17th September 2012, 11:28 AM
Kumar singh niraj

How to be an IPS? I am a graduate

Hi sir
i m niraj kumar singh from bihar i m in graduation (geo-hon)part 1 i want to be an ips but sir i m the poor faimly as well as no any types facility avilable hare to prepare it how can i prepare it plse enfore m on my [email protected] plse reply me soon thanks

1st October 2012, 11:19 AM
rahul k
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to be an IPS? I am a graduate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kumar singh niraj View Post
Hi sir
i m niraj kumar singh from bihar i m in graduation (geo-hon)part 1 i want to be an ips but sir i m the poor faimly as well as no any types facility avilable hare to prepare it how can i prepare it plse enfore m on my [email protected] plse reply me soon thanks
IPS stands for Indian Police services and to become IPS Officer you have to complete your Graduate degree course first and apply for the UPSC Civil services examination, This examination is conducted by UPSC Every year in two stages, preliminary and Mains.

The notification is Published in the month of February every year and if your graduation is complete or if you have pursuing your final year of course then you can apply for this examination.

Your age should between 21 to 30 years, upper age relaxation is applicable for SC/ST/OBC candidates.

This exam is highly competitive, around 4 lakh students appear for it every year. Although vacancies are very few, only 900 are selected. Regarding IPS, it is the cadre wich will be allotted to you after selection. Your chances of getting IPS depends on your rank. Generally, top rank within 150-250 gets IPS branch.

Preliminary exam is conducted in May, after getting through this stag, then you can write Mains, which is conducted in October. After this comes Interview. This exam is objective as well as subjective. If you cracked Mains also then you are eligible for Final Interview.