12th December 2012, 09:27 PM

How should i become a collector? I am studying 2nd B.Tech CSE

Hai sir Iam shaheen studying 2nd b.tech cse I iwas most interested towards Ias so plz give me a suggestion How to become a collectOr?

13th December 2012, 06:59 PM
sherleytwain
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How should i become a collector? I am studying 2nd B.Tech CSE

As you rightly pointed out, to become district collector you will have to appear for the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) entrance exam. This exam is conducted under Civil Service Examination by the Union Public Service Commission.

Firstly you will have to complete Bachelor of Technology course. Only after completing graduation you will be eligible for Indian Administrative Service. The role of IAS officer is to implement government policy. You will have to travel to places where policy is being implemented to ensure that everything is being done smoothly and there is no irregularity in the funds awarded for certain projects.

Once you have completed the engieering you can apply for the IAS entrance exam. The forms are made available during the months of November and December. The preliminary exams are conducted in May while the main exam is conducted in August/September.

Even though you can only appear for the exam after graduation, you should start preparing for it at least 6 months in advance. What you should start with is improving your English and general knowledge.

You can read english newspapers that would improve your english and general knowledge. Make sure that you know about the every major development in the country and around the world. Then start preparing for general studies papers by studying NCERT books for the 12th standard.

Eligibility

1. You should be Indian citizen to apply.

2. A graduation degree course in any stream.

3. There is no criteria on percentage.

4. Your age should be 21 to 30 years for IAS.

5. There is 3 years relaxation for OBC.

6. SC/ST gets 5 years relaxation.