22nd January 2013, 01:57 AM
ersalimzaffar

What is the eligibility for IES entrance exam?

I wanted to know about the IES examination 2014 eligibility

23rd January 2013, 09:07 AM

Default Re: What is the eligibility for IES entrance exam?

Originally Posted by ersalimzaffar View Post

IES Stands for Indian Engineering Service examination and this examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission Once in a year.

If you have completed Engineering course then also you are applicable for IES exam OR If you have M.Sc degree in Physics , Radio Physics then you are applicable for IES exam.

Those candidate have completed engineering degree with below given department are applicable for IES exam-

1.Civil Engineering
2.Electrical Engineering
3.Mechanical engineering.
4.Electronics and Communication Engineering.

Final year student also eligible for IES exam .

The applicant age should between 21 yrs to 30 yrs.Age relaxation is provide for SC/ST/OBC candidate.

Number of attempts for IES exam is for general student it is 4., for OBC it is 7 times. and for SC/ST it is 9 time.

Pattern of IES Exam:-

List of the Best IES coaching Center in India:-

I.E.S. Made Easy
44-A / 1, Kalu Sarai (Sarvapriya Vihar) New Delhi – 110016.
Phone: Delhi : 011-45124612 , 09958995830
Email id - [email protected]

IES Academy
IES ACADEMY,
25 , Jia Sarai, Near IIT, Hauz Khas,
New Delhi – 16
Ph: 011 - 26537570,
Mob: 09810958290

RAOS JAIPUR IAS/IES/RAS INSTITUTE
Address: 3 Kailash Vihar Lal Kothi Tonk Road
City: Jaipur
State: Rajasthan
Phone: 0141- 2742077 9314226621 921450583

For more information , you can also visit http://upsc.gov.in
23rd January 2013, 02:04 PM
DKG7

Thumbs up Re: What is the eligibility for IES entrance exam?

IES Stands for Indian Engineering Service

A candidate must have completed their Engineering course after apply this exam.....

Age Limit : 21- 30 years....

No attempts : general student it is 4 (OBC -7 , SC/ST-9)

books for IES exam.

I.E.S. General Ability (Topic Wise Solved Papers)
Publisher: G K Publishers Pvt. Ltd

Chapterwise Solved Papers (2012-2000) IES Indian Engineering Services Objective Paper Electrical Engineering (Paper 1 & 2)
Code: D372
ISBN: 9789350940839
Author: Trump & Gates & Prashant Kumar Bharti
Pages: 554
Price: 340/-

IES-2012 Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering Conventional Solved Papers
Publisher: Made Easy Team

Chapterwise Solved Papers (2011-2000) IES Indian Engineering Services Objective Paper Electronics & Telecommuincation (Paper-1 & 2)
Code: D374
ISBN: 9788183487313
Author: Manish Purbey
Pages: 553
Price: 275/-

U.P.S.C. (IES) Engineering Services Examination: Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering (Solved Papers)
Publisher: G. K. Publications Pvt. Ltd

all the best.........
23rd January 2013, 09:02 PM
SK@S

Indian Engineering services Exams are conducted by UPSC each year
Exam for the year 2013 will be held on 28th june for 3 days

Eligibilty to sit in this exam is :
BE/BTECH pass
Final year BE/BTECH student can also apply for this exam

Age- Minimum 21 years
Maximum 30 years
Age relaxations is given to candidates belonging to OBC and SC/ST category
OBC gets 3 years and SC/ST gets 5 years

This exam is held to fill vacancies in various Government departments like:
Indian Railway Service of Engineers.
Indian Railway Stores Services
Indian Defence Service of Engineers
Indian Ordance Factories Services.
Central Water Engineering Gr. 'A' Service
Central Engineering Service (Roads) Group-A.
Border Roads Engineering Service Gr. 'A'

This exam is held to fill jobs in below 4 streams of Engineering:
>> Mechanical
>> Civil
>> Electrical
>> Electonics and Telecommunications
23rd January 2013, 09:30 PM
end of query

