What to do after B.Sc Biology?

There are a lot of areas where students of biology can specialize after they complete their studies. Apart from the many available specializations in a variety of fields, students can also go for job within or outside the country. Provided below are details on what a person can do after finishing their graduation in biology.

Higher Studies Options after B.Sc Biology

After doing their graduation in Biology a greater number of graduates will choose to do their masters and get a job after that. Though this can be considered to be a much better method, some students opt to go for jobs soon after their graduation. With the advantage of higher studies, students will certainly get an edge over others. Apart from this, the possibility for them to get better jobs in highly specialized areas will be higher too. It can be said that going for higher studies will increase the analytical skills, skills in communication and specialist knowledge by going for postgraduate studies.  If a student desires to get a job as a scientist or lecturer in a university, it is crucial that they have a Doctoral degree in an area of specialization.

Provided below are some of the field from which students can choose their specialization:

• Agriculture
  • Agronomy
  • Animal Behavior (Ethology)
  • Animal Science
  • Anthropology
  • Aquatic Science
  • Astrobiology
  • Bacteriology
  • Biochemistry
  • Biodiversity Studies
  • Bioethics
  • Bioinformatics
  • Biological Materials Supply Companies
  • Biological Systems Engineering
  • Biomechanics
  • Biometry (Biostatistics)
  • Biophysics
  • Biotechnology
  • Botany
  • Conservation of Natural Resources
  • Dairy Science
  • Developmental Biology
  • Ecology and Environment
  • Endocrinology
  • Entomology
  • Environmental Journalism
  • Environmental Law
  • Ethology
  • Fish and Wildlife Management
  • Fisheries Biology
  • Food Science
  • Forensic Entomology
  • Forensic Science
  • Forestry
  • Genetic counseling
  • Genetics
  • Genomics
  • Health Fields
  • Herpetology
  • Horticulture
  • Ichthyology
  • Immunology
  • Laboratory Animal Science Under
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Limnology
  • Mammalogy
  • Marine Biology
  • Marine Mammal Science
  • Mathematical Biology
  • Microbiology, Bacteriology
  • Microscopy
  • Mycology
  • Natural Resource Management
  • Nematology (study of round worms)
  • Neuroscience (Neurobiology)
  • Oceanography
  • Ornithology
  • Paleontology
  • Parasitology
  • Photobiology
  • Physiology (Animal)
  • Plant Biology
  • Plant Pathology
  • Proteomics
  • Science writer
  • Soil Science
  • Virology
  • Wildlife Conservation & Management
  • Zoology

Job Opportunities for B.Sc Biology Graduates

There are many organizations, research institutes as well as corporate in our world that take in professionals of Biology. Some of them include:

• Agricultural Insect Classification And Control Recommendations
  • Biotechnology And Pharmaceutical Firms
  • Botanical Gardens
  • Broadcast Companies
  • Clinical Research Organizations And Universities
  • Colleges And Schools
  • Conservatories
  • Cosmetics - Aids for Health & Beauty
  • Environmental Testing Supplies
  • Fertilizer & Chemicals Plants
  • Insect Cataloging And Identification (Museums)
  • NHS Trusts And Private Hospitals
  • Plant Genetics Research
  • Science Centres
  • Scientific & Medical Equipment Supplies
  • Scientific Plus Technical Consultancies
  • Seed Companies

Graduates of biology who opt for non biological careers can use their skills in other fields. Some of the non – biological areas comprise of:

• Analysis of Research Data
  • Banking
  • Data analysis
  • Marketing
  • Quality Control

Short Term Courses for B.Sc Biology Graduates

Institute of Bioinformatics & Applied Biotechnology (IBAB) is one of the leading institutions in our country that provide students with a number of short term courses. They are offered chiefly in the fields of biotechnology and bioinformatics. These courses were fashioned with the intention of meeting the explicit objectives of different organizations. However, as to join these courses, the students are needed to have a postgraduate degree in life science.

19 Responses to “What to do after B.Sc Biology?”

1. 19
    eta oghenebredjio:

Sir, i have B.sc in Biological sciences (microbiology). i want to go for a second degree to study medicine is it advisable and is it compulsory to do my masters.pls advice

2. 18
    Mukesh Kumar:

Sir I am student of BSc-II
    Subject-Chemistry,Botany,Zoology
    Sir, please tell me what I dn after Bsc in medical line and teaching

3. 17
    hasnat zaman:

i want to be a doctor by graduate in bio(bsc)

4. 16
    godwin udofot:

I have B.Sc(ed) Biology/education and want to consider taking
    A masters degree programme in engineering. Please advise.

5. 15
    Ankita jain:

Sir rite nw i m doing b.sc in bio. And after this i want to do forensic sci. So guide me plz

6. 14
    ritika:

sir, i am b.sc biotesh student
    sir plz tell me what i do after b.sc biotech n from which i get good job ……

7. 13
    ruby:

can i get admission in any medical college after bsc(bio). without any pmt like entrens exam. plz answer me.

8. 12
    rose khan:

sir i am a biology student and i have already given two attempts in cpmt but i could not qualify mbbs now i am in bsc third year but i am confused what to do.mein cpmt ki prepration karti rahu ya quit kar du kyunki ye mera last chance rahega aur agar is baar nahi hua to mere parents meri shaadi kar denge plz sir plz. help i want your advice

9. 11
    madhubala:

sir i am, 3rd year student of b.Sc.
    subject:-chemistry and microbiology
    sir please reply me what i do after b.SC.
    SIR Please suggest me what is better for me in future

10. 10
    madhubala:

sir i am, 3rd year student of b.Sc.
    subject:-chemistry and microbiology
    sir please reply me what i do after b.SC.

11. 9
    ansh:

which one is better either to do bsc with biochemistry or with biotech?

12. 8
    Nidhi Agarwal:

Respected sir/mam,
    I have done B.sc. in biology. I have Zoology, Chemistry, Botany. I want to do M.sc. io chemistry. Plz give me some information of entrance exams related to it. Plz

13. 7
    divya:

Agar me anatomy,physiology or microbiology k sath bsc kru to muje future me kha job mil skta he?or bsc k bad me ye sujects pr or age kaun sa course kar sakti hu?pls tell me about that

14. 6
    Anuradha Chauhan:

Respected SIR,
    Sir i am a 3rd year student & going to pass my Bsc in Bio-Science i want to do Msc in enviorntmental sciences please kindly guide me

15. 5
    Ashim:

I passed B.Sc with botany,zoology,physiology.Now I want to do postgraduate in Environmental study.If I completed,then can I get teaching job in school/college/university.Please give me a right direction to be a successful person sir.
    Ashim

16. 4
    shankarappa m:

sir, i am requisted i am complete B Sc with botany zoology and sericulture sir i am intrested in horticulture please inform me.

17. 3
    visariya reena:

hello sir/madam
    i have given my final year exam in B.Sc (microbiology) this year. i want to do m.b.a in biology specialization like biotech or agriculture. sir plz suggest me good colleges and about their entrance exams and fee structure. plz sir reply me soon if you can.
    THANK YOU.

18. 2
    TASNIM:

Which is the Career choose after b.sc. in zoology

19. 1
    Quazi Saif ullah:

I want to do Msc in Physiology (Distance). I want to get details of (Distance)institutes in Kolkata.