20th February 2011, 12:41 PM
bikenindia

Default Re: Computer Science Students Eligibility in IES?

Originally Posted by coolshaky.5 View Post
I m a student of b.tech final yr and persuing my degree in computer science.
i wana ask that r the students of computer science eligible to sit in ies entrance examination????
if yes wat is the syllabus 4 d same????

IES exams are conducted by UPSC for engineering students in the
following four courses:
Civil
Mechanical
Electrical
Electronics and telecommunication

So, I am sorry to say that you are not eligible for this IES exam.

Thanks...

15th March 2011, 12:19 PM
Somesh Goenka

Smile Re: Computer Science Students Eligibility in IES?

i completed my B.E in computer science can i attend for the ies exam and plz tell me the syllabus?
As far as im concerned you must be referring to the Engineering Service Exams.

Then let me tell you that the minimum educational qualification required for sitting in the Engineering Service Exams is a bachelor's degree in engineering.Also, final year students are eligible.

So, educationally one can say you are qualified.

But let me tell you that the exam is conducted for the following 4 categories only:

1.Civil Engineering
2.Mechanical Engineering.
3.Electrical Engineering
4.E&C Engineering.

So as you are a computer science graduate, you can sit for the exam, but can appear from any of the above subjects, which I think would be a little difficult for you. But then there is no harm in giving it a try, so go for it.
You are eligible!

Attached you may find the syllabus for the 4 categories I mentioned above.
File Type: docx IES EEE syllabus.docx(13.6 KB, 43 views)

13th April 2011, 09:16 AM
sureshcbe

For to write IES exams you must hold a engineering degree.

But cs/it is not in the main paper. So if you want to write these exams you have to choose some other streams as your main paper.

2nd May 2011, 09:52 AM

I just passed my 2 and entered into engineering 1st year. I am now studying in RGUIIIT,Basar. I want to know whether ECE students are eligible or not for IES.
yes u r eligible.

2nd May 2011, 09:55 AM

Are computer science students are eligible for IES entrance exam ?

10th May 2011, 07:55 PM

What is the eligibility for final year students regarding the mark?

18th May 2011, 05:58 PM

hi dear all
i am srikant bhushan and have completed B.Sc(Computer Science ) from allahabad so ,,,Can i eligible for the IES exam please inform me as soon as possible its very argent my mail is [email protected]

6th June 2011, 03:15 PM

i hv done my mca am i eligible for ies

6th June 2011, 03:19 PM

10th July 2011, 12:45 PM
pops07

The eligibility criteria does not allow you to sit for IES.

Only graduates in any field of engineering and final year engineering students are eligible to apply for IES.

And they have to choose any one of the following stream as their branch in the IES exam.

Electrical Engineering
Electronics & Communications Engineering
Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering

Whatever branch they will choose, questions will come according to the syllabus of that branch.

So, you are not eligible.

10th July 2011, 12:47 PM
pops07

Yes you are eligible to apply....

Only graduates in any field of engineering and final year engineering students are eligible to apply for IES.

And you have to choose any one of the following stream as their branch in the IES exam.

Electrical Engineering
Electronics & Communications Engineering
Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering

Whatever branch you will choose, questions will come according to the syllabus of that branch.

So friend, you are eligible.

17th August 2011, 04:10 PM

are btech biomedical engineer eligible for indian engineering service exam???????????

21st August 2011, 05:20 PM

I m a student of B.E. final yr and persuing my degree in computer science.
i wana ask that r the students of computer science eligible to sit in ies entrance examination????

24th August 2011, 10:48 PM

hai i m student of btech whats syellabus of ies
raj

27th August 2011, 10:53 AM

what are the subjects of ies

27th August 2011, 11:13 PM
ashok880

No,computer Engineering students are not eligible for Indian Engineering Service.
Eligible for Indian Engineering Service exam are the student who complete Engineering course with either Mechanical/Civil/Electrical stream.

For more details,see this attachment.
File Type: pdf Engg2011_ENG.pdf(143.4 KB, 60 views)

1st September 2011, 12:49 AM
amaan khan ak

No,computer science student cant give entrance exam of IES.IES exam is only for some core branches So if you have entrest to give entrance paper of IES exam,Than you are not eligible for this entrance paper.Only some branch student can give this entranace paper

ELECTRICAL ENGINEER
ELECTRONICS AND COMMUNICATION
CIVIL ENGINEERING
MECHENICAL ENGINEERING

You can give entrance paper or upsc.SO its better option for you.

18th September 2011, 02:40 AM
gitesh kumar maltiyar

i am student of cse but i want to get the job through upse exam/my gradution will be done in 2014 but to start my study for upse today only.so kindly tell me the procedure to go further.which book should i prefer and which subject should i choose for upse exam.

