16th July 2010, 02:08 AM
arunrajkhanna

Dropping a year for IIT preparations a good decision?

is drop a good option for studying for iit??
pls reply soon as .."time has its way"

19th July 2010, 06:57 AM
LOKESH RAJPUT

Thumbs up Re: Dropping a year for IIT preparations a good decision?

hello arun,
i want to tell you that every year lakhs of students give IIT's exam, but very few,i.e. 7000-8000 get admissions in IITs.
so it is really hard to get in there.
bit if you think you are having a good potential to get in there, then only you should drop.
otherwise go for other colleges through AIEEE or state level exams like CET.
everyone can not study at IITs, there are many other good colleges in the country after IITs.
19th July 2010, 10:29 AM
sparkle

Default Re: Dropping a year for IIT preparations a good decision?

It all depends on your wish and capability.

First of all, there is the fact that time waits for none as you have mentioned.

So one year time is a great span in which you can boost up your preparation.

You can take it serious matter or may not..it purely on your determination.

If you have decided to prepare hard for cracking IIT-JEE then it will worth according to your hard work.

And if you have also other options other than IIT, in your mind then it is not helpful to lag a year, rather take those options right now.

Take decision according your wish..

Best of luck!
19th July 2010, 11:22 AM

Well, if you think that you can deliver your best after droping a year for preparetion then go for.

Otherwise if you are getting any good Institute other IIT's then opting for a year drop is not a good decision.

Besides these if you also have good percentage in your +2 then only take a drop, because as HRD Ministry is planing to introduce 80-85% as the cutoff for IITJEE from 2011 or 2012, so definitely it will hinder your decision.

I will advice you not to listen to anyone, just follow what do you want to do. But think before acting.

~Faiyaz~
19th July 2010, 04:11 PM
Kumar Mayank

Originally Posted by arunrajkhanna View Post
You should look into your own abilities .
If you think you are capable of performing not only better ,but the best next year you should undoubtedly drop.
But remember,IITJEE is the toughest exam among all and a student clearing it has to have some exceptional abilities.
19th July 2010, 04:37 PM
trupti_9227

according to me if you have your aim (of taking admission through iit) glued very firmly in your mind then i think it's an good decision. but you have to be very focussed, because no body knows about your result in next years iit-jee.

see,you know yourself very well than i know you, take some time and give it a second thought.

but, if you are getting admission in any other prestigious institute (obviously other than the iits,bhu etc) then it would be wise to choose it.
19th July 2010, 07:22 PM
garg.satish0

Thats a question which is been asked very frequently ..

I would like to tell you that it is good decision even and until you left with a desire to study pcm for one year more .

If you have already taken coaching this year and not been able to crack IIT-JEE than you can go for any other decent college if you have got and than take a medical leave from that college and prepare for IIT-JEE , because if you would have been unable to make into IIT'S than your 1 year will go in vain as competition is increasing in every succeeding year ..

If you having enough confidence that you will get next year better than what you have been offered now , than go for the preparation for IIT-JEE .

Most of the students does get better than what they have last year since hard work has to pay but you need to be hardworking and more focussed ..

There is no harm in dropping and that won't matter much as well in your career .

Cheers
19th July 2010, 07:40 PM
srivastava ankit

the first thing that come in the mind of the student after getting unsucces in iit xam is droping.....
Trust me if you really have that spirit to crack iitthen go ahead
but i will sujjest dont waste your time n all
if your parents have no tension or if you are holdind good marks in 12th ,then you can go for dropping..
you sud know that what are the difficulties being faced by dropout students

neways .its your life so you have to take decisons....but think a lot before doing anything
only iit is not he place for engineers..there are many other good institutions..
always go for old well established colleges..
all the best for your careear
19th July 2010, 07:45 PM
prd

Smile Re: Dropping a year for IIT preparations a good decision?

My friend, I will advice you to go for any college.
If you have already taken coaching this year and not been able to crack IIT-JEE than you can go for any other decent college if you have got and than take a medical leave from that college and prepare for IIT-JEE , because if you would have been unable to make into IIT'S than your 1 year will go in vain as competition is increasing in every succeeding year .. Besides these if you also have good percentage in your +2 then only take a drop, because as HRD Ministry is planing to introduce 80-85% as the cutoff for IITJEE from 2011 or 2012, so definitely it will hinder your decision. BEST OF LUCK
19th July 2010, 07:55 PM
odc

if you really think that after dropping an year you can get admission in iit then definitely drop an year but you not only drop an year but also check what mistakes you have done in the present year which is why you couldn't get admission in iit.
you also have to be updated for the examination i.e. you have to always look for the criteria which the exam needs like your percentage in 12th,etc.
so eventually i suggest that you better do not waste time in thinking and start studying for the next year exam and be concentrated on your goal and if you are firm then do not listen to anybody and start working hard.
19th July 2010, 07:55 PM
N.MD.AZHARUDDIN

yeah tats really a good question.... i need to say you is yes you can drop a year for iit preparation but before all this if you get admission in any of the good institute got for it or else its all your wish......its good if you drop a year for your iit preparation... nothing wrong in it...........
19th July 2010, 09:05 PM
rajanivedha

