14th July 2010, 07:26 PM
shaveta seth

Best optional subject for civil service examination

i have passed final year of bds. i want to go for civil services. please suggest me the best optional subject.

15th July 2010, 02:53 AM

Default Re: Best optional subject for civil service examination

Your previous degree doesn't resemble any optional subjects in civil services.
So, you are free to choose any subject on your choice. However, as you are medical student I think you would be good in bio. So you can opt for biology and anthropology. Also, you can opt arts subjects. The privillege with arts subject is that, it will help you very much in the preparation of general studies.
Finally, I would suggest you to choose a subject only on your choice which you like most because UPSC needs perfection and hard labor to the extent, you can go to.
15th July 2010, 03:14 AM

Following are the optional subjects of civil service examination.

Agriculture
Mathematics
Animal Husbandry & Vetinary Science
Mechanical Engineering
Botany
Medical Science
Chemistry
Philosophy
Civil Engineering
Physics
Commerce
Political Science
Economics
Psychology
Electrical Engineering
Public Administration
Geography
Sociology
Geology
Statistics
Indian History
Zoology
Law

You may select any subjects based on your expertise in a particular field and interest. You may either select subject related to your acdemic background or any subject you are comfortable with.
15th July 2010, 10:17 AM
vaishali14feb

Dear according to the best counsellors, geography is the best optional subject.Actually it is the most scoring subject,even science students go for it.If you have time then go for geography otherwise choose any subject of your field.
ALL THE BEST
15th July 2010, 11:32 AM
karthu

hai
The subject selection is very important. You vcan selest a subject which you feel difficult to study say history/ geography. These subjects have more topics to learn & uery difficult to get good marks.
15th July 2010, 02:31 PM
Shagun Makin

der friend it depends on which area you have command.

Some opt as Maths as their best optional subject while some oher opt physics as their best optional subjects.

There are other subjects as well.

It depends upon your interest.
15th July 2010, 05:38 PM

Originally Posted by shaveta seth View Post
i have passed final year of bds. i want to go for civil services. please suggest me the best optional subject.
First of all you have'nt mentioned weather you want it for "Preliminary" or for "Main"

However, you should opt for the subject in which you are good, or the subject which you think you can deliver your best.

It is not necessary that Polical science or Botany or any subjects will be easier, only the subject in which you are good or think you can handle it only that will be easier for you.

Well, since you a Dentist, you can opt "Medical Science" as your Optional.

Or followings will aslo be better:-

For Preliminary:

Botany
Zoology
Chemistry
Medical Science

For Mains:

Botany
Zoology
Chemistry
Sociology
English
Agrculture

~Faiyaz~
15th July 2010, 05:52 PM

hello friend your queiry is not complete you should mention here that for prelims or main you are asking for
friend you must choose your subject on the basis of your skills and your graduation subjects

that will be advantageous for you
15th July 2010, 06:59 PM

IT depends whether u are taking prelims or mains exam
Select RIGHT set of optional subject … a Strategic Decision in UPSC preparation

Read these Critical Parameters & Analyze:

A RIGHT Set of optional subjects ( Think & Analyze these parameters effectively ).
First Optional Subject – Focus on Prelim and Main both simultaneously.
Second Optional Subject – Focus on Main Only.
15th July 2010, 07:10 PM

Best optional subject for civil service examination for the main exam are agriculture, botany, history, law, political science and international relations, public administration, zoology, mechanical engineering. So, you can choose any one of these optional subjects according to your capability.

So, please choose those subjects in which you have a great interest. You can choose any one of the given subjects in main exams..........
15th July 2010, 09:50 PM
Hitha Nanjappa

all depends on which subject you are most interested in and more comfoetable with preparing youself..
22nd July 2010, 08:37 PM

hai friends.., can i know about psycology subject
24th July 2010, 12:33 AM

I think you would be good in bio. So you can opt for biology and anthropology. Also, you can opt arts subjects. The privilege with arts subject is that, it will help you very much in the preparation of general studies.also I would suggest you to choose a subject only on your choice which you like most because UPSC needs perfection and hard labor to the extent, you can go to.
24th July 2010, 04:44 PM
nillu

On the basis current scenario the best results are with arts stream subjects even the science students are opting for humanities subject and language. Recent trend is showing this only as Shah Faizal All india CSE topper being an MBBS opted for Urdu and Public administration and in the same way others too opt for similar subjects so its better too go through this way as its giving good results.

But make sure that you have interest in that particular subject. Because without having interest in th subject you cannot give your best In CSE./

Best of luck!!!!!!!!
26th July 2010, 05:19 PM

I want to ask that whether the selection of optional subjects would decide the job profile
after the selection in the exam?????
27th July 2010, 03:29 AM
nillu

Arrow Re: Best optional subject for civil service examination

It doesn't matter that which optional subject you have selected as your optional subject in CSE exams. The only thing which is considered is your rank in the exams if its high you will get the job of your choice like IAS and IPS. It hardly matters what was your subjects in the exam.

