12th April 2018, 03:23 AM
Unregistered

Is it necessary to qualify IPCC/CPT to study ICAI course for BCom student?

Respected Sir, I am in 3rd year of BCom(H) and I want to become Chartered Accountant. I want to know that after passing BCom, I need to qualify in IPCC or CPT exam to do ICAI course? Kindly let me know about this immediately. Thank you!

14th April 2018, 07:57 PM
AWNISH RANJAN CHAUDHARY
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Is it necessary to qualify IPCC/CPT to study ICAI course for BCom student?

There are three stages of Chartered Accountancy course:

1. Common Proficiency Test.

2. Integrated Professional Competence course.

3. Final course.

Students after 12th are eligible for CPT to get admission in CA course. On the other hand, graduates and post graduates with 55% marks or more in bachelor's degree in commerce can skip CPT but will have to go for IPCC stage.

If your percentage is above required then you can go for IPCC otherwise you will have to give CPT exam.
14th April 2018, 09:50 PM
Dadi Maa
Senior Member+

Default Re: Is it necessary to qualify IPCC/CPT to study ICAI course for BCom student?

It is necessary to qualify either Common Proficiency Test or score 55% marks in Bachelor of Commerce to get into Chartered Accountancy course.

There are two ways to get into CA course:

At 12th level, you can apply for Common Proficiency Test.

Bachelor of Commerce candidates with 55% marks can directly apply CA IPCC stage. But for this, you must meet percentage requirement else you will have to clear CPT first.
15th April 2018, 08:40 AM
aashisranjan784
Senior Member+++++

Chartered Accountancy is a professional course. This course has three stages which any candidate needs to go through for becoming Chartered Accountant.

>>Common Proficiency Test.

>>Integrated Professional Competence course.

>>Final course.