Post Re: Dropping a year for IIT preparations a good decision?

hi frnd!!!
i think if u can really perform well you can take a yr and do it but if ur not sure pl dnt do that cos wasting a yr will hav a serious drawback in all aspects... so think twice and start with it and you should hav a gud percentile to get into IIT nearly 80% n above... so plan and execute....

all d best

rajanivedha

19th July 2010, 09:37 PM
Somesh Goenka

Well thats a very common dilemma that students are in after completing +2.
If you very determined that you want to do engineering and would not settle for anything less than the IIT and you are totally ready to work very hard throughout the year then it would be a very good choice to drop a year. But if the case is that you want to do engg from IIT but you think you might not be able to give in your 100% then i think it would be a vey bad option to drop a year. In that way you will have a lot of trouble in placements. So if such is the case, i would suggest that you enroll yourself in some reputed college ASAP.
But however, if IIT is your aim and you are ready to sweat, then give yourself a rest, join a IIT coaching institute immediately as they have already started their one year courses and just work hard towards your goal.Remember hard work now will payoff later.

BEst Of Luck!!!!!!
19th July 2010, 11:11 PM

hello friend
in my suggestion first fix your decision ,if you want to go in IIT then prepare it deeply so that you will be able to crack the exam out .
and you should prepare by joining a coaching institute
if you already taken it this year then go for your exam and if you not able to crack then just do it again with a disciplined preparation
no problems if you need to drop one more year
20th July 2010, 12:15 AM
agentroy

hi friend
i think that dropping a year is not really a good thing,every year so many student drop there year for taking admission in iit,but only a few one get selected,so if you want to drop a year so try to be within those few students
20th July 2010, 01:30 AM
arunrajkhanna

thanks for your replies ..i will think accordingly
20th July 2010, 05:56 PM
Thakur Chetan

Hello freind,
in my opinion if a student really wants to crack iit exam and he works with full dedication and hardwork he has no need to drop an year because he does it in his very first attempt and even if he is not successful in his first attempt then he must not drop an year rather take admission in some college because every year the competition increases.
so do well in your first attempt and never lose hope
GOD HELPS THOSE WHO HELP THEMSELVES
20th July 2010, 06:58 PM
swati123

Well, dropping a year for IIT may not be a wise decision. You know that 'time and tide' waits for none. SO, I think the best thing for you to do will be to take the opportunity at hand, especially if you have already taken admission in any Engineering/Technical Institute in the subject/field you are interested in. Who knows that you will not get a call from the IITs for higher studies in future! Of course, you will have to work really hard for that.

Just drop the idea of dropping a year and get to work immediately to prove your mettle.
13th August 2010, 06:56 PM

WHAT IS THE BETTER OPTION TO IIT FOR ENGINEERING???ANDCAN U NAME SOME GOOD COLLEGES IN MUMBAI FOR ENGINEERING IN NANOTECH AND BIOTECH
15th August 2010, 01:05 PM
ravi k

IIT is a reputed institute for engineering students. it is the best in india.

so for this if u are dropping 1 year it does not effect.

but 1 year is very important u have to study well throughout.

u can join a good coaching center as well.

u should use the time perfectly.

15th August 2010, 07:31 PM
kool

dropping a year can harm your career, you will be one year back from your friends.
But if you damm sure about your preparation for IIT-JEE.. then you can take a chance, other wise you will be unhappy after spoiled your one precious year.
No doubt, no one college better than IIT, so you can take a chance.

choice is yours.

15th August 2010, 07:43 PM
bholag

Dropping a year for IIT preparations is a good decision.You will be only able to give only 1 time after droping a year .
so dear prepoare well and work hard to qualify in iit.
It will be better if you join coaching classes like FIITJEE,NARAYANA classes.
ASthey give study materials and easy6 tricks to solve the paper
15th August 2010, 09:59 PM

if you want to go in IIT then prepare it deeply so that you will be able to

crack the exam out .and you should prepare by joining a coaching institute

if you already taken it this year then go for your exam.if you have already

taken admission in any Engineering/Technical Institute in the subject/field

you are interested in. Who knows that you will not get a call from the IITs

for higher studies in future!
18th August 2010, 03:29 PM
cenaetion

IIT is very tough exam. everyone wants to go in IIT, but only few can.

if u have that much of potential then u should for IIT and u can drop a year.

u have to study well to crack this type of exam..

only dropping a year is not the solution, u have to do hard work throughout the year..

so best of luck.
19th August 2010, 06:07 PM
Bishwajit Giri

u must keep in mind that "Time & Tide wait for none"
if u drop for IIT preparation u will lost ur regularity of ur study, u may not get proper result in IIT exam
So,according to me u continue ur study,for IIt exam it is not must to drop,if u have no such confidence u may drop
22nd August 2010, 04:41 PM
robart

it may not be a good decision , if you don't get selected . if you have patience and confidence then you can drop one year.

do hard labour to get good branch in IITs.