IES stands for indian engineering services. It is the exam which provides the job in the government sector of india. The eligiblity for giving the IES exam is that you should be a graduate in engineering from any of these listed engineering branches-
1. Mechanical engineering
2. Electrical engineering
3. Civil engineering
4. Electronics and communication engineering

You can also apply if you’re in your final year of engineering.
Your age should be in between 21-30 years of age for the general category while the relaxation of 3 and 5 years is given to th obc and sc/st candidates respectively.
Gud luck
24th January 2013, 01:56 AM
SHARIB IZHAR

Indian Engineering Test

Eligibility criteria:-

Educational Qualifications :

Degree in :
• Electrical Engineering
• Electronics & Communications Engineering
• Civil Engineering
• Mechanical Engineering

• M.Sc. degree or equivalent with Wireless Communication, Electronics, Radio Physics or Radio Engineering as a special subject is also acceptable for certain posts.
• Students of final year Engineering or equivalent degree are also eligible.

Age Limititations :

Candidate should not less than 21 years and not more than 30 years as on August 1st on year of conduct of examination ( upper age limit relaxable for SCs/STs,OBCs and certain others )

Last date for application :-

Usually in the first week of March in year of conduct of examination.For details refer website www.upsc.gov.in

Date of examination :-
Commences from usually in the last weeks of June in the year of conduct of examination .

Thank you for sharing your query with our forum.......
24th January 2013, 12:18 PM
gamble007

INDIAN ENGINEERING SERVICE (IES)

This engineering services is conducted by the UNION PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION (UPSC).
Through this examination, you can apply in the various government sector for the various engineering posts.
The educational requirement for this examination is a B.TECH/B.E./B.sc (eng.) Degree or its equivalent from a recognized university.
The stream of the engineering degree may be:-
1. CIVIL ENGINEERING
2. MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
3. ELECTRICAL & COMMUNICATION ENGINEERING
4. ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING

Exam pattern-

Exam syllabus according to their stream in B.tech:-

The age limit for this examination is a 21-30 years,
There are 3 & 5 years of the age limit relaxations are applicable for the OBC & SC\ST candidates respectively.

No. of attempts-

Four for the General candidates,
Seven for the OBC candidates,
No such restriction for the SC\ST candidates..

For more information- www.upsc.gov.in

~Gamble~
25th January 2013, 11:24 PM
onlyforyou

Dear There,

The acronym for IES is Indian Engineering Service exam.

UPSC(Union Public Service Commission) conducts IES examination once every year.

The IES exam pattern:-
http://jhunjhunu.info/Educations/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/ies-1.gif

http://jhunjhunu.info/Educations/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/ies-2.gif

The eligibility criteria required for the IES examination are prescribed as below:-

* Completion of engineering course or master degree in science stream or final year students of graduation from any recognised college/university.

* Age limit- 21-30 yrs.

* Age relaxation- 3 yrs for OBC and 5 yrs for SC/ST contendors.

* No. of attempts- 4 for General, 7 for OBC and 9 for SC/ST contendors.

Hope the above mentioned will help you to get the information you were searching for.

15th April 2013, 06:53 PM
eiidelhi

First i want to tell you that IES ( Indian Engineering Services ) name has changed now it's ESE ( Engineering Services Exam ).

Eligibility :

Nationality : Indian, Nepal, Bhutan, Tibetan refugee.
Age Limit : 21-30 years
Qualification : B.E/B.Tech, Passed Graduate Membership Examination of the Institute of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (India)

You can also view it all details from upsc site & www.engineersinstitute.com
25th May 2013, 08:11 PM

My d.o.b is 6.6.1993. Am i possible to write IES exam in 2014
9th June 2013, 12:01 PM

MY degree is m.sc. physics (specilization in electronics).AM i eligible for ies.
17th June 2013, 02:10 PM
anuragblue

I was born on January 18, 1984. Will I be eligible to write ESE in 2014?

I started preparing for 2013 exam but as of now my preparations are not up to the mark and have not been able to cover most of the topics as I started late.

