24th August 2017, 04:23 AM
Unregistered

Is M.Tech necessary to become a good structural engineering in future or B.Tech is enough with experience?

Hi, I am Sumit and I am doing BE in Civil branch from a reputed college of my area (MBM engineering college, jodhpur). Currently, I am in 4th semester and I want to build my career in design field (structural design),
so what should I do next
1- prepare for gate and then do Mtech in structural
2- make a good command on structure topics and learn some analysis software like ETABS, Sap, Staad etc and after completing BE work for a design firm.

Is M.Tech necessary for becoming a good structural engineer? or BTech + 2-year experience of the design firm is enough?

Waiting for your reply.

25th August 2017, 09:01 AM
manjira...

Default Re: Is M.Tech necessary to become a good structural engineering in future or B.Tech is enough with experience?

There is no such mandatory condition that M.Tech degree can only make you a good structural engineer. If you are able to start your career as a structural engineer in a reputed company then you should go for it.

There are many companies which give more weightage toward M.Tech and for some companies experience is more important than M.Tech. However I will suggest you to prepare for GATE and pursue M.Tech course because it will provide you a broader prospect than B.Tech and experience. After M.Tech you can apply directly in the PSUs. The GATE rank will help you to get a job in government construction agencies. With a M.Tech degree the starting base will be much better than if you would have started with B.Tech.

It is also true that after acquiring an experience of 10 years from a reputed company you will be equivalent to a M.Tech degree holder. Once you start working then the only thing that will matter is your experience and the companies reputation that you have worked with.
25th August 2017, 09:15 PM
starberry