5th September 2011, 06:04 PM
Re: Best books to prepare for IAS exam?
the best books that cover the whole syllabus of IAS exam[ are
# (Book List) Books On Mechanical Engineering For IAS Exam (Optional Subject References) # (Book List) Books On Geology For IAS Exam (Optional Subject References) # (Book List) Books On Electrical Engineering For IAS Exam (Optional Subject References) If youre new to Public Administration I highly recommend you first go through SP Naidus Public Administration. This book introduces the basic concepts and theories in a very simple and engaging manner. Many IAS aspirants directly jump to Mohit Bhattacharyas New Horizons in Public Administration with the result they end up giving up the subject altogether or get the impression that Pub Ad is not their cup of tea. Poli Naidu on other hand was written keeping in mind the aptitude of a first year undergraduate student and is highly recommended by coaching institutes like Synergy as well. |
5th September 2011, 06:30 PM
Here is the list of best books for IAS exam preparation:
An Introduction to the Constitution of India D.D.Basu Perspectives on Indian Constitution Edited by Subash Kashyap Biology for VIII-X Std NCERT Physics for VIII-X Std NCERT Chemistry for VIII-X Std NCERT Anatomy & Physiology for Nurses Courses Evelyn Pearce Know your body Reader's Digest An Evolution of Indian Economy I.C.Dhingra (Sultan Chand & Co) Indian Economy Dutt & Sundaram Economic Survey of India Government of India General Principles of World Geography Charles Farro Monsoon Asia Charles Farro Physical Geography of India for VII - XII Std NCERT Good School Atlas:Oxford Ancient India for VII-XII Std NCERT Medieval India for VII-XII Std NCERT Modern India Bipin Chandra History of Modern India A.C.Banerjee The Hindu & Times of India Newspapers Frontline and Political & Economic weekly Periodicals Yojana & World Focus Periodicals Statistical Methods S.C.Gupta |
5th September 2011, 08:19 PM
For IAS u have to prepare with many books,following books should be prefer
1.Introductory Probability and Statistical Applications - Paul Meyer An Introduction to Probability Theory & Mathematical Statistics -V K Rohtagi 2.Subject World Geography - including Indian Geography Good books Principles of Geography (Class XII-Part I, II) General Geography of India (Class XII) Part I - NCERT Geography of India - Resources and Regional Development Part II (Class XII) - NCERT Physical Geography - Leong Atlas 3.George H. Sabine ( Western political theory) Eddy Ashrivatham (Political theory). The books listed here may help you out. Thanks.......... |
10th September 2011, 03:59 PM
Hello sir/mam
I did my MCA in 2010 and I'm much eager in IAS from childhood and have nobody to guide me.How should i start? should i join any coaching center? If yes, can somebody suggest me any good institute in Hyderabad ? If no, kindly tell me how i should prepare. And what subjects i should take for preliminary? Kindly help me out and I'm badly in need of a guidance. I'l never forget this help of yours in my lifetime! Many thanks in advance |
10th September 2011, 04:42 PM
ECONIMIC BOOK FOR IAS Dictionary of Economics - Ghaham Bannock; T.E. Baxter, Ray Rees (Penguin) Economics (Read Relevant Chapters) - Paul A. Samuelson The Hindu: Survey of Agriculture & Survey of Industry An Introduction to Economics - A.W. Stonier and D.C. Hauge Monetary Theory and Public Policy - Kenneth Kurihara Economic Survey : Eighth Five Year Plan: New Industrial Policy - Government of India Outline of Monetary Economics (Read Relevant Chapters) - A.C.I. Day Public Finance - H.L. Bhatia Modern Banking(Read Relevant Chapters) - R.S. Sayers Indian Economy - Mishra and Puri Macro Economic Analysis - Edward Shepiro Indian Economy - R. Dutt and KPM Sundaram Money Supply in India: Concepts, Compilation and Analysis (Sec.1-3 New Series only): Functions and Working (Read Relevant Chapters) - Reserve Bank of India Economic Growth and Development - Mayer and Baldwin Public Finance - K.K. Andley and Sundharam International Economics - Bo Soderston National Income Accounting - Bakerman Economics Choice - Koutsweanik Banking - S.B. Gupta International Trade - Bo Soderston The Economic Times and Economical and Political Weekly. |
