?

64. 37
    Parth:

Hi, i am in class 10th and i want to study astrophysics.how many percentage should be get in science stream in the H.S exam to study this? and I want to study Astrophysics from best college/university in New Delhi or Gaziabad. Please,tell me which is best one? Pls,reply me…

65. 36
    Bishal Mondal:

I m a B.Tech student (E.E.E) 1st year of nit puducherry, and highy interested in astronomy. So i want to make my passion as part of my studies and hence want to do B.Sc astrophysics in correspondence from some institude near to puducherry. So what should i do?

66. 35
    Satyaki Dutta.:

I want to study Astrophysics from best college/university in west bengal. Please,tell me which is best one? Is there any scope at Ramakrish Mission,Bhelure(VIVEKANANDA UNIVERSITY)? Pls,reply me…

67. 34
    selva:

entrance exam dates application form availablity

68. 33
    Anita raj:

i qualified 12th exam in science stream and further want to study bsc in space science and astrophysics. so please tell me about the colleges that offer courses in this field in graduation level after 12th.i am in india.

69. 32
    durgalatha:

I want to become an astronaut, i have less percentage in inter but iam intresting in spacephysics and i want to do experments in it.please give me cleareance idea to me.thank u
    iam wating for your answer.

70. 31
    raj:

by your website ,i came to know about following colleges
    osmania university
    punjab university
    andhra university
    and madras university
    i am right know b.tech 1 year student and i want to do astrophysics . kindly send me the detail that how can i get admission in bsc astrophysics .

71. 30
    kanhu:

i want to do research in satellites and gravitation.so can i do dat by learning astrophysics?

72. 29
    rituraj neog:

ihi, i am in class 10th and i want to study astrophysics.how many percentage should be get in science stream in the H.S exam to study this?

73. 28
    swathi.S:

Respected sir/madam,
    I am studying class 5.can i have the B.sc astrophysics course in correspondence?Please I am in India

74. 27
    abdul:

i just want to know that how can i get admission in B.Sc. astrophysics.
    when the form is availalble

75. 26
    Saloni Bhargava:

by your website I came to know about the following colleges
    Osmania University
    Punjab University
    Andhra University
    Madras University
    i’m currently in 12th std. with pcm cbse board
    I’m higlly passionate about astronomy.
    how can I get admission to these colleges. kindly send me the details.

76. 25
    Somdatya maitra:

I wanna study astrophyscs..so cn u plz tl me about d colleges tht ofr courses in ths field in d graduation level…

77. 24
    shibla:

i completed my +2 with 74% in science group including maths and physics.i have 66% in physics and 47% in maths.i am interested in Bsc astrophysics.is there in compulsory to get 50% in maths to get into this course?

78. 23
    k d murthy:

sir, my son is in 12th, he is very much interested in aestrophysics .please tell me about best institutions ,admissions,career.

79. 22
    neeraj:

sir, i m doing bsc physics hons from delhi university?
    I wanna do bsc in astrophysics n cosmology, shell i continue bsc or there are another collge for this course?

80. 21
    akshay:

can i do astrophysics after BCA

81. 20
    neelu:

sir i have done be in information science but iam very concern of doing astrophysics.for me is there is a possibility of doing it.

82. 19
    clara rodrigues:

dear sir can u plz tel me which are the colleges offering B.Sc Astrophysics in Karnataka n wen r the admissions starting

83. 18
    aravind pankaj:

what are the basic b.tech courses useful for pursuing hihger studies in astrophysics?

84. 17
    aditi:

i want to do B.Sc. in astrophysics. plz tell me the colleges in north region

85. 16
    rahul sharma:

hi myself rahul sharma i want to ask that, can we do the study in astrophysics after engeenearing in any field .

86. 15
    Anu Raveendran:

Sir I want to know about the admission procedure for bsc astro physics

87. 14
    bharat:

sir i am in andhra pradesh i am intersted to do Bse astrophysics or astronomy can you tell me full details about universities offering this cores in andhra and eligibility ,contacts of that university i am waiting for your early replay yours obedientely

88. 13
    rgaarathy:

is there b-tech course for astrophysics?

89. 12
    Debasis Banik:

Hello good morning,
    I am highly intrested in Astrophysics and I prefer to do B.SC. /B.Tech. in Astrophysics. Presently I am studying in SSC standard IX. So can you tell me :
    1) The best University / IIT offering such corse and what is the eligibility and percentage of marks required. When and how I can apply and get enrolled for these courses ? What should be my approach after I pass SSC standard 10th exam. and start 11th-12th standard ?
    2) What are the higher study options further to B.SC. /B.Tech. ?
    3) What are the career prospects in future ?

Sir, kindly guide me in detail.

Uddipan Banik,
    Kolkata, West Bengal

90. 11
    Ann Maria:

hai good evening
    i am very intrested in astrophysics and i prefered to do bse astrophysics so can you tell me the best university offering such corse and what is the eligibility and percentage of marks required

91. 10
    manasa:

dearsir,
    please give details about
    1) colleges for astrophysics Bsc
    2) entrance exam date and syllabous

92. 9
    Paulomi Paul:

Which are the institutions where I can do the B.Sc. in Astrophysics course and what is the marks requirement in these institutions?Is there any in Bengal?

93. 8
    Padmashree:

Which are the colleges offering B.Sc Astrophysics in Karnataka.

94. 7
    hari haran:

i am studying 11th i have taken science with computer science group i want to dom astrophysics what are the steps i should follow

95. 6
    swaroop:

sir i am in andhra pradesh i am intersted to do Bse astrophysics or cosmology can you tell me full details about universities offering this cores in andhra and eligibility ,contacts of that university i am waiting for your early replay yours obedientely

96. 5
    ankit jha:

can we study astrophysics at IIT,HARVARD UNIVERSITY,WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, ETC ALSO THE GRADUATION REQUIRED

97. 4
    akash:

hi.
    i am a grade 10 student and i want to be an astronaut. i love science, speacially chemistry and physics.
    so am i eligible to give this examination?

98. 3
    swaroop:

hai good evening
    i am very intrested in astrophysics and i prefered to do bse astrophysics so can you tell me the best university offering such corse and what is the eligibility and percentage of marks required

99. 2
    Kanika Vats:

I am not very well prepared to give the entrance exams but desperately want to pursue my education in astrophysics,so which college and what graduation degree do you suggest?

100. 1
    aluru:

astrophysics entrance exam 2010(BSc)