15th April 2011, 12:21 PM

Default Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

could i plzz get d study material for d cate examination 2011.
15th April 2011, 10:48 PM

i want 2 ask we only hav 2study eng of 11th n 12th................
19th April 2011, 09:22 AM

call at 9871243172 if you need any help with Literature.
i want to know about exam pattern of literature?
21st April 2011, 02:56 AM

Originally Posted by mallik sing View Post
thanks for giving info dear....tons and tons of thanks....indeed she is too good to be described in words....i wish i could be 1% of her....a lifetime achievement to get classes from her
thanks from my side too dear for sangeeta mam,s no. you all are very correct in your perception.indeed a very very gud human being with ready smile and ready hand.call her even at 12 in the night and she is there with a warm hello.......bundle of energy and intellegence...
21st April 2011, 02:58 AM

Originally Posted by mallik sing View Post
thanks for giving info dear....tons and tons of thanks....indeed she is too good to be described in words....i wish i could be 1% of her....a lifetime achievement to get classes from her
hey mallik....i call her google mam....am i right?hats off to her....thanks from me too to the fperson who informed about her....we salute you sangeeta mam.....will never forget you.you are our lifetime achievement......
21st April 2011, 03:02 AM

Smile Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

and thousands of regards and wishes and thanks to the person who gave the info about sangeeta mam. i think her caliber cannot be captured in words.far beyond description....thanks thanks thanks and thanks...may GOD bless u.
blessings and regards from me too.....so humble and so beautiful not only in appearance but by her soul as well....thanks sangeeta mam....................sujata
25th April 2011, 11:24 PM

Hey is Sangeeta ma'am available for now ..will it be fine to start classes from now ..end of April ?? Or May beginning ?? N plz tell wer she is ..wch place in Delhi ??
27th April 2011, 03:56 PM
chiku.chabddi

will sangeeta mam help us on ph............ n wat is she making u study..
1st May 2011, 03:42 PM
mayekarpritesh

Smile Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

Try This.....

entrance.icbse.com/cate/
5th May 2011, 03:06 PM

KIndly provide CATE syllabus clearly...n d date for d exam 2011
6th May 2011, 07:57 PM

i really want 2 knw abt cate coz i wud lyk 2 see myslf in eng field in d next 6 years...help me plzzzzzzzzz.......want 2 knw abt d pattern....
9th May 2011, 10:53 PM

Originally Posted by adrita View Post
hello...
CAT is entirely a different thing...than CATE... this is for english honours....
yaa CATE is diffrnt frm CAT. duh.. pls tell something about CATE not CAT..
13th May 2011, 12:40 PM
ameey

mene abhi 12th ke exam diye [in arts stream] kya me CATE ka exam de skta ho.....
19th May 2011, 08:47 PM

can i get d number of sangeeta mam.
20th May 2011, 03:21 PM

i'm preparing for cate..........bt dnt knw wat 2 prepare....... plz tell me how to prepare for ths .......???????????
pppppppllllllllllllllllllllllzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
22nd May 2011, 03:33 AM

guys can i get a wholesome info about the cate exam.i am damn confused and dont know how to prepare nicely for this.
25th May 2011, 10:04 PM

in reference to d one who suggestd abt sangeeta mam:
thnx a alot...really helpd alot..she ws a swtheart..jst had a conversation wid her on cal...n she guided me wid patience..
n d pattern is goin to change dis tym..so dre's nt a specific format fr cate..
26th May 2011, 08:31 PM

can i knw any poem of 12th class can be asked ...or it is fixed ...that only aunt jennifer's tiger question would be asked ..?
27th May 2011, 01:22 PM

Dude, Learn to read. Its Combined Aptitude Test for ENGLISH. Its conducted by certain DU colleges for seats in English Hons course. :/

Originally Posted by satishkomer View Post
Dear Frnd CATE......?
It is CAT(COMMON Aptitude TEST)
This CAT test prep courses cover the most recent types of question in CAT format that have never been addressed by others. We do not use previous paper-based GMAT questions to teach current computer-based CAT exam.