10th September 2011, 04:47 PM
Preliminary IAS (General Studies) Subject Indian History Good books History books of Classes XI and XII - NCERT Freedom Struggle (NET) - Bipin Chandra Subject World Geography - including Indian Geography Good books Principles of Geography (Class XII-Part I, II) General Geography of India (Class XII) Part I - NCERT Geography of India - Resources and Regional Development Part II (Class XII) - NCERT Physical Geography - Leong Atlas Subject Indian Polity Good book Introduction to Indian Constitution - D.D. Basu Related Subject Indian Economy Good books Evolution of Indian Economy - NCERT Indian Economy - Dutt and Sundharam. Indian Economy - Mishra and Puri Subject General Science Good books NCERT books on Science. Science and Technology supplements in the Newspapers and magazines. Subject Current Events of National and International importance. Good books One major National Daily - Either The Times of India or The Hindu. Newsweeklies like India Today or/and Outlook Current Events - Spectrum Subject General Mental Ability Good books No special preparation is required in this area. But some practice may be done from any exercise books or quantitative aptitude. In fact, an intelligent calculation is the basic requirement for this topic. Main (General Studies) Subject History of Modern India Good books India's struggle for Independence - Bipan Chandra and others. Modern India - NCERT. Freedom Struggle (NBT) - Bipan Chandra Modern India - IGNOU If one is hard pressed for time, he/she may skip the Modern India and Freedom Struggle. Subject Indian Culture Good books Art and Culture portions of history books and Gazetteer of India. Culture Chapter (s) in the India Year Book. Encyclopaedia of Indian Culture. A good library invariably has more than one encyclopaedia on Indian Art and Culture selected notes may be taken from it. Books on culture / cultural topics brought out by Publications Division of Ministry of Information and broadcasting and National Book Trust. Subject Current Affairs Good books At least one major national newspaper - either The Times of India or The Hindu Newsweeklies like India Today or/and Outlook Current Affairs and News Analysis of BBC. Current events - Spectrum Subject Statistics Good book Book on Statistics (Class XI) - NCERT Subject Indian Polity and Constitution Good books Introduction to the Constitution of India - D.D. Basu. Our Parliament - S.C. Kashyap Subject Indian Geography and Economy Good books Indian Geography (Class XI and XII) - NCERT Yozna Indian Economy - Dutt and Sundharam/Mishra and Puri The editorial page of the Economic Times. Subject Science and Technology Good books Science and Technology section of the Wednesday edition of the newspaper 'The Hindu'. Science and Technology Published by the Spectrum. Yozna contains science and environment related topics. Modern Central Engineering - Ogata Electrical Technology - Thereja Electrical Power - Star Physics of Semiconductor Devices - Sze Automatic Control System - Kuo Elements of Engineering Electromagnetics - Rao Electromagnetic Waves and Radiating System - Jordan & Balmain Integrated Circuits - D. Roy Choudhary Network Analysis - Valkenbury Basic Current Analysis - Murthy Electromagnetic Waives and Field - R.N. Singh Control Systems Engineering - Nagrath Gopal Semi Conductor - Nagchoudhary Principals of Electronics - V.K. Mehta Radio Engineering - G.K. Mithal Circuit Analysis - Gupta |
10th September 2011, 04:51 PM
Good books Indian Geography (Class XI and XII) - NCERT Yozna |
10th September 2011, 04:52 PM
generally people choose public act and sociology for ias exam.
