19th February 2016, 12:08 AM
Unregistered

Eligibility for IAS UPSC exam after getting failed in one of the intermediate subject?

I am a graduate student from well known university,but i Ws failed maths subject in intermediate course, is i am eligible for I.A.S ( UPSC )

20th February 2016, 10:34 PM
Saikiranreddy47475
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Eligibility for IAS UPSC exam after getting failed in one of the intermediate subject?

Yes, you are eligible to appear in UPSC IAS examination after completion of your Graduation course from a recognised university. You have mentioned that you have failed Mathematics subject in your 12th standard but, there will not be any problem if you have already cleared that subject. If you have not cleared that subject then, at the time of document verification, you may face problems. Being a Graduate from a recognised university, you are eligible to apply for UPSC IAS examination.
20th February 2016, 11:18 PM
Aswiniteju
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Eligibility for IAS UPSC exam after getting failed in one of the intermediate subject?

No, you are not eligible to apply for IAS UPSC Examination after getting failed in one of the Intermediate subjects. Yes, the minimum educational qualification required for itself is "Graduate Degree" or Any Bachelor Degree in any discipline from a recognized university. As it is mentioned in the UPSC IAS Notification that Graduation is required, it means candidates must have passed 12th Class before doing Graduation obviously.

As the Graduation PASS is required, it obviously says that "Intermediate" or its equivalent qualification must be successfully PASSED. i.e.,

>> 12th Pass is Mandatory besides Graduation Pass.

As you have not met the required eligibility criteria, I am very sorry to say that you are not eligible. I suggest you to Clear the backlog first in order to be eligible for UPSC IAS Examination.
21st February 2016, 09:14 AM
BISWARUPYOGI
Senior Member+++++

Quote: