9th November 2012, 08:35 PM
umes.murthy

Am I eligible to appear for IAS exam if I am 29 years old

sir my date of birth is 10-Feb-1983 , am i eligible for appearing in ias 2013 exam? i belong to general catagory. please let me know

10th November 2012, 09:02 AM

Default Re: Am I eligible to appear for IAS exam if I am 29 years old

Originally Posted by umes.murthy View Post
sir my date of birth is 10-Feb-1983 , am i eligible for appearing in ias 2013 exam? i belong to general catagory. please let me know

IAS exam is conducted by UPSC through Civil Service Exam .So there is no different exams for IAS exam exam.If you want to be a IAS ,IPS officer then you must cleared Civil Service Exam .

Those candidate are completed graduation degree from any recognized university with any discipline are eligible for IAS exam.There is not require any kind of Percentage marks for IAS Exam.

But your age should be in between 21 to 30 years old.Age relaxation is provide for SC/ST/OBC category as per govt rule.

Your age now 29 years old and at the time of exam 2013 , your age may be over 30 years old.So you are not applicable for Civil service exam.Because you are general category .

If you are from reserved category then you are applicable for IAS exam .

The maximum attempts for SC/ST candidate is Unlimited. For OBC candidate it is 7 years and for general candidate it will be 5 years.

For any other Detail visit UPSC official website: http://upsc.gov.in
10th November 2012, 12:18 PM
tash1907

Hi Friend......

Yes, you are eligible for IAS exam

The Age limit for General Candidates for IAS

Minimum age is : 21 years

Maximum age is : 30 years

5 years relaxation for SC/ST candidates

3 years relaxation for OBC candidates

10 years relaxation for PWD candidates

Educational Qualification

>> Candidates must have a bachelor of degree in any stream from any recognized university, final year appeared students also eligible for this examination, there is no percentage required for this examination

Nationality

Candidates should be a citizen of India

Selection Procedure

1. Preliminary Examination

2. Mains Examination

No.of Attempts

Maximum 4 attempts for General candidates

7 attempts for OBC candidates

No restriction for SC/ST candidates

all the best.......

Regards....
Tash
10th November 2012, 12:26 PM
nellipudi.santhoshkumar

hello sir now your age is 29 years(10-feb-1983) after 2013 just your age increasing one year so here there is age relaxation for IAS exam. Am showing details of IAS exam. I hope it is Help for you.

** IAS Stands for Indian Administration Services

** IAS recruit by Civil Examination which is conducted by UPSC

Age Limit : -

** Your age should between 21 to 30 years, age relaxation as under

For SC/ST 5 years relaxation

For OBC 3 years relaxation

Educational Qualifications : -

** You must have a bachelor of Degree in any stream from a recognized university

Nationality : -

** You should be a citizen of India

Maximum Attempts for Civil Examination : -

For General Candidates 4 attempts

For OBC Candidates 7 attempts

No maximum limit for SC/ST candidates

Selection Procedure : -

** Preliminary Exam

** Mains Exam

** Interview...

all the best..................
10th November 2012, 12:50 PM
AA 12345

Thumbs up Re: Am I eligible to appear for IAS exam if I am 29 years old

Hello friends ……………………….

Yes, you can eligible for IAS

If, you are completing Graduation then you can eligible.

But at the time of applying For IAS your must have below 30 age

IAS stands for INDIAN ADMINISTRATION SERVICES

ELIGIBILITY for IAS :

IAS examination is conducted by UPSC

You must have Indian nationality

Educational Qualifications : -

You must have Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects of Animal Husbandry , Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Enginerring or an equivalent qualification

Age Limit : -

Your must in between 21 – 30 yrs

AGE relaxation ;

For SC/ST 5 years

For OBC 3 years

10th November 2012, 03:58 PM
nitz90

Smile Re: Am I eligible to appear for IAS exam if I am 29 years old

Eligibility For IAS Exam

The Civil Services Exam conducted by UPSC every year recruits the candidates for Indian Administrative Services (IAS)

Eligibility Criterion :-

Any candidate who satisfies the following eligibility criterion is eligible to appear for the Civil Services 2013 :-

>> The candidate must be within the age limit of 21-30 years for general category..

>> The candidate must have cleared his graduation from a recognized University in any stream..

>> General candidates can appear only 4 times for the Civil Services Exam..