But i want to say it is depent on u who do you favor for that. |
30th September 2011, 05:26 PM
Hi,I am smita
I have done M.B.A in HR and graduation in Economics ,i want to know how to prepare for IAS Examination ,what all books i should refer and what should be the subject i should take for the Preliminary ?Kindly let me know ASAP. |
6th October 2011, 12:40 AM
hi, i am sachin garg in b.com 2nd year student, i want to prepare for ias by political science $ economics can u suggest which book is better for preparation for the ias. which books do study for preparation of preliminary
stage. please sir tell me. |
28th November 2011, 10:36 PM
I am providing you with a link, which has all the information about the IAS, study materials, important dates, books, how to prepare etc. Please Click Here Also this contains a huge collection of all the books that are needed to be referred for the IAS preparations. Hope this helps All the best. Regards #RJ# |
14th December 2011, 04:24 PM
i am b.sc. from m.p. bhog open universite . can i apper for ias2012,
my email id [email protected] |
20th December 2011, 04:53 PM
please give me the name of top writers & books for IAS preparation in Philosophy & Public Administration.
my mail id is- [email protected] |
15th January 2012, 04:39 AM
Paper Pattern for IAS exam :-
1) General-Studies paper carries 150 marks 2) Optional paper carries 150 marks. Instead of one compulsory paper of General Studies and one Optional paper, both the papers shall be compulsory. For more latest update on IAS visit : http://www.iasexam2011.in/. Books For IAS |
30th January 2012, 04:13 AM
If you are interested in IAS examination Then you should go through these books. These books are really good and will help you a lot. LIST OF BOOKS : for more please see these attachments below : All the very best.......... |
3rd February 2012, 12:22 PM
Books for Preparation :-
UPSC Syllabus Civil Service Examination by Student Aid Publications Publisher : Student aid publications ISBN : 8183202217 General Studies Manual 2009 For UPSC Civil Service by Edgar Thorpe Publisher : dorling kindersley india ISBN : 8131721337 Indian Polity For Civil Services Examinations by M. Laxmikanth Publisher : Tata mcgraw hill education private limited ISBN : 0070153167 UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Exam: General Studies Solved Papers by Edi. Board Pratiyogita Darpan Publisher : upkar prakashan ISBN : 8174820663 UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination Paper-I in 60 days by Rakesh Dwivedi Publisher : Tata mcgraw hill education private limited ISBN : 0071329250 UPSC Civil Services (Pre) 17 years Botany by Editorial Compilation Publisher : Arihant ISBN : 8183480098 |
4th February 2012, 07:33 PM
S.No. Name Author / Publisher
1 An Introduction to the Constitution of India D.D.Basu 2 Perspectives on Indian Constitution Edited by Subash Kashyap 3 Biology for VIII-X Std NCERT 4 Physics for VIII-X Std NCERT 5 Chemistry for VIII-X Std NCERT 6 Anatomy & Physiology for Nurses Courses Evelyn Pearce 7 Know your body Reader's Digest 8 An Evolution of Indian Economy I.C.Dhingra (Sultan Chand & Co) 9 Indian Economy Dutt & Sundaram 10 Economic Survey of India Government of India 11 General Principles of World Geography Charles Farro 12 Monsoon Asia Charles Farro 13 Physical Geography of India for VII - XII Std NCERT 14 Any Good School Atlas 15 Ancient India for VII-XII Std NCERT 16 Medieval India for VII-XII Std NCERT 17 Modern India Bipin Chandra 18 History of Modern India A.C.Banerjee 19 The Hindu & Times of India Newspapers 20 Frontline and Political & Economic weekly Periodicals 21 Yojana & World Focus Periodicals 22 Statistical Methods S.C.Gupta |
15th February 2012, 11:48 PM
Yes , you can become IPS or IAS after completing Mechanical Engineering.In Fact For evrey 10 IAS/IPS officer got selected 4 of them are from technical field like Engineering,Medical etc .