BEST of luck!!!!!!!!!
29th July 2010, 03:06 PM

hi myself geetha currently pursuing final year b.tech in IT. I wantwd to choose PSYCHOLOGY,GEOGRAPHY,POLITICAL SCIENCE. is my decision RIGHT?????????????
30th July 2010, 04:19 PM
nillu

My dear for civil service exam you need to have only two optional subjects so choose any two. Choose only those two in which you can perform best as you have to start from biginning.
Your choice of taking geography and political science is good.
Best regards!!!!!
9th August 2010, 12:50 PM

HI,i completed my msc biochemistry,i request u to help me out with my second optional.my first is zoology and the 2nd optional is psychology or political science .which one should i choose as second optional.
THANK YOU
9th August 2010, 10:55 PM
ravi k

dear frnd,as per my knowledge there is no any best optionals for civil services.it totaly depends on your interest.if you are not good in graduation subjects then you can choose any interesting subjects provided by upsc.
all d best.
16th August 2010, 12:24 AM

HI,i completed my msc biochemistry,i request u to help me out with my second optional.my first is zoology and the 2nd optional is psychology or political science .which one should i choose as second optional.
THANK YOU
Both the subject, Psychology and Political Science would be completely new for you. So you should analyze yourself that which one better suits to you. Psychology is scoring paper but very less people find their interest in it and so it becomes tough to handle it. However, political science is more interesting one. The more you read Politics the more you will find your interest into it.
Therefore, as per my suggestion the Political Science would be better choice as your second optional subject for civil services.
29th August 2010, 01:08 AM

Hi,i am doing my final year graduation in aviation maintenance science.I think as my optional subject geography and indian history or political science is the best one.Is my decision right?
30th August 2010, 12:20 AM

Hi,i am doing my final year graduation in aviation maintenance science.I think as my optional subject geography and indian history or political science is the best one.Is my decision right?
Since you are science student opting for any science subject is also a good decision.

I am not saying that subject you have choosen are wrong for you, just want to say select the only subject in which you can deliver your best. The subject in which you have good command.

However, large section of candidates opt for History and Geography so from this point of view comepetition will be get tougher. And I have also get feedback from various aspirants that History is tougher there.

So, think before acting.
30th August 2010, 12:44 AM
charli

as your subject is not belongs to the subjects lists prescribed by the UPSC so you can choose any two subjects given among the following subjects...

Medical Science
Chemistry
Philosophy
Civil Engineering
Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science
Mechanical Engineering
Botany
Physics
Commerce
Agriculture
Mathematics
Political Science
Economics
Psychology
Electrical Engineering
Public Administration
Geography
Sociology
Geology
Statistics
Indian History
Zoology.

30th August 2010, 12:46 AM
princearyan

dear friends

for the civil services the slection of the subjects play a very important role .

so choose the subjects in which you have more intrest.

may be that is from your subjects or out of the subjects.

but you can choose only those subjects that is in the list of the subjects.
30th August 2010, 01:01 AM
robart

there is no any best optional subjects or worst subjects .all depends upon owns interest.if you have interest in some subjects then it will be best for you.

as your dental subjects is not under the list of subjects provided by the UPSC so you can select any two subjects provided by the upsc.

there are about 22 subjects prescribed by the UPSC.

you can choose any of the them.

30th August 2010, 08:50 AM
maddusajj

well the choice of optional subject should be made such that the subject overlaps with the general paper,
in that way the amount of effort you have to put in for the general paper would be decreased
generally in that sense geography,political science,Indian history are preferred
30th August 2010, 08:50 AM
Adarshxxx

from your previous educational background i can see that you are free to choose any optional subject.but since you are medical student in will be good for you if you choose biology or anthropology.also arts subjects has the advantage that it helps your preparation in your general studies.but again i will say that it totally depends on your choice and interest the subject you choose.
All The best!!!!
30th August 2010, 11:19 AM
princearyan

dear friends,

first of all see the all the subjects list which is applicable for the civil servises examination,

then match your intrest your intrest with the pool of the subjects.

and choose one of the subjects from the pool of the subjects.
30th August 2010, 04:53 PM

There is nothing as best optional subject. Some may choose arts while other may choose science. Since you are a BDS, science subject will be suitable for you. Choose the subject which you feel is good for you and you can score well.
31st August 2010, 12:04 AM
subhash5687

yes there is Medical Science
Chemistry
Philosophy
Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Botany
Physics
Commerce
Agriculture
Mathematics
Political Science
Economics
Psychology
Electrical Engineering
Public Administration
Geography
Sociology
Geology
Statistics
Indian History
Zoology
31st August 2010, 12:17 AM
subhash5687

you wil got job you should log on to the sit
www.fresherworld.com
www.naukri.com
2nd September 2010, 07:42 PM

Smile Re: Best optional subject for civil service examination

dear vaishali,
i am a marine engineer by profession and have a background of mechanical engg. and wit regard to this i want to opt for geography and ME for civil services .Have teir been any previous instances of success with the above subjects.
11th September 2010, 02:38 PM

what about mech. engg. as optional subject.it will be scoring or not?
12th September 2010, 02:11 PM
nillu

what about mech. engg. as optional subject.it will be scoring or not?
you can definetly carry on with your subject i.e. mech. engineering but you have to keep in mind that you must have command on that subject and should be able to do maximum questions.