So, yes..right now you are eligible for appearing for the Civil Services 2013..

The forms for the exam shall be available from 2nd February to 3rd MArch,2013

The Prelims or CSAT shall be conducted on 19th May,2013

If you clear the Prelims then you'll be eligible for appearing for the Mains which will be held on 8th November,2013..

The candidates who clear the Mains shall be called for the final interview..

For any more details on the exam..you can visit.. http://upsc.gov.in

I have attached a few previous year papers and also the paper pattern for your reference..

all the best..

With Warm Regards
Nitz
File Type: pdf IAS ENGLISH_COMPULSORY 2010.pdf(167.8 KB, 66 views)
File Type: doc IAS-Prelims-Paper-I-Solved-2011.doc(86.0 KB, 53 views)
File Type: pdf IAS GENERAL_STUDIES_I 2010.pdf(210.6 KB, 58 views)
File Type: pdf IAS GENERAL_STUDIES_II 2010.pdf(296.4 KB, 70 views)
File Type: txt IAS Exam Paper Pattern.txt(552 Bytes, 56 views)
10th November 2012, 04:55 PM
sunilpati

Hi dear........
IAS exam eligibility details are as follows:
Qualification:
>>The candidates should be a graduate in any stream from a recognize university .
>>The final year students those who are interested they can also apply for this exam.

Age limit :
>>The age limit is 21 - 30 yrs.
>>There is a age relaxation for SC/ST & OBC candidates.

No.Of chances:

>>General- 4 chances
>>SC/ST - Unlimited
>>Obc- 7 chances

Exam pattern & optional subjects for IAS exam:

For more details log on to.......
http://www.upsc.gov.in

Good luck.............
14th July 2013, 07:27 PM
Ankur.Sunny

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

To become an IAS, you have to appear in Civil Service Examination (CSE) conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission).

Through Civil Service Examination you can join various civil services as below..

• IAS(Indian Administrative Service)
• IPS(Indian Police Service)
• IRS(Indian Revenue Service)
• IFS(Indian Foreign Service)

Eligibility Requirements for Civil Service Exam :

Education Qualification :

• You should have completed Graduation degree in any discipline from recognized university.

• You can also appear in this exam while studding in final year of Graduation course.

Age limit :

Age should be between 21 to 30 years for General category candidates.
Age should be between 21 to 33 years for BC category candidates.
Age should be between 21 to 35 years for SC/ST category candidates.

Nationality :

You should be Indian Citizen.

Both Male & Female can appear in this Exam.

Number of permissible attempt for this Exam :

• Maximum of 4 attempts for General candidate .
• Maximum of 4 attempts for OBC candidate .
• No limit on attempt for ST/SC candidate.

~ Eligible candidates may apply for this exam Online.
~ You can apply Online for this exam by clicking : www.upsconline.nic.in

UPSC Civil Service Exam has three stages :

• Preliminary exam
• Main exam
• Interview

Preliminary Examination Pattern :

Paper • I(200 Marks) Duration :• Two hrs.
Current Events of national and International Importance
History of India and Indian National Movements
Indian and World Geography
ndian and Polity Governance
Economics and Social development
General Issues
General Science

Paper • II(200 Marks) Duration : Two hrs.
Comprehension
Interpersonal Skills Including communication skills
Logical reasoning and analytical ability
Decision making and Problem Solving
General mental ability
Basic Numeracy
Data Interpretation
English Language Comprehension Skills

Main Exam pattern :

~ To get more information about Civil Service examination visit UPSC official website : http://upsc.gov.in
15th July 2013, 12:03 AM
jxsab

Hey friend,

Yeah you are eligible for the IAS exam as per the Age limit needed for the exam being 29 years as for the IAS Exam the age limit which is needed is 21-30 years of General category candidate

There are certain upper age relaxation also for other category candidates and they are:

For SC/ST - 21-35 years

For OBC - 21-33 years

For Ex-service Men - 5 years from the prescribed limits.

Along with this age limit criteira you also need to satisfy the following criteria needed for the exam and it is mentioned below:

> The Nationality standard for the IAS exam is that the candidate must have a Citizenship in India

> The Education qualification needed for the IAS exam is that the candidate must have completed a Degree from a recognized university with a fair percentage.

