8th April 2022, 01:14 PM
mardobill

What do I need to know to get into sports journalism?

Hello! I'm going to be a sports journalist. When I was a kid, I was involved in soccer, and when I graduated from high school, I decided to go into sports journalism. What could you advise me as an information study? What do I need to know and what can I face in this profession?

12th April 2022, 05:48 PM
Hera tabrez
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What do I need to know to get into sports journalism?

For getting started in sports journalism , you need degree in related field such as journalism.
Further to this having work experience in same field is also required.

Benefit
It's a challenging profession , which means it is deal for people who work best under pressure.
They get to work in an industry that is their passion , they get to write and have their names printed next to articles.

Drawback
The wage at the start of their career will be very low (£ 13000 -£ 15000) , one has to work long and unsociable hours which can include holidays.
13th April 2022, 12:33 AM
cookie1902
Senior Member+++++

A bachelor's degree is sufficient for this position, a sports journalist who wants to separate from the crowd and obtain advanced reporting abilities should pursue a post-graduate degree. A master's degree in journalism usually includes coursework in new digital technologies, multimedia journalism, specialty fields, and completing a thesis project. A solid portfolio and experience in the area are required to become a sports writer.

A sports journalist's job description varies depending on the employer, individual positions, and the type of media you work in. Take advantage of the on-the-job training that an internship provides by gaining as much experience as possible. For example, start a sports blog, contact an expert sports writer for assistance or a work shadow opportunity or contribute to the sports department of your school newspaper.
15th April 2022, 08:55 PM
IPHONE13