12th April 2019, 12:14 PM
Unregistered

Whether Commerce is not useful for joining Civil Services?

Respected Sir/Madam, I am a Commerce student and I want to join Civil Services. I am studying in Intermediate. I have heard that Commerce is not useful for Civil Services. Is this true? I am little worried about this.

13th April 2019, 10:46 PM
taputanya
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Whether Commerce is not useful for joining Civil Services?

In order to join civil services, a candidate must have minimum qualification of graduation in any stream from a recognised University and percentage is not the criteria.
So if you have completed your study with commerce stream then you are eligible to apply for civil services exam for any post except IFS.
13th April 2019, 11:39 PM
Warrior6782
Senior Member+

No, it is absolutely myth that commerce students can not become I.A.S officer.
You must be knowing that the minimum educational requirement to apply for U.P.S.C-I.A.S examination is a bachelor degree in any stream from a recognized university.

So you will be eligible after completing your bachelor in your stream like B.Com, B.B.A etc.

And when it comes about the topic that which stream, which course is useful or not to prepare for U.P.S.C-I.A.S, its absolutely rubbish because no course, no stream give exact studies that will help student to prepare for I.A.S examination. I.A.S exam is completely different that's why it doesn't do injustice with any of the bachelor course. Every Student have to prepare for I.A.S syllabus like a fresher.
14th April 2019, 01:37 AM
ajjuravi
Senior Member+++++

All the three streams i.e. Commerce, Science and Arts are equally important for joining Civil Services.

It just depends on your interest. So, just choose that stream for 11th and 12th in which you have your keen interest. In this way, you will be able to give your best in that particular stream.