24th January 2019, 05:57 PM
Unregistered

Possibility to study PhD(English) for BCom final year student?

Hello friends, I am a Commerce student and presently studying BCom from MDS University. This is my final year. I want to do PhD in near future but in English subject. So, is it possible for me? Kindly tell me about this immediately.

31st January 2019, 09:29 AM
BHANBHORI
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Possibility to study PhD(English) for BCom final year student?

=> Ph.D. or D.Phil. English or Doctor of Philosophy in English is Doctorate degree English course.

=> For the admission of Doctor of Philosophy in English course, the candidate should have passed master degree in the relative subject from a recognized university.

=> As per my knowledge, you are not eligible to get admission in Doctor of Philosophy in English on the basis of B.Com course.

=> My suggestion to you is that, you should complete master degree course first then you should go for the Doctor of Philosophy in English course.
31st January 2019, 01:56 PM
ppsahu
Senior Member+++++

In order to study PhD(English), after completing BCom, you will need to have a master's degree in English, or in any other Humanities Background with English Medium from any recognized university. Minimum marks required in master's degree is 55% for General/OBC (5% relaxation in qualifying exam is given to SC/ST/PWD candidates). Also candidates have to appear and qualify the PhD entrance test conducted by respective university to be eligible to get admission into PhD program. Candidates who have qualified M.Phil. or UGC NET/JRF*are considered beneficial while admission. Such candidates may not need to appear for the entrance test.
31st January 2019, 02:09 PM
ppsahu
Senior Member+++++