But the general trend is that even the science students go for arts subjects in CSE and perform well but it all differs from person to person.
So be confident and prepare well for the exam/
13th September 2010, 03:04 PM

i am now in b.tech 2yr. should i begin preparation for civil services exam for good rank?
if yes,in which manner?
thanking you.
16th September 2010, 05:05 PM

i am now in b.tech 2yr. should i begin preparation for civil services exam for good rank?
if yes,in which manner?
thanking you.
18th September 2010, 02:03 PM

dear sir,would you tell me botany as a scoring subject in civil service exam. or not
19th September 2010, 07:36 PM

am now in b.tech 2yr. should i begin preparation for civil services exam for good rank?
if yes,in which manner?
thanking you.
20th September 2010, 05:14 PM
mohit brh

You can choose any subject in which you want to learn or subject you have interest select for civil services exam. i think you can select subject related to arts side because it is easy to understand.
23rd September 2010, 07:03 PM

hi , Im a b.tech in mechanical engineering stream and in a job as production engineer.its my second year in the job. im planning to go for civil services, please suggest me what optionals can i opt for....
my bond with the company ends in july 2011,hence thinking to take coaching from july 2011... in the mean time i want to prepare myself,please suggest me what to do...
25th September 2010, 01:27 AM
subhash1206

you can select any of them they all are best
Medical Science
Chemistry
Philosophy
Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Botany
Physics
Commerce
Agriculture
Mathematics
Political Science
Economics
Psychology
Electrical Engineering
Public Administration
Geography
Sociology
Geology
Statistics
Indian History
gud luck dear
25th September 2010, 02:28 AM

hi , Im a b.tech in mechanical engineering stream and in a job as production engineer.its my second year in the job. im planning to go for civil services, please suggest me what optionals can i opt for....
my bond with the company ends in july 2011,hence thinking to take coaching from july 2011... in the mean time i want to prepare myself,please suggest me what to do...

As you are already in an earning position then I don't think you would have any problem quiting your job. If you quit in JUL 2011 then you would be able to appear UPSC 2012.
You can start preparing from General Studies.
As you an engineer with experience then Mechanical itself would be the right choice as your optional subject.
The second subject you can choose as per your interest.
Public Admin generally goes well with tough subjects and so is the Mech.
Currently, you should focus on GS only. After 3-4 months you can start for optional subjects.
For GS, start reading The Hindu daily. Apart from that some magazines like CHRONICLE, PRATIYOGITA DARPAN, CSR etc should be read.

If possible, then purchase GS study material of Vajiram & Ravi(Best institute for GS).

25th September 2010, 03:20 PM

if yes,in which manner?
8th November 2010, 10:45 PM
chandana Reddy

hi..
there are many optionals that you can opt for your civil service exam...

Agriculture
Mathematics
Animal Husbandry & Vetinary Science
Mechanical Engineering
Botany
Medical Science
Chemistry
Philosophy
Civil Engineering
Physics
Commerce
Political Science
Economics
Psychology
Electrical Engineering
Public Administration
Geography
Sociology
Geology
Statistics
Indian History
Zoology
Law *
you can choose the one which you are interested and good at..*
all the best...
12th November 2010, 10:18 PM

best combination with physics?
16th December 2010, 03:37 PM

is optnl subject for prelim n mains r same or 1 hv to choose diffrntly?????
28th December 2010, 10:35 PM
ashish@

I completed my engineering and worked in reputed Multinational company for 2.5 yrs. I resigned the job and came for its preparation. According to new syllabus, I have selected Public Administration as my first optional paper. I am in great confusion. Which subject should i opt among Geography and Sociology as my 2nd optional paper.
Please guide me.

Thanks &Regards
Ashish
28th February 2011, 12:22 PM

im from a electonics background, hou can i choose subjects
2nd March 2011, 01:08 AM

hello mrunal,
i have a confusion over the selection of my 2nd optional subj. between sociology nd geograpy.
my analysis over these subjects r :
sociology:
@mains-easy 2 understand the subject nd can b writen if v hav a basic knowledge with our own thoughts. is it ok 2 write by applying our own thots instead of writing what exactly given in books??
geography :
@mains- easy 2 understand, bt cant attempt if v dont have knowledge on it. much things 2 mug up.
bt advantage is that many geogpy questions appear in prelims.
am i ri8 about the analysis.??am interested in both so which 1 is better to be opted?? please suggest...