27th April 2011, 09:31 PM
Unregistered

What is the syllabus of PGECET for MCA students?

this is adi,i completed my MCA(Master of computer applications),in 2010,
i want to write pgecet exam,
what is the syllabusss of entrance for computers student

29th April 2011, 02:58 AM
sathish_0606

Default Re: What is the syllabus of PGECET for MCA students?

Engineering Mathematics: Mathematical Logic: Propositional Logic, First Order Logic.

Probability: Conditional Probability, Mean, Median, Mode and Standard Deviation, Random Variables; Distributions; uniform, normal, exponential, Poisson, Binomial.

Set Theory & Algebra: Sets; Relations, Functions; Groups; Partial Orders; Lattice; Boolean algebra.

Combinatorics: Permutations; Combinations; Counting; Summation; generating functions; recurrence relations; asymptotic.

Data Structures and Algorithms : Notion of abstract data types, Stack, Queue, List, Set, String, Tree, Binary search tree, Heap, Graph;

Tree and graph traversals, connected components, Spanning trees, shortest paths; Hashing, Sorting, Searching; Design techniques (Greedy, Dynamic Programming, Divide-and-conquer);

Asymptotic analysis (best, worst, average case) of time and space, Upper and Lower bounds on the complexity of specific problems, NP-completeness.

Logic Design and Computer Organization : Logic functions, Minimization, Design and synthesis of Combinational and Sequential circuits; Number representation and Computer Arithmetic (fixed and floating point); Machine instructions and addressing modes, ALU and Data-path, hardwired and micro-programmed control, memory interface, I/O interface (Interrupt and DMA mode), Serial communication interface, Instruction pipelining, Cache main and secondary storage.

Formal Languages and Automata Theory : Regular languages and finite automata, Context free languages and Push-down automata, Recursively enumerable sets and Turing machines, Un-decidability;