Each set of paper tests includes timed sections, an answer sheet, and a way to convert your raw score to the equivalent.

You can download free paper from this link.
http://www.onestopmba.com/downloads/cat.asp

http://www.coolavenues.com/mbasp/cat03.pdf
28th May 2011, 10:03 AM
mailmeshekhar2011

Eight more colleges, including LSR and Miranda, to conduct CATE to select English undergrads.

A total of 47 colleges offer English (Honours) in DU.

New Colleges:
Lady Shri Ram
Miranda House
Shaheed Bhagat Singh
Deshbandhu
Shyama Prasad Mukheriee
Old Colleges
Delhi College of Arts and Commerce
Kamla Nehru
Hindu
Indraprastha
Maharaja Agrasen
Shyamlal
Shivaji
Zakir Hussain
Zakir Hussain(E)
Swami Shraddhanand
Satyawati (E)
Important Figures
Number of seats last year : 450 (approx)
Number of Application last year: 10,000
Important Dates
Form sales this year: LAST WEEK OF MAY (tentative)
Last date for submission: JUNE 6 (tentative)
Date of examination: JUNE 9 (tentative)
The participating colleges give 70 per cent weight-age to CATE score and 30 percent to Boards Performance
http://questions.ascenteducation.com/

28th May 2011, 02:19 PM

is coaching required for d preparation of CATE 2011 examination.........???
29th May 2011, 03:13 PM

Give me some guidance of cate paper
30th May 2011, 07:24 PM

Thumbs up Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

I m so and so confused between the cate and cat exam. these both are same exams? plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz tell me clerly about the differnce b/w CATE, CAT and entrance test to take admission in english hons , here nobody who soever guide me about this. plz tell me that is it too tough? will i able to take the admission in any good college of DU.I am in 12th standard from arts side now plz tell me that how could I prepare for the entrance test plz tell me each and every thing about it very clearly. i m so anxious about it. plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz z reply me soon and soon and soon.
no..cate and cat are two very different things. for doing eng hons u need to prepare for cate..that is common aptitude test for english. the syllabus is not defined by du. u need to have strong command over the language, must learn synonyms and antonyms by heart, u also must have a knowledge about authors and poems which are famous in english literature...all the very best. hope u make it ! Even i m going to try this year..
30th May 2011, 11:14 PM

hey ....anyone cn tell me the syllabus of cate?
plzzzzzzzzzzz...help meeeeeeeeee........nd if anyone know thn plzzz send on mah id. its [email protected].
31st May 2011, 02:19 PM

where are the questions?
2nd June 2011, 11:16 PM

hey this is nikki..!! i wish 2 apply for the CATE ..i have very gud grammer ..nd ol other qualities dat u guys mentioned above 2 get pass..bt i dnt know how 2 crack the questions like ... wt is d meaning of _____? and the dash contain a very difficult word ..nd the provided options too seems 2 b very difficult .. i hope u understood.. how to get the right answer for that type of questions ?

plsssss help me guys..i really wanna go for B.A.(hons.) English. rply very soon as the xam is on 5th june 2011..
hoping for a useful rply..:)
3rd June 2011, 05:19 PM

i have to give my eng(H) cate xam 2011.......i dont have much knowledge about the paper so plz if u cud help me and send me last year sample paper.plz help....its urgent............
3rd June 2011, 05:21 PM

plz help me to get an idea abt the cate xam.......i have to give my cate xam for eng(h) 2011 so plz if u cud help me send last year sample paper....plz help......its urgent
3rd June 2011, 07:52 PM
shashank shrivastawa

secrchng for cate pattrn?????????
chk out.........http://edutalkindia.blogspot.com/2011/04/cate-2011-sample-model-paper-du-exam.html
29th July 2011, 12:01 AM
kartikayan

Eight more colleges, including LSR and Miranda, to conduct CATE to select English undergrads.

A total of 47 colleges offer English (Honours) in DU.