Correct information will help me in starting the preperation in the right manner.
19th June 2013, 11:24 AM

IF A person completes his btech degree in 5 yrs is he eligible for IES???
21st June 2013, 03:41 PM
BISWAROOP YOGI

Indian Engineering Services Examination

>> Bachelor degree in these streams are only eligible to apply :

• Mechanical Engineering.

• Electrical Engineering.

• Electronics and Communication Engineering.

• Civil Engineering.

>> Eligibility requirement :-

♦ Educational qualification :-
You should be pass out in Bachelor degree engineering course.

Your engineering degree should be approved from the AICTE.

♦ Age :-

Your minimum age should be 21 years.

Your age should not be above 28 years.

♦ Exam Syllabus and Pattern details :-

Paper I (Objective Paper) - Total Marks 600.

General ability test and General studies - Total Duration 2 hours.
Engineering Paper I - Total Duration 2 hours.
Engineering Paper II - Total Duration 2 hours.

Paper II (Conventional Paper) - Total Marks 600.

Engineering Paper I - Total duration will be 3 hours.
Engineering Paper II - Total duration will be 3 hours.

>> Best of luck . . .
28th June 2013, 10:40 AM

I am a final year student of power electronics engineering.. am i eligible to apply in electrical category in Engineering Services Exam????????
5th July 2013, 02:49 PM

what is the selection criteria in the ESE
5th July 2013, 09:02 PM
sherleytwain

Indian Engineering Service is the most prestigious entrance exam to take place for the Engineering graduates in India. This exam is your ticket to work in various goverment departments.

These departments deal in different areas. Some are related to road, highway constructions while some has to do with Railways, army etc. The vacancies in these deparments is filled through the Indian Engineering Service.

It is not easy to clear the IES entrance exam. This is considered as one of the toughest entrance exam in the world to crack. Therefore you will have to work really hard to clear it.

The Indian Engineering Service entrance exam is conducted for 4 branches of Engineering:-

1. Civil Engineering

2. Electrical Engineering

3. Mechanical Engineering.

4. Electronics and Communication

You can apply for it if meeting the following requirements.

IES Eligibility

1. The candidate should have citizenship of India.

2. Bachelor of Technology degree from a AICTE recognized college.

3. There is no percentage criteira.

4. Final year students can also apply.

5. The age of candidate should not be less than 21 years to apply.

6. The upper age limit is 30 years for the IES entrance exam.

7. OBC are eligible for 3 years relaxation.

8. 5 years of relaxation given to SC/ST.
6th July 2013, 08:22 PM
nitz90

Smile Re: What is the eligibility for IES entrance exam?

About IES Examination

Indian Engineering Services Exam conducted by the UPSC every year generally in June or July..

The competition is very intense as there are very few seats available and students from all over India are competing for these few seats..

The eligibility criteria for appearing in the IES Exam is :

1) The applicant should have completed B.E/B.Tech in any one of the following disciplines through a recognized College :

a) Civil Engineering
b) Electrical Engineering
c) MEchanical Engineering
d) Electronics and Communications Engineering

2) If you have done your M.Sc. in Radio Physics, Radio Communications or Wireless Communications then also you are applicable for the exam..

3) The age restriction for the various category candidates is as follows:-

(i) General - 21-30 years
(ii) OBC - 21-33 years
(iii) SC/ST - 21-35 years

Note :- The number of attempts a general category candidate is applicable for is 4 and OBC has 7

Exam Pattern :-

There are 2 phases in this examination :

Phase-1 :- General Studies and 2 objective papers on your specialized subject..

Phase-2 :- 2 subjective papers

For more details and updates regarding the IES Exam..you can visit http://upsc.gov.in

all the best..

With Warm Regards
Nitz
7th July 2013, 05:45 PM

IES stands for Indian Engineering Service, the exam for which is conducted by UPSC once every year for appointment of young engineers in the top technical post under verious Dept. under Central Government.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final B.Tech. Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

The selection is through written exam followed by Personal Interview.