31st August 2010, 06:23 PM
rajesh gupta 1

Dear friend;

No;Dropping a year for IIT preparation is not

a good decision. As one can give give only

two regular chance. So you start preparation

at a time.
4th September 2010, 09:07 PM
avinash kr.

if you have a talent on your study then dropping of one year is good. you can good if confidence. thanking you
5th September 2010, 06:27 PM
Sushant Roy

You can drop only if you think that you will get admission in IIT for the following session, but my friend i cant think that even a top rank holder can say yes with full confidence. Dropping a whole year is a tough decision of your life, its ok , if you think that you will get good rank for NITs perspective.
Preparation for IIT consists of many other engineering colleges opening aspects. If you can opt them in future then start preparing from today.
10th May 2011, 02:27 PM

kuch samajh nahi aa raha bhenchod drop karein ya admission le lein
13th May 2011, 08:45 PM
ASHUROCKSTAR

Wink Re: Dropping a year for IIT preparations a good decision?

hi friend ,
this question comes in minds of many students who fail to clear IIT in their first try .IIT is a most reputed engineering collage of India in which,most probably,every non-medical student would be aiming for.

I am very straight,I think if your family's (financial) background is strong then you should definitely drop this year and work hard so that you can crack IIT.
Without wasting any more time you should enroll yourself in some effective coaching institute and work hard under the guidelines of your worthy teacher.
This will attach you towards your target.

If you cannot afford for a hi-fi coaching center then opt for a nearby coaching center of a cheaper cost or, otherwise just buy some iit guides and refer them.
It doesn't matter where you study but how you study.Don't forget the example of IIT topper "Piyush Srivastav" who living in countryside without any coaching or tuition scored a fabulous performance in his board exams and topped IIT .

I think if one is firm and serious about his goals and dreams then he can easily
get them .Hoping for your best.

well wisher
ashutosh
16th May 2011, 11:28 AM

is dropping a year for iit benefecial?
17th May 2011, 08:03 PM
ASHUROCKSTAR

Yes according to my point of view it is very beneficial.I have mentioned it why
18th May 2011, 12:59 PM
soumak93

I would suggest you to join any other college this year just to be on the safe side. Then you can prepare for iit-jee side by side. I know it would be hard but think that you will have to toil only for a year . Dropping out a year is too risky as there is never a 100% chance that you will crack the iit-jee.
23rd May 2011, 10:13 AM

if one drop for iit ....suppose he fails to get into iit....but he willl damn sure get into aieee....so whats wrong with joining aieee after dropiing to get a good college(NIT) which is almost equal to iit
24th May 2011, 07:02 PM

hey.....if u r determined and focussed then go 4 a drop............
i myself got selected in eml in jee 2009.......even though i got good rank in aieee(780) i opted to drop.....
i workd hard and it paid off i got air 675 in jee 2010 and i m currently persuing b.tech in cs from iit-k
24th May 2011, 11:41 PM
mukul0094

Dropping a year for IIT JEE preparation

Dropping of one year for the preparation of IIT JEE is a good decision
if you think that i can crack the IIT JEE. IIT JEE is the most famous entrance exam among all the engineering student and this exam is conducted by IIT in every year.

So, i advise you to do hard work. The IIT JEE syllabus consist of the class
11th and 12th syllabus. If your basic concept of class 11th and 12th is
good then i think that it will help to solve the problem.

Many student drop one year for the preparation of IIT JEE but in IIT
seat are limited and the number of student appear in the examination
is very large. So competition is become very hard. I advise you to do
hard work and crack the exam.

Hard Work Never Fails...............