7th January 2012, 07:15 PM
ismita

hi i m student of mtech IT student brach can i apply IES in this year plz tell me and B.E from CS

20th January 2012, 01:58 PM

how to prepare for ies

20th January 2012, 08:23 PM
jacobs

If you are interested in IES
Then I must say that you are eligible for this IES examination.

Being a computer science candidate you must fulfill these criteria

Eligibility Criteria :

1.Academic qualification:
the candidate must carry minimum 60% marks.

2.No of attempts:
The candidate can make only 4 attempts in case of general.
But SC/ST/OBC will get relaxation.

Best of luck.

26th January 2012, 07:00 AM
rkexam

Yes you are eligible for IES but only after completing the Graduation Degree.

Eligibility

Education- Graduated from any Recognized university.

Age Limit - There is no such age limit for IES.it's only bounded by number of attempts according to your catagory

General candidates : Only 4 Chances

OBC Candidates : Only 7 Chances

SC/ST Candidates : No Limits

for Full information about eligibility you can simply go to

http://upsc.gov.in/general/faq.htm#PageTop

With Regard
RK

31st March 2012, 11:15 PM

Yes you are eligible to write IES exam.
IES exam which is conducted by the UPSC once in a year.

Eligibility criteria:
Any graduation in engineering or equivalent graduation from any recognised university.

Age criteria should be 21 to 30years.

The candidate should be a citizen of india.

Selection procedure:
Preliminary exam,
Main exam,
Interview.

For more details visit
www.upsc.gov.in

11th August 2013, 01:59 PM
bat cool

Hello friend you can't be eligible for IES exam being a computer science engineering student
IES exam is conducted by UPSC board only for
1. Mechanical engineering
2. Electrical engineering
3. Electronics engineering
4. Civil engineering

IES Eligibility Criteria

1. Age limits: 21-30 years on 1st August of the year of Examination.
2. Educational Qualifications: A degree in Engineering from a recognized university
or equivalent.
3. M.Sc degree or its equivalent with
i. Wireless Communications
ii. Electronics
iii. Radio Physics or Radio Engineering as special subjects also acceptable for certain Services/posts only.
4. Candidates appearing at their engineering degree or equivalent examination are also eligible to compete.

all the best...........

11th August 2013, 09:19 PM
vikramkumariiit

Computer Science students are not eligible for IES.
Only below branches are eligible
1. Mechanical engineering
2. Electrical engineering
3. Electronics engineering
4. Civil engineering

12th August 2013, 03:55 PM
josh98

Hi friend...........

Yes Computer Science Students are eligibility for the IES exam.

IES stands for Indian Engineering Service.

This exam Civil Service Examination. And this exam conducted by Union Public Service Commission once in a year.

Nationality:

The candidate should be origin of India.

Educational Qualification:

The candidate should pass the Graduation in Engineering from recognized University with any stream.

Civil engineering,

Mechanical engineering,

Electronics and communication,

Electrical engineering.

Percentage not required for this exam.

Final year pursuing candidates are eligible for this exam.

Age limit:

Your age limit should be between 21 to 30 years.

Upper age relaxation is applicable as per govt rules.

3 years relaxation for OBC

5 years relaxation for SC\ST.

10 years relaxation for PH.

No of Attempts:

4 attempts for the General category.

7 attempts for the OBC category.

No limit of attempts for the SC\ST category.

Selection Process:

Preliminary Examination

Main Examination

Interview

All the best..............

12th August 2013, 11:40 PM
chetan.a.b

Talking Re: Computer Science Students Eligibility in IES?

Hi friend,
YES, Computer Science Engineering Graduates are eligible to apply for the IES exams conducted by UPSC. But they can choose MATHS as major subject.
But in the Indian engineering Services Exams (IES) -it is held for the Mechanical, Electrical, Civil and Electronics streams only
So while giviing the written exams you have to choose any one of the above streams
For more you can refer www.upsc.gov.in
You can fill the online application form from the official website www.upsconline.nic.in

13th August 2013, 08:02 PM
Ravikanth2027

IES Stands Indian Engineering Service

IES is the civil services that meet the technical & managerial functions of the govt of India .

IES Exam is conducted by Union Public Service Commission

Eligibility :

Nationality : Citizen of Indian

Educational Qualification : Bachelor's Degree in Engineering in following stream from a recognized university

Civil Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Electronics & Communication Engineering (OR)

M.Sc Degree with wireless communication , Electronics , Radio Physics (OR) Radio Engineering

Age Limit : 21 to 30 years on 1 January of the year of examination

Upper age limit relation as per govt rules

3 years age relaxation for OBC candidates

5 years age relaxation for SC/ST candidates

Selection Process :

Preliminary Examination

Main Examination

Interview