The candidate from any stream of Engineering can apply for IES but the candidate has to write the exam in any one stream i.e. Mechanical/Electrical/Civil/Electronics & Telecommunication.

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
7th July 2013, 07:14 PM

Hai friend
IES stands for Indian Engineering Services. The IES exam is conducted by UPSC every year.The candidates who completed graduation from a recognized university are eligible to appear for IES exam.
**Eligibility Criteria :
-->Age Limit :
>>General - 21-30 Years
>>OBC - 21-33 Years
>>SC/ST - 21-35 Years

-->You must be a citizen of India

-->Educational Qualification :
You must have completed Engineering course or graduation from a recognized university to appear for the IES exam.The candidates you who completed the engineering courses only in these courses are eligible to write the IES exam
1.Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering
2.Civil Engineering
3.Mechanical Engineering
4.Electrical Engineering

-->Final Year students can also apply for the IES exam.

**No of Attempts :
-->General - 4
-->OBC - 7
-->SC/ST - No Limit
ALL THE BEST
1st August 2013, 02:22 PM

is a chemical engineer student eligible for ies exam?
1st August 2013, 08:11 PM
shivam2k6

is a chemical engineer student eligible for ies exam?

Yes a chemical engineer is eligible to write Engineerin Services Examination conducted by UPSC every year.

Eligibility for Engineering Services Exam:

1. Enginering degree from any AICTE recognized university
2. Age between 21 years to 30 years on 1st January of the year of examination

But this examination is conducted for only these four branches:

1.Civil Engineering
2.Electrical Engineering
3.Mechanical engineering.
4.Electronics and Communication Engineering

Hence, it may be difficult to clear this examination for a Chemical Engineer.

1st August 2013, 11:11 PM
sohangoriya

Dear friend IES Stands for Indian Engineering Service.
This examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission Once in a year.

Educational qualification :-

Candidate must have to completed Bachelor degree in these streams are eligible to apply IES exam :-

• Mechanical Engineering.

• Electrical Engineering.

• Electronics and Communication Engineering.

• Civil Engineering.

Age limit:-

Age should be between 21 years to 30 years.

OBC category candidates 3 years age relaxation.

And SC/ST category candidates 5 years age relaxation.

All the best.........
25th August 2013, 04:22 PM

can any student doing his engg.with electronics has apply for ies
19th September 2013, 01:15 PM

i m completed my btech in information technology? can i apply for this job?
14th November 2013, 11:00 AM

I am a final year student in civl engineering and my d.o.b is 02.10.1993.Am i eligible to write IES 2014 in june?
24th January 2014, 02:30 PM

am a 3rd year engineering student and My DOB is 25-03-1993 can I able to write IES exam 2014?
26th January 2014, 09:59 AM
nareshsunrise

IES stands for Indian Engineering Services Exam. This exam is being conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) once in a year to give the job opportunities for the candidates in various Engineering services like
Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering

Here is the eligibility criteria required for the candidates to apply for this Exam.

Academic Qualification :

One should have completed Graduation in Engineering from a recognized university.

The selection procedure would involve
Written Exam
Interview

Age criteria :
Candidates of General category should be in the age group of 21-30 years.
Relaxation in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC category.
Relaxation in upper age limit upto 5 years for the candidates of SC or ST category.

If you possess the above mentioned eligibility criteria, then you can apply for this IES Exam in any of the above mentioned categories.

For updated information on this Exam, you can visit
http://upsc.gov.in/
9th April 2014, 11:23 PM

if i have cleared the written exam. but i have eye problem. my eye power is -5. I will be qualified or not then?
23rd May 2015, 02:04 PM

I AM ENTERING INTO 4YEAR (ECE DEPARTMENT) AND I AM ELIGIBLE FOR IES EXAM
1st June 2015, 10:31 AM

I stopped by b tech mechanical at 3-1 I completed up to 3-1 I got my father job I want to write IES how can I proceed which degree I have To write can I write privately please guide me its important my goal is IES please help please give positive reply