19th June 2011, 08:09 PM
yogarajan pavithran

How many subjects do I have to prepare for GATE exam? Rules and regulations for appearing for GATE exam?

I'm a third year student . i would like to appear for the gate exam. I'm going to choose an instrumentation paper. but i'm not sure about that how many subjects i have to prepare for the exam and i would like to know about the rules and regulations for appearing gate examination.

20th June 2011, 12:19 AM
vike
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How many subjects do I have to prepare for GATE exam? Rules and regulations for appearing for GATE exam?

Dear Friend

The syllabus of Instrumentation Engineering for GATE is as under

ENGINEERING MATHEMATICS

Linear Algebra: Matrix Algebra, Systems of linear equations, Eigen values and eigen vectors.

Calculus: Mean value theorems, Theorems of integral calculus, Evaluation of definite
and improper integrals, Partial
Derivatives, Maxima and minima, Multiple integrals, Fourier series. Vector identities,
Directional derivatives, Line, Surface and Volume integrals, Stokes, Gauss and Green’s
theorems.

Differential equations: First order equation (linear and nonlinear), Higher order linear
differential equations with constant coefficients, Method of variation of parameters,
Cauchy’s and Euler’s equations, Initial and boundary value problems,
Partial Differential Equations and variable separable method.

Complex variables: Analytic functions, Cauchy’s integral theorem and integral formula,
Taylor’s and Laurent’ series, Residue theorem, solution integrals.

Probability and Statistics: Sampling theorems, Conditional probability, Mean, median,
mode and standard deviation, Random variables, Discrete and continuous distributions,
Poisson, Normal and Binomial distribution, Correlation and regression analysis.

Numerical Methods: Solutions of non-linear algebraic equations, single and multi-step
methods for differential equations.