8th January 2011, 01:20 PM
nayak22523

Can I appear GATE after distance mode MCA from Sikkim Manipal University?

i have done MCA from sikkim manipal university through distance education mode. am i eligible to take GATE.

1. How can I get admission in M.Phil and Ph.D from Sikkim Manipal University in correspondence?
  2. How to do Ph.D in IT Ihave done MCA from Sikkim Manipal University
  3. Can I pursue Ph.D in IT after completion of distance MCA from Sikkim Manipal University?
  4. Can I take up Ph.D after completing MCA in distance mode?
  5. Admission procedure to study Distance PhD for MBA 4th semester student of Sikkim Manipal University?
  6. Which college should I prefer to have a career as Journalist?
  7. Which are the best courses and training institutes of Telecom Network in India? -- [Most Discussed]
  8. Is it beneficial to do Ph.D in Geography & Geology from Sikkim Manipal University in distance mode?
  9. Scope of MSc(IT) in distance learning mode from Sikkim Manipal University?
  10. Eligibility to do M.Phil and PhD in Sikkim Manipal University for distance MBA(Marketing) postgraduate? Total course fee?
  11. How to do distance MCA from Sikkim Manipal University after completing BSc IT from Mumbai University?
  12. Should I pursue MCA degree through correspondence from Sikkim Manipal University? I am 37 years old and graduate(B.Sc) working at private chemical company as a QC executive
  13. Is Sikkim Manipal University is valid in UGC?
  14. Is degree from sikkim manipal university valid for MPSC and UPSC exams?
  15. Can I choose Ph.D in Computer Science or IT? -- [New]
  16. Is MCA through correspondence from Sikkim Manipal University, Valuable? How may I do MCA through correspondence at time of Interview for .NET in IT sector?
  17. Which University is a better choice for me to join MCA course between Sikkim Manipal University and Suresh Gyan Vihar University?
  18. Is it possible to study B.Ed. through correspondence mode under Sikkim Manipal University?
8th January 2011, 07:19 PM

Default Re: Can I appear GATE after distance mode MCA from Sikkim Manipal University?

here is the eligibility criterion to appear in GATE examination given in the information brochure of GATE 2011.

Eligibility for GATE
The following categories of candidates are eligible to appear for GATE:
a) Bachelor’s degree holders in Engineering/Technology/Architecture (4 years after 10+2) and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.
b) Master’s degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistic /Computer Applications or equivalent and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.
c) Candidates in the second or higher year of the Four-year Integrated Master’s degree programme (Post-B.Sc.) in Engineering/Technology or in the third or higher year of Five-year Integrated Master’s degree programme and Dual Degree programme in Engineering/Technology.
d) Candidates with qualifications obtained through examinations conducted by professional societies recognized by UPSC/AICTE (e.g. AMIE by IE(I), AMICE(I) by the Institute of Civil Engineers (India)-ICE(I)) as equivalent to B.E./B.Tech. Those who have completed section A or equivalent of such professional courses are also eligible.

you have not given details about your graduation degree. i will suggest you to read this eligibility criterion carefully and then decide you are eligible or not for GATE examination based on your qualification and university recognition.

best wishes.
8th January 2011, 09:14 PM
subho19

Wink Re: Can I appear GATE after distance mode MCA from Sikkim Manipal University?

Originally Posted by nayak22523 View Post
i have done MCA from sikkim manipal university through distance education mode. am i eligible to take GATE.
I think you would be eligible for GATE because,Sikkim Manipal University under PTU which is a approved university...
8th January 2011, 11:47 PM
shiraj

Default Re: Can I appear GATE after distance mode MCA from Sikkim Manipal University?

well friend the eligibility criteria for appearing gate exam is degree holder in engineering or b.tech....therefore you are not eligible for it...
9th January 2011, 12:51 AM
bikenindia

Originally Posted by nayak22523 View Post
Hello Nayak,

I don't think you will be eligible for GATE exam.
GATE exams are conducted by the groups of IIT's for ME/ M.Tech or Phd.

GATE exams is concerned with engineering. So, a MCA student cannot write GATE exam.

