25th July 2015, 03:17 AM
Unregistered

On the basis of GATE preparation can I crack CAT 2016?

I am an undergraduate student,now in mechanical engineering final year. I am now doing GATE classes. On the basis of GATE study,can I appear for the CAT exam 2016 or I have to join the other classes for CAT?
plz help me to sort out this confusion?

25th July 2015, 01:45 PM
Pwg_31
Senior Member+

Default Re: On the basis of GATE preparation can I crack CAT 2016?

You wont be able to crack the CAT exam on the basis of your preparation of GATE. The reasons for this are-

>> GATE is a technical examination while CAT is for the management courses. Since both are of different areas so their preparation should also be different.

>> In GATE, Aptitude and English comes for only 15 marks but in CAT, these two hold the maximum weight age. Also, the level also increase in case of the CAT regarding these two subjects.

>> In GATE exam, the technical subjects are taught in detail while in CAT exam, there is no need to prepare for these because they are not tested.

>> In CAT Reasoning, aptitude and English are the major ones which are tested which you might have not prepared so well as they are of not so importance in GATE.

So, you definitely need to do a separate coaching for the CAT exam if you need to get in one of the IIM's. One of the best are-
Carrer launcher.

You can go through its profile and check whether it suits you or not.
25th July 2015, 03:58 PM
deepak0703

* Spend atleast 15 hours a week for GATE preparation. Dedicate sufficient time for it. As I mentioned earlier, NO DISTRACTIONS!
* Solve previous year's question papers. That'll give you a feel of how the exam would be.
* Working smart alone isn't sufficient. Because there'll always be smarter people than you. Work hard too, and be consistent.
25th July 2015, 06:36 PM
sagarika 199193
Senior Member+++