~Mukul~
26th May 2011, 12:33 AM

look......
My question is that i m going to get a good rank in aieee this year...(not under 10000 but definitely under 30000)
Should i try 4 iit next year.....
i just love iit..& wanna be a part of it...
my board results are also going to be good.....
30th May 2011, 06:26 PM
foreturner

well it depends on your present level of preparation

and your confidence for the coming year,

if you feel confident and are determined to take on the pressure

and are ready to give it your best shot,

you should go for it,

However just dont do it for your parents sake etc.

if you feel IIT is too much for you move on and save an year

take admission now, you can devot this time on some ohter target in future

like MBA etc.
2nd June 2011, 07:21 PM

my class 11 concepts are weak in physics and organic chemistry.my coordinate geometry is also weak.should i drop out on the fact that i am determined to strengthen all these and crack iitjee 2012
12th June 2011, 09:36 PM

is dropping a year is good for aieee?
14th June 2011, 01:31 AM
shekharrai

Well, if you think that you can deliver your best after droping a year for preparetion then go for.

Otherwise if you are getting any good Institute other IIT's then opting for a year drop is not a good decision.

Besides these if you also have good percentage in your +2 then only take a drop, because as HRD Ministry is planing to introduce 80-85% as the cutoff for IITJEE from 2011 or 2012, so definitely it will hinder your decision.

I will advice you not to listen to anyone, just follow what do you want to do. But think before acting.

21st July 2011, 07:48 PM

hello...i got 2025 rank in cet ipu. i also got 175 mks in iit jee 2011 (cut off 229) n 40k rank in aieee.so i will nt get a gud college in eee. plz suugest me ...should i drop or take admn in ipu bcoz dere i will surely get a gud college n prepare for iit side by side.
although i m nt sure will i be able to succeed wid gud rank next yr...bt yes i want to give my best acc to my capabilities.
my father is strictly saying no to drop bcoz he says it is nt only u who is giving dis exam ..dere r lakhs of aspirants as well...who knows ur score will be able to fetch in iit. so my brother is suuesting to completely drop. plz suggest me m totally confused.
25th August 2011, 09:09 PM
kameshsriram

Hi friend,

if your aim is to get admission into iit then take a drop after the 12th for preparing jee....

But there are other good colleges 'nits' if u crack aieee
19th June 2012, 03:39 PM

Hi Sir, I have passed 12th class. My rank in AIEEE is not good. My real ambition is to crack IAS exam. Should I drop for IIT or not?
19th June 2012, 09:30 PM
tanveersandhu

I really appreciate your question. The answer to this question depends on that how much rank did you get in previous IIT paper. If your rank was good enough that it makes you think about the decision of dropping an year for cracking the IIT than you can go for it. If you are not sure and are having second thoughts about IIT then i think it would not be a good choice for dropping an year for IIT preparation.
4th July 2012, 08:59 PM

all u need to have is the right attitude , i m currently a student of iitm , i dropped a year ! i never gave a thought or listened to all dose ppl who said dropping a year wud be so hard and frustrating ,i dont even think it is true , i always thought it is an awesome opportunity to make things right , to change ur ways of studying and in da process becoming a better student and coming hard on jee and aieee next year !
moreover , u will learn all the new things dat u havent learnt in the previous year , since da syllabus is so large , the one of the major reasons ppl fall short of iits and "good nits" ! so u get a chance to complete ur prepration dat u cudnt because of lack of good coaching, good material, illness or any other problems ....sometimes it depends on ur performance on dat particular day , just because of one day one shud not live a life of rut ! if u have an oppurtunity i wud advise u to make use of it !

if ur enroll urself 3 science course in ur state technically u wudnt be dropping a year , it wont affect ur career or placements u will be in a win- win situation !

i have seen many students ending up in not so good nits, poor branches in nits or private enginnering and den regretting , we shud have dropped a year , a decision u shud have taken but u didnt just because of a common fear !
wy regret in life , take the chance ! 40 friends dropped 13 ended of in iits and 18 in nits ...........about the rest dey wasted the year of oppurtunity watching movies , and playing cricket ..........u r in charge of ur life , ur actions decide where u end up , .......good luck wid ur decision !
3rd August 2012, 05:16 PM

i didnt get good rank in iit nor in eee,so m not getting nyc colleges and other are way too expensive .I want to drop cus i m confident i can crack it.Should i drop is it worth???
15th August 2012, 10:20 PM
Sammy11

Hi dear..

Well , for some it may be a good option but for some it's just too bad wasting their one year.

It all depends on the kind of student you are. If you are dedicated, hard working and have the spark to lit the fire, then you should drop and give it a try..!!

You may apply for these entrances:-

~> IIT JEE
~> BITSAT
~> AIEEE
~> IPU CET
~> SYMBIOSIS

And if you are already bored this time revising the syllabus again and again for entrances, then leave the thought of dropping from your mind, as it would do less good.
It would be a total waste of time , Money and Study.

Rest It is all up to you..!!

All the best..!!

Sammy
6th December 2012, 04:05 PM

I m in class 11 i want to study again in class 11 because my concept is not good and i want to join coaching for iit prepration . Please suggest i wrong or right.