You have to appear for civil services Exam to become one of these (IAS/IPS) which is conducted by UPSC General Schedule for UPSC IAS EXAM Notification of Examination : February/March Pre - Examination(CSAT) : June-july Result OfPre - Examination(CSAT) : September Mains Examination : October November Interview : March-April Eligibility for Civil Services Examination : A pass in a degree from any University, For IAS and IPS the candidate must be a citizen of India, For other services a candidate can be either a citizen of India,a subject of Nepal,a subject of Bhutan or a Tibetian refugee AGE LIMIT 21 years must be completed by the 1st AUGUST of that year and upper age limit for: GENERAL-30, OBC-33, SC/ST-35; No of ATTEMPTS allowed: General-4 OBC-7 SC/ST-NO LIMIT Good Luck!! |
12th April 2012, 10:20 PM
the names of the books and courses are menation in below-
History- NCERT books of class XI and XII, Freedom Struggle (published by National Book Trust) Geography- Class XII books of Geography (NCERT), a good atlas. Indian Polity- Introduction to the Indian Constitution. Indian Economy- NCERT and other books on Evolution of the Indian Economy. General Science- NCERT books on science, a science magazine or newspaper supplements on science. Current Events- A national newspaper, The Competition Master, newsmagazines. General Mental Ability- Do the Quantitative Aptitude published in The Competition Master, past test papers. |
28th November 2012, 08:40 PM
These are the good books for IAS preparations conducted by UPSC - UPSC IAS Civil Services Exam 2011 Syllabus by Gkp Publisher: G. K. Publications Pvt. Ltd The Pearson CSAT Manual 2012 by Edgar Thorpe,Showick Thorpe Publisher: Pearson Education (2012) Civil Services Success PLANNER by Sharma K K Indian Polity for Civil Services Examinations by M. Laxmikanth Publisher: Tata Mcgraw Hill Education Private Limited 2010 UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination Paper-I in 60 days by Rakesh Dwivedi |
29th November 2012, 02:59 PM
HELLO SIR...........
information is available in the mentioned below link :- http://www.rxpgonline.com/article674.html you should take the books of the made esy publication made easy provide the complete material for the preparation for the IAS.you can also buy that material after that there will be no need for more booke for the IAS ok dear books to prepare for IAS exam is all the NCERT Books for basic concepts , For current affairs News paper,For testing your preparation previous year question papers. BEST OF LUCK !!!!!!!!!!!!! |
26th June 2013, 10:03 AM
dear friend.....
Best books to prepare for IAS exam --------------------------------- 1.Solid Mechanism - Kazmioo 2.Analytical Solid Geometry - Shanti Narayanan 3.Matrices - Schaum Series (Frank Ayres) or Vashisth 4.Statistical Mechanism - Carson Horg . 5.Mathematics Dictionary - James 6.Complex Analysis - Schaum Series or J.N. Sharma 7.Algebra j.N. Sharma and S. N. Goyal 8.Analytical Solid Geometry - Shanti Narayanan 9.Calculus - I. A. Menon 10.Text Book of Coordinate Geometry - Rai Ballabh 11.Analytical Solid Geometry - Shanti Narayanan 12.Numerical Analysis - S.S. Sastry 13.Mechanism - D. S. Mathur 14.Coordinate Geometry - R. L. Soni 15.Complex Analysis - Schaum Series or J.N. Sharma |
26th June 2013, 02:22 PM
Do lots of Hardwork and well prepare yourself to handle the exam calmly and intelligently.
These are the books which you can look for 1. Indian History - India Struggle for Independence by Bipin Chandra; 2. NCERT Books ( XI & XII ) 3. Geography - Spectrum 4. Indian Polity - Constitution of India by Bakshi 5. Indian Economy - Plus One, Plus Two Books, Pratiyogita Darpan 6. General Science - Tata Mc Graw Hill Guide 7. Mental Ability - Quantitative Apitude by R.S. Aggarwal 8. Current Affairs - Some magazines and Newspapers |
26th June 2013, 06:12 PM
Hello Friend ,
Cracking the CSAT Civil Services Aptitude Test with Solved Papers 2012 - 13 (Paper - 2) (Paperback) Governance in India for UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination (Paper - I) 1st Edition (Paperback) Indian Polity for Civil Services Examinations 3rd Edition (Paperback) Objective General English (Paperback) Others books that you can refer are : HOPE IT HELPS .. GOOD LUCK ! |