9th January 2011, 11:27 PM
sonu1234

for appearing GATE exam you must have engineering degree. MCA candidate are not eligible for GATE.
13th January 2011, 12:27 PM

Nope.. u can go for MTech after MCA also...
15th January 2011, 03:09 PM

After MCA you can give GATE exam. MCA is higher degree then BE or B.Tech. Above all who is saying that MCA students are not eligible, I think they have not knowledge and i suggest them please don't give wrong suggestion. This is carrier & life matter yaar.

With Regards,

Pankaj Singh
99811-94925
31st January 2011, 06:39 PM

an MCA student possess more potential than a B.Tech and their degree values much. Infact i am a B.Tech graduate. And is now struggling with the MCA's
2nd February 2011, 11:13 PM

can i give wbsc exam after doing mca from sikkim manpal university?
4th February 2011, 12:28 PM

i am persuing AMICE(I) through institution of civil engineers inda and have completed sec. A . as the course is recognized by MHRD GOI and syllubs is approved by AICTE . is it mandatory for the govt. of j&k to consider this degree for employment purposes?
4th February 2011, 04:44 PM

Is sikim manipal university good for distance MBA?
4th February 2011, 04:47 PM

Is sikim manipal university good for distance MBA?
11th March 2011, 01:36 PM

Is it compulsory to write ICET entrance exam for distance MBA?
11th March 2011, 01:39 PM

Is it compulsory to write ICET entrance exam for distance MBA?
18th March 2011, 10:57 PM

After complied mba from sikkim manipal university through distance learning i will be illegible for m-phill or phd in regular basis.
21st April 2011, 06:54 PM

I am commerce graduate and I completed my MCA through disance learning from sikkim manipal university wih good percentage.
Now can i go for regular Mtech or Phd or MS degree ?
Kindly give me details regarding this.
5th May 2011, 03:56 PM

yes , u can proceed further for Mtech or phd or ms degree
17th May 2011, 06:15 PM

can i do m.tech after doing mca from ignou in distance mode
14th June 2011, 02:36 PM

is amice degree recognised by j&k govt, for sate govt jobs.
15th June 2011, 11:23 PM

sorry. you are not eligible to appear GATE after distance mode MCA from Sikkim Manipal University.

as the requirement for the gate exam is given below

regular course from recognized university or college.

all the best........
23rd June 2011, 08:54 AM

can i give GATE exam after doing MCA form ICFAI University,Tripura.thanks form Mou
1st July 2011, 01:55 AM

Well anyone who says mca students are not eligible for gate must read the information brochure carefully before making any comments....!!!
29th July 2011, 08:03 PM

I have done BSc in computers science, Is it worth to do MCA via correspondence from sikkim manipal university?
26th August 2011, 06:04 PM

Why why SMU???
21st November 2011, 01:17 PM

Can i appear MTECH entrance after doing MCA from IGNOU...?? please suggest....
4th December 2011, 04:49 PM

Originally Posted by subho19 View Post
I think you would be eligible for GATE because,Sikkim Manipal University under PTU which is a approved university...

Dear Sikkim manipal university is not under PTU. both are different universities

Paramjit
27th December 2011, 12:20 AM

I'm in final semester of MCA from Sikkim Manipal University in Distance learning mode. Please let me know the list of universities, from which I can appear for PHd after my MCA. Am I elligible for Phd from USA/Australian Universities too?
Please suggest
31st January 2012, 10:00 PM

sir, I am competed my MCA in sikkim manipal university so can i eligible for GEAT (m.tech), M.S. in abroad?
1st February 2012, 10:13 PM

You can do m. tech after mca .you must get atleast 60% or above marks in mca. Now give GATE exam and gat high score. Now you can apply for admission in different univ.
9th August 2012, 07:50 PM

Is it good option to choose M.Tech after doing MCA from sikkim manipal university
22nd April 2013, 04:23 PM

i am completed mca from smu, can i eligible for m-tech. I never learn math at 10 2
14th January 2014, 06:19 PM

.sir i have done mca from s.mu in distance mode, can i do m.tech (it) in regular mode .