New Colleges:
Lady Shri Ram
Miranda House
Shaheed Bhagat Singh
Deshbandhu
Shyama Prasad Mukheriee
Old Colleges
Delhi College of Arts and Commerce
Kamla Nehru
Hindu
Indraprastha
Maharaja Agrasen
Shyamlal
Shivaji
Zakir Hussain
Zakir Hussain(E)
Swami Shraddhanand
Satyawati (E)
Important Figures
Number of seats last year : 450 (approx)
Number of Application last year: 10,000
Important Dates
Form sales this year: LAST WEEK OF MAY (tentative)
Last date for submission: JUNE 6 (tentative)
Date of examination: JUNE 9 (tentative)
The participating colleges give 70 per cent weight-age to CATE score and 30 percent to Boards Performance
http://questions.ascenteducation.com/

12th March 2012, 11:28 PM

Do CBSE stdnts have an edge over other boards stdnts in CATE?
31st March 2012, 10:37 PM

How many times one could give this exam?
3rd April 2012, 08:46 AM

Hey... i did my 12th jst past month... i'm expecting 76% overall.... actually i did a blunder and took science... i had no interest in it.. i dnt knw why i did that... dats y i'm not expecting more marks overall.. but in english.. i'm expecting more than 90.. i've decided to do eng. honours.. and hence wanna clear cate... i jst wnted to ask..wud i able to get admission in a gud reputed DU.. with this much of ovrall %age..?? i knw they follow a ratio of 30:70.. but then also... according to the cut off lists my overall %age wud be really less..!! what to do..??
3rd April 2012, 08:50 AM

Can i get admission in a gud reputed DU with around 76% marks... but more than 90 in english... i know i'd be able to clear CATE.... but my percentage wud be posing a great problem isnt it..??
10th April 2012, 10:13 AM

plzz..help for cate 2012... no idea bout it... its horrible.. no ne site provides,, 2 d point info....
10th April 2012, 06:13 PM

Synonyms
Antonyms
Fill in the blanks
Jumbled paragraph
Sentence correction
Comprehension
Syllogism
Grammar

Reference Books for Delhi University Common Aptitude Test English
Piegeon English by Stephen Selman
Little Oxford English Dictionary by Oxford dictionary
Key To High School English Grammar and Composition by Wren and Martin
Indian Literature in English: Critical Assessments by A. N Prasad, A K Srivastava
Indian Literature in English- New Perspectives by Surendran Kv
High School English and Grammar by Wren
Glimpse of Indian Literature in English Translation by Basavaraj Naikar
Essential English Grammar by Murphy
English Vocabulary Today by Rupa
English grammar for Everyone by Gratian Vas
English Assasin by Daniel Silwa
Cassells Dictionary of English Grammar by Roselin Fregusan
10th April 2012, 06:16 PM

plzz..help for cate 2012... no idea bout it... its horrible.. no ne site provides,, 2 d point info....
Reference Books for Delhi University Common Aptitude Test English
Piegeon English by Stephen Selman
Little Oxford English Dictionary by Oxford dictionary
Key To High School English Grammar and Composition by Wren and Martin
Indian Literature in English: Critical Assessments by A. N Prasad, A K Srivastava
Indian Literature in English- New Perspectives by Surendran Kv
High School English and Grammar by Wren
Glimpse of Indian Literature in English Translation by Basavaraj Naikar
Essential English Grammar by Murphy
English Vocabulary Today by Rupa
English grammar for Everyone by Gratian Vas
English Assasin by Daniel Silwa
Cassells Dictionary of English Grammar by Roselin Fregusan

Synonyms
Antonyms
Fill in the blanks
Jumbled paragraph
Sentence correction
Comprehension
Syllogism
Grammar
10th April 2012, 06:20 PM

Thumbs up Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

i really want 2 knw abt cate coz i wud lyk 2 see myslf in eng field in d next 6 years...help me plzzzzzzzzz.......want 2 knw abt d pattern....
CATE 2011 Sample Papers
The Sample Papers for CATE Exam 2011 will be released soon.

