10th May 2017, 01:13 PM
Unregistered

What should I take in PUC?

At present I Am studying in ninth standard.I want to serve as an ias officer in my future.so in my puc should I take commerce / science/ arts.i am confused.plz say which to take

10th May 2017, 03:53 PM
rachna sarswat
Senior Member+

Default Re: What should I take in PUC?

You can choose any stream of your interest as the educational qualification for being an IAS officer is graduation in any stream from a recognized university.

But in my opinion Arts stream will be better for being an IAS officer. Because in arts stream you can read the subjects like political science, history etc in which you will get to read more about general knowledge and general studies.

Thanks
10th May 2017, 04:33 PM
lvnareshsunrise
Senior Member+++++

It is good that you have decided upon what you want to be in the future. Being an IAS officer is a dream for so many candidates but it is very difficult to achieve it.

As your goal is to become IAS officer, you can choose stream in your PUC as per your interest between Science and Commerce.

Because candidates from both the streams are eligible to become IAS officers. And there will be both Commerce and Science subjects in the list of optional subjects for IAS Exam.

The selection process consists of 3 levels
-CSAT Exam (Civil Services Preliminary)
-Civil Services Main Exam
-Interview

Required age criteria is as follows :
Candidates of General category should be in the age group of 21-32 years
Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC category
Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 5 years for the candidates of SC/ST category

Number of attempts :
Maximum of 6 attempts for the candidates of General category
Maximum of 9 attempts for the candidates of OBC category
No limit on number of attempts for SC/ST category.