22nd December 2009, 11:16 AM
ANANTHU SIVAN

Mtech in petroleum engineering? higher studies and career in oil sector

sir,

I am a final year student of mechanical engineering and i looking forward to a career in oil sector.kindly give me the suitable higher study option that would enable me to fetch a job in this sector.

also please sent me the required syllabus to prepare for the gate exam in this sector.

Yous sincierly
ananthu

6th January 2010, 11:30 AM
maddusajj
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Mtech in petroleum engineering? higher studies and career in oil sector

the IOCL is taking students based on their gate rank,
the notification and application forms will be available from January 11
7th January 2010, 01:17 PM
ryan
Senior Member+

Default Re: Mtech in petroleum engineering? higher studies and career in oil sector

you are a mechanical engg. syudent,so you can easily get ajob in several sectors ,but if are very interested in joining oil sector then i suggest you to write GATE this year,because IOCL will have direct interview according to the GATE scorecard.

other companies like hpcl,bpcl etc have their own entrance exams,followed by an interview.

and for GATE you just need to by a good book and prepare well for it,and this year onwards they are also asking some aptitude questions in gate,so prepare well for that too.
7th January 2010, 07:10 PM
faiyaz
Senior Member++++

After completing your b.tech you have decided well to go for m.tech.

For great career prospect Iwill advice you to go for m.tech in petroleum engineering from IIT-M it is well known for its petroleum engineering department,for it you have to crack GATE,which you are going to appear.

Or you can also opt for M.tech (applied) petroleum engineering offered by The Nowrosjee Wadia College, which is affiliated to University of Pune.

Or you can also opt for M.tech petroleum refining and petrochemicals,offered by Anna university,admission through TANCET.