16th April 2010, 10:47 PM
raviteja936

Changing from Engineering to Medicine?

Hi
I am a student of Electrical Engg at IIT Kharagpur.
I am interested in pursuing medicine after my graduation,but I haven't done biology at plus2 level.
Please let me know what should I do. Can I do XII class again with BPC from open school(NIOS),or other boards and take PMT.
Please let me know at the earliest.
Thank you

17th April 2010, 07:08 AM
khusi

Default Re: Changing from Engineering to Medicine?

yes you are right,you have to do 12th again and write pmt for doing medicine,
but let me tell you you are in iit there is no need for going to medicine because you are already going to have great career,there is no need for you to try such things
17th April 2010, 07:17 AM
satyavani
Senior Member++

hi,
i think its not an such an great idea Wat you are trying ,
there are many people who do not have Wat they want ,you still are very lucky as you are studying in iit,i dont see any need for you to do inter again and go for medicine ,but if you have made your mind then go for it
all the best
17th April 2010, 05:32 PM
vike
Senior Member+++++

Dear friend
I think you are currently doing one the best course from one of the best or perhaps the institution of India. I am surprised to know that after clearing JEE and taking admission in IIT kgp your mind has been changed now.
Anyways, if you are interested in going for medical science then you need to have a degree of 12th board in bio stream. But there is an alternate also. You can take admission in Biotechnology which is one of the best course of this stream and that can be done even after doing 12th in maths stream.
After Btech or BSc in biotechnology you can go for higher studies in India or abroad. That would fulfill your interest and also it would be bright career.