13th November 2019, 03:47 PM
Priyanka Garg (1275161)

Am I eligible to appear in NET if completed correspondence MCA course?

Hi Sir/Madam, I am studying MCA course in correspondence mode from Sastra University. Am I eligible for NET exam? I want to appear in NET so that I can study PhD program. Please let me know as soon as possible.

14th November 2019, 10:05 PM
Blessmegod
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Am I eligible to appear in NET if completed correspondence MCA course?

NET stands for National Eligibility Test and to appear in the same examination the minimum education required is a Master's degree in concerned subject with at least 55% marks in aggregate from a recognised university. Marks relaxation of 5% is allowed in case of reserved category candidates as per the government norms.

So, having completed your MCA (Master of Computer Application) degree course in correspondence mode, you are eligible to apply for NET if your college is approved by UGC for offering MCA degree course in distance mode and you have managed to complete your MCA degree course with at least 55% marks (or 50% marks in case you belong to reserved category).

For details regarding NET, you can refer to the link www.ntanet.nic.in.
15th November 2019, 06:17 AM
aashisranjan784
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Am I eligible to appear in NET if completed correspondence MCA course?

NET stands for National Eligibility Test. NET is examination conducted by NTA for UGC and CSIR. CSIR NET is conducted for science stream candidates. NTA UGC NET is conducted for arts stream candidates.

The minimum academic qualification required to apply for NET exam is master's degree in any stream from a recognized university. Candidate must have minimum of 55% marks in master's degree.

Your distance master's degree will be valid if you have done it from institute approved by Distance Education council.
15th November 2019, 10:34 AM
Badtameez Dil
Senior Member++