> Even Final year candidate is eligible for the IAS exam

If you satisfy all these criteria for the exam then you can apply for the IAS Exam

For more info regarding the exam check at the official site of UPSC at http://www.upsc.gov.in
15th July 2013, 12:15 AM

Yes 29 years old are definitely eligible for Indian Administrative Services Exam.

To become an IAS officer you have to appear for Civil Services examination and pass it with merit.

You must have Graduation in any discipline from a recognised University as it is the basic requirement for IAS examination.

Age Limit:

General Category - 21 to 30 years

OBC Category - 21 to 33 years

SC/ST Category - 21 to 35 years

Selection Procedure:

-Preliminary Exam

-Mains Exam

-Interview

You have to score top marks to get in merit and get selected as an IAS officer.

Number of attempts for General and OBC are limited with 4 and 7 attempts respectively.

For SC/ST there is no limit in attempts.

For more information visit http://www.upsc.gov.in
15th July 2013, 08:53 AM
Aswiniteju

Hello my dear Friend ...

Yeah

Of course you are Definitely Eligible to apply for the I.A.S exam

I.A.S --- INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

For this you must have a minimum of GRADUATION from a Recognized university

It may be of any Bachelor Stream

AS YOUR AGE IS " 29 " YEARS ... YOU NO NEED TO WORRY

For that you must have a minimum of " 21 " years

Maximum age is allowed up to " 30 " years

Of course there will be an Age relaxation for the reserved candidates ..

If you are a Reserved candidate , then you will avail AGE RELAXATION ..

There will be a Tough competition generally

So you must put more stuff ..

Practice as many Model papers as you can ..

You will definitely get Success

GOOD LUCK
15th July 2013, 12:41 PM
lvnareshsunrise

Here is the complete information regarding IAS Exam.

UPSC conduct civil services exam every year to recruit the candidates into various civil services like

Indian Administrative Service
Indian Police Service
Indian Revenue Service
Indian Foreign Service etc.

The complete selection procedure to get into civil services is
CSAT Exam (Civil Services Aptitude Test)
Civil Services Main Exam
Interview

One should have completed Graduation with any of the stream from a recognized university in order to be eligible for this exam.

Candidates who are pursuing final year of Graduation course are also eligible to give this exam.

The required age criteria will be
21-30 years of age for the candidates of General category
21-33 years of age for the candidates of OBC category
21-35 years of age for the candidates of SC or ST category.

I am sorry to say that you are no more eligible to give IAS Exam as your age criteria does not come under the required age criteria.

As per your date of birth, you have already completed 30 years of age by 10-02-2013.

You can not enter into civil services with this criteria.
15th July 2013, 09:33 PM
aryan5107241

The Civil services Exam is better known as the IAS Exam and is conducted every year by the union Public Service Commission [UPSC].

The Civil services Exam is the most prestigious and the toughest exam conducted by the UPSC.

From all over India , an approx of more than 10 lac candidates appear for the exam but only 500-600 candidates are selected.

The Exam is also tough because of its long procedure :

1) Preliminary Exam

2) MAINS Exam

3) Interview Test

The Eligibility Criteria Required for Civil Services Exam are :

* The candidate must have completed graduation in any stream from any recognized college/university.

* Candidates in the final year of graduation are also eligible.

* The Age Of The candidate :

a) For General Candidate : 21-30 yrs

b) For OBC Candidates : 21-33 yrs

c) For SC/ST Candidates : 21-35 yrs

* Nationality : Indian

* Number Of Attempts :

a) For General Candidate : 4

b) For OBC Candidates : 7

c) For SC/ST Candidates : No Boundation

So , as per your Date of Birth you are right now 30 years old and you are completely eligible for the IAS Exam.

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.
15th July 2013, 11:53 PM
tash1907

Hi Friend.............

Yes, you are eligible for IAS as per your age

but, you can must satisfy some other eligibility criteria which is required for IAS

IAS means Indian Administrative Services and is basically meant for those aspiring candidates who have strong dedication towards the country.

India holds a UPSC examination every year and on the basis of this examination a number of IAS officers are recruitment.

Eligibility Criteria :-

A.)Educational Qualification:-

The minimum qualification required for appearing the competitive examination is Graduation. Many professionals like Engineers, Doctors, persons with Ph.d qualifications are competing for UPSC.

B.)Age Factor:-

1.> For general category :-

21-30 years and can attempt 4 times.