Some of the questions:

‘The Tale of the Melon City’ is a poem by-

(A) Vikram Seth

(B) Sarojini Naidu

(C) Rabindra Nath Tagore

(D) T.S. Eliot

The synonym of ‘Abate’ is

(A) Amplify

(B) Subside

(C) Aggravate

(d) Add to augment

‘He is too weak to run fast:

(A) Negative sentence

(B) Superlative sentence

(C) Simple sentence

(D) Complex sentence

Which one of the following words means, “taikative.”

(a) Phlegmatic

(bl Gerrulous

(c) Stoic

(d Parasite

(e) Eccentric

‘A fatalist’ is one :-

(a) Who is fatally wounded

(b) Who cannot face a situation

(c) Who looks at the gloomy side of life

(d) Who believes in the powers of fate

(e) Who grows abnormally fat

‘Nepotisn means:

(a) To favour one’s own relatives

(b) To favour all

(c) To favour a few

(d) Misuse of power

(e) None of these

More on CATE 2011
CATE 2011 Admit Card
CATE 2011 Eligibility
CATE 2011 Forms
CATE 2011 Pattern
CATE 2011 Result
CATE 2011 Schedule
CATE 2011 Syllabus
CATE Colleges
CATE Cut Off
CATE Score
25th April 2012, 09:53 PM
nehas sharma

Question Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

Since the syllabus has changed (including MSQs) could i please know what all do we have to prepare for CATE?
and i wanted to knw how much %is required for gettind admission in cate in hindu college,zakir hussain college
7th May 2012, 02:04 PM

plzzzzzzz sum1 tell me some successful tips to prepare the entrance test of CATE...............................
9th May 2012, 07:12 PM

Dear all, i m going to appear in CATE 2012, can anyone please help me out.
Please mail me the Copy of last 2011 Exam paper of CATE PLLLLSSS PLLLLSSSSS. UR help in this regard will be really helpfull for me plllssss anyone help me..
Email ID. [email protected]
19th May 2012, 09:13 AM

i am preparing for CATE 2012 and like all of you, have totally failed to find any sample paper regarding that examination. Believe me i was so desperate that i actually searched till 22nd google result page....total wastage of time. Anyhoo, what i wanted to tell was....after having extensive discussions with some of my seniors who had scored rather well in Cate, the only thing i could deduce was that all that we really need to do is work on our vocabulary, remember grammar rules( all of them)....in the second part of the test, good handwriting does help a lot! And i was also told to go through a few literary works by eminent writers like Shakespeare, Wordsworth, Lord Byron, John Keats...etc
19th May 2012, 09:28 AM
englishgeek

hey
I had spent ages googling for sample papers for CATE. Believe me, i had thoroughly searched till the 23rd result page and then accepted defeat. Anyhoo, here are some tips that may help you guys.
1) Work hard on improving your grammar.
2) Spellings also need to be kept in mind.
3) Read as many classics as you can...but first, read all the classics that were ever taught to you during school years....like The Ode to the West wind by P.B. Shelly, The Ancient Mariner...Shakespeare's Julius Caesar
After that, try your hands on John Keats, Lord Byron...etc
4) do not worry...and all the best for the examination
20th May 2012, 05:36 PM

Angry Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

if u'll even sit for the whole day or so to search for the CATE exam sample papers.....then also u would'nt get them.........hehheheh

they r not available anywhere....on any site.........guys.....
corrct............thez things shud b provided...its ridiculous......
24th May 2012, 03:32 PM

Himanshu

wh8 is the date of cate 2012 exam? Please reply
25th May 2012, 07:23 PM

what exactly we have to prepare for CATE EXAM??
26th May 2012, 02:04 PM

i m wishing to give the CATE exam for ENGLISH this year..i just wish to confirm whether or not this will contain all things related to english or anything beyond it..viz..maths or ..??
31st May 2012, 12:06 AM

if any subject compartment then we fill form English Honours form and we get admission i want some knowledge about entrance exam paper . Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzz give me answer sonn i'm waiting
2nd June 2012, 11:59 PM

plzz make me clear the the things consisted in 1st part of cate plzz
3rd June 2012, 06:20 PM

hallo frnz...

CATE exam only a few days away?
have you got any material to prepare from?