Ph.D in Physics – Colleges (South India) and Admission Procedure


South India is blessed with a lot of reputed colleges offering Ph.D in Physics. Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeedom, Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad, Cochin University of Science and Technology, National Institute of Technology, Kozhikode, National Institute of Technology, Karnataka, Siddagainga Institute of Technology, etc are some such colleges. Candidates with master degree holders in Physics holding a minimum aggregate of 60% marks will be considered for admission. Admissions are done on the basis of written exam and interview.

Colleges Offering Ph.D in Physics in Tamil Nadu

  • A.M Jain College
  • A.N.J.A College
  • A.Veeraiya Vandayar Memorial Sri Pushpam College
  • Adhiparasakthi Engineering College
  • Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeedom
  • Avinashilingam University for Women
  • B.S Abdur Rahman Crescent Engineering College
  • Chikkaiah Naiacker College
  • Holy Cross College
  • Kalasalingam University
  • Loyola College
  • Madura College
  • Mother Teresa Women’s College
  • Pachaiyappas College
  • Periyar E.V.R College
  • Presidency College
  • Sri Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College
  • S.R.M University
  • Sacred Heart University
  • Saveetha University
  • Seethalakshmi Ramaswami College
  • Sri Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya College of Arts and Science
  • Urumu Dhanalakshmi College
  • Viridhunagar Hindu Nadar’s Senthikumara Nadar College

Colleges Offering Ph.D in Physics in Andhra Pradesh

  • GITAM University
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderadad
  • Koneru Lakshmaiah University
  • Osmania University
  • University of Hyderabad

Colleges Offering Ph.D in Physics in Kerala

  • C.M.S College
  • Catholicate College
  • Cochin University of Science and Technology
  • Maharaja’s College
  • Mahatma Gandhi College
  • Mar Athanasius College
  • Mar Ivanios College
  • Marthoma College
  • National Institute of Technology, Kozhikode
  • Newman College
  • Sacred Heart College
  • University of Calicut

Colleges Offering Ph.D in Physics in Karnataka

  • Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham
  • Christ University
  • Gulbarga University
  • Jain University
  • M.S Ramaiah Institute of Technology
  • Mangalore University
  • National Institute of Technology, Karnataka
  • NMAM Institute of Technology
  • S.D.M College of Engineering and Technology
  • Siddagainga Institute of Technology
  • Sri Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering

Admission procedure for Ph.D in Physics

Master degree in Physics is the basic qualification required. Admissions are generally done on the basis of entrance test. Entrance exams will be based on the syllabus of the qualifying degree and are usually conducted by the concerned institute.

Master’s degree holders in Physics or equivalent with a minimum 60% can apply for the course in NIT, Thiruchirapalli and NIT, Karnataka. Selection of eligible candidates is done in the basis of written exam and interview conducted at the institute. Candidates with valid GATE / UGC / CSIR / NBHM / NET score are also considered for admissions. Candidates with similar qualifications and with an aggregate of 50% marks can seek admission in Calicut University. Admissions are done on the basis of entrance test conducted at department of Physics, Calicut University.



Do you have any question? Please ask:

Questions will be answered on our Forum section

One Response to “Ph.D in Physics – Colleges (South India) and Admission Procedure”

  1. 1

    What is the procedure for MRCS;
    Are there agencies or consultants who can guide or assist for the procedures