2.>For SC/ST :-

21-35 years ,and there is no limitation .

3.> For the OBC:-

21-33 years and can attempt 7 times.

Paper Pattern for IAS exam :-

1) General-Studies paper carries 150 marks

2) Optional paper carries 150 marks.

Instead of one compulsory paper of General Studies and one Optional paper, both the papers shall be compulsory.
16th July 2013, 12:11 AM

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

IAS exam conducted by the UPSC once in a year.

Eligibility criteria:-

The candidate should be complete A bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognised university.

Final year appearing candidates are also eligible.

You must be an Indian origin.

Percentage is not an important matter to apply this exam.

Age criteria:-

The age limits are 21 years to 30 years,

3 years age relaxation for OBC candidates,

5 years age relaxation for SC/ST candidates,

10years age relaxation for PWD candidates.

Selection process:-

Preliminary examination,

Mains examination,

Personal interview.

Number of attempts:-

4 times for General candidates,

7 times for OBC candidates,

No limit for SC/ST candidates.

For more details visit
www.upsc.gov.in

16th July 2013, 10:28 AM
vipularora51

Unhappy Re: Am I eligible to appear for IAS exam if I am 29 years old

no , you are not eligible for IAS , because they have a specific reason for not selecting you . As candidate should be aged between 21 to 30 . And at the time of exam or just after it you will be almost 30 or more .
16th July 2013, 10:29 AM
vipularora51

Unhappy Re: Am I eligible to appear for IAS exam if I am 29 years old

no , you are not eligible for IAS , because they have a specific reason for not selecting you . As candidate should be aged between 21 to 30 . And at the time of exam or just after it you will be almost 30 or even more than that .
16th July 2013, 03:20 PM
harishbanu

Hai, you are 29 years old. You are eligible to appear IAS exam .IAS means Indian Administration Services. You want to know about eligibility to appear IAS exam . Here are the details
1.The candidate should have age of 21 years and not exceeds more than 30 years. There is 5 years relaxation for SC/ST category and 3 years for O-BC candidates.
2.The candidate should be citizen of Indian.
3.The candidate should have bachelor degree.
16th July 2013, 08:14 PM
sherleytwain

I am afraid that you are not eligible for the Civil Services Examination. The age criteria for general category student is clearly mentioned to be 30 years.

While you will be crossing the age limit when the examination will take place. You should understand that the age of the candidate for Civil Services Examination is not calculated from January 1 of the examination year.

But your age is calculated as on August 1 of examination year. Since your birthday is in February, you will be over 30 years by August 1 thus this makes you ineligible for the Civil Services Examination.

If you were born after August 1, then must have been eligible for the Civil Services Examination but unfortunately that is not the case.

IAS Eligibility

1. You will need Indian citizenship to apply for exam.

2. To apply you will have to first complete graduation.

3. There is no marks criteria in graduation degree.

4. The age limit is 21 years for the exam.

5. Upper age limit stands at 30 years for General candidates.

6. OBC can apply up to 33 years.

7. SC/ST can till 35 years.

8. No physical criteria for Indian Administrative Service.

Selection Procedure

1. Preliminary Exam

2. Main Exam

3. Interview

You should consider some other option as Indian Administrative Service can't be pursued due to age limit. The problem will not just arise in IAS but for all the exams conducted under Civil Services Examination.
19th July 2013, 02:17 PM
sirimulla srikanth

Hello sir...
Yes you are eligible for IAS exam because required age limit for this exam is 21 to 30 years.
This exam is exam is conducted by the UPSC once a year.
ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA:
Candidate should be complete graduation from a recognized univesity of india
age limit for this is 21 to 30 years
age relaxation for reserved candidates
candidate should be a citizen of india
SELECTION PROCESS:
Preliminary exam
Main exam
Interview
ALL THE BEST...
30th July 2013, 12:23 AM
jethalal 44

HELLO DEAR

Indian Administrative Service.

IAS exam conducted by the UPSC once in a year.

Eligibility criteria:-
The candidate should be complete A bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognised university.
Final year appearing candidates are also eligible.
You must be an Indian origin.
Percentage is not an important matter to apply this exam.

Age criteria:-The age limits are 21 years to 30 years,3 years age relaxation for OBC candidates,
5 years age relaxation for SC/ST candidates